Strange it is, try not, there is only do…

Sometimes I watch YouTube. Mostly for music. Occasionally for things like informational videos. A little bit for things like Feynman lectures and bits of otherwise unavailable history.

But things link to things… and the mood drifts.

So I started on Lady Gaga. Just because I really like some of her songs.

And that lead to some “steam punk” / semi-disco.

That lead to some latin something or other that lead to other interesting music that lead to “Willy Bum Bum Bum” (don’t ask, and don’t watch it… well, not unless you’ve had a few beers or live in the outback ;-)

Which lead to this odd bit. Clicked on it because I love “speed absorption”. I can watch a set of still pictures go by about 2 per second and go to a ‘stare state’ and see them all. It’s how I learned genetics. Rapid flash images. I can still call them back up at will. Did something similar for my first stats class. It’s just a great ‘fast load’ system to flip pages in the book and ‘suck it in’. So this said “50 Internet Memes in under 100 seconds”. Slow for me, for stills; but this is video. 2 second video cuts? Hmmmm….

I was surprised at how many of them I “Flashed” on; how many I knew. A dozen or so left me wondering what they were (but now they are fixed in my brain, forever, waiting the day that the original shows and triggers the connection).

It’s a bizarre experience. I like it, in a strange way, but can’t quite say why…

This is a variation on a similar theme. It has many of the same ‘cuts’ but with labels on them (handy for the ones I don’t know). I find it a bit too slow for the optimal effect, though. Still, it’s nice to have more context on some of the ones I’ve not seen before. (For me, about 1 second and I’m ready for the next one… So this one gives me a bit of chuckle from time to time, but not the same intensity of ‘rush’)

Ok, so now I’ve learned is a G.D. Genre! and the “Meme Wars” have broken out on YouTube… “Those WERE the droids you were looking for!” (You may want to click on the little gear wheel in the lower right to increase the resolution or blow this up to full size with the square bracket things to make reading the captions easier).

There’s even a “Know your memes” site (so I have to wonder if that is a ‘know your meme meme’…) to help you find out what was hot while you were not looking…. but they had embedding disabled, so no linky…

Still, it is somehow comforting to discover that a new art form and cultural method has evolved when I was busy doing “other things”. Now if I can just find a way to not watch 2000 hours of it as I ‘catch up’ ;-)

But now it’s tomorrow morning, though earlier than most for me… so “Decisions decisions”…

Sleep for 3 or 4 hours and wake up late, or just say “Heck with it” and keep on watching…

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strange it is, try not, there is only do…

  1. p.g.sharrow says:

    So EM, does this mean you are abi-normal or are you subi-normal ;-) pg

  2. janets says:

    If you want more memes, how about trying the Cheezburger sites? I’ve wasted many a happy hour there.
    http://www.cheezburger.com/

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    @P.G. Sharrow:

    I’d vote for Abi Normal (ala Young Frankenstein ;-)

    I found the “demotivational poster” video “meme” sets particularly addictive… that, and the cats… And maybe Boxxy in a curious kind of way… and the Star Wars guys in ‘regular’ circumstances… and “Anime not so much”… never got into anime…

    At any rate, it’s afternoon and I’ve now woke up, so guess I went for “go to sleep late and get up late” ;-)

    Time for coffee and breakfast / lunch / afternoon tea (what do you can “breakfast at 2 pm” ?)

Comments are closed.