Me gusta el canal MundoFox

No traté de encontrarlo, me tropecé en ella.
Pero el espectáculo La Mariposa fue mostrando, y, bueno, me gusta.

La música. Los actores. La parcela. Todo es convincente.

Y, recuerda, yo soy hispanico, después de todo …

Es sorprendente lo poco que las cuestiones lingüísticas. La culturales “piedras de toque” son mucho lo mismo …

Tal vez es el núcleo celta de dos culturas. Tal vez es la influencia de la cadena Fox. A lo mejor es por que yo soy californiano. Yo no sé, pero esto “funciona” para mí …

Además, como en la mayoría de las cosas con una base celta, los actores están de moda …

In English

I didn’t try to find it, I just stumbled into it.
But the show “La Mariposa” (the butterfly, I think) on FoxWorld (Spanish) was on and, well, I like it.
The music, the actors, the storyline, everything was convincing.

And, remember, I am Hispanic (with tongue only a bit in cheek…) after all.

It is amazing how little language matters. The cultural ‘touch stones’ are much the same…

Perhaps it is the Celtic core of the two cultures. Perhaps it is the influence of Fox network. Maybe it is because I am a Californian. I don’t know, but it “works” for me…

Besides, as in all things with a Celtic base, the actors are “hot” ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Me gusta el canal MundoFox

  1. Jeff Alberts says:

    “Me gusta el canal MundoFox”

    Gezundheit!

  2. crosspatch says:

    My daughter has been taking Spanish at school so when I have her in the car I sometimes have the local Spanish language FM station on the radio. I’ve been hearing ads for this show for a while.

  3. philjourdan says:

    Arrrgggg! My daughter watches that show all the time. Even her kids know it as “Mom’s Soap opera”.

    But you are partially right, while an understanding of Spanish is helpful, it is a Soap Opera.

  4. Jeff Alberts says:

    Those are the kinds of shows where I love to insert my own dialog.

    “My dear, you have the breath of an ox!”

    *SLAP*

    “How dare you insult my ox!”

  5. philjourdan says:

    @Jeff – just turn off the sound on any show – your dialog will always beat what is on the speakers!

  6. Tom Bakewell says:

    I loved the telenovelas when I lived in Maracaibo. Watching them really helped with my Spanish because mostly we speak in phrases instead of complete sentences. And where else could one learn how to say “Por Favor” with just the right inflection to make it exactly the perfect commet for the moment? The Spanish humor series “Los Ladrones Van al Oficina” was pretty droll as well. Even when I wasn’t snickering at the listhpingths.

  7. Steve C says:

    I’ll see your Spanish and raise you antique Italian … Amo situm nuntii latini (aut hic)! Sorry, couldn’t resist. ;-)

  8. John F. Hultquist says:

    “La Mariposa” (the butterfly, I think)

    True, but do an image search for Mariposa Lily

  9. E.M.Smith says:

    @John F. Hultquist:

    http://www.almaden.ibm.com/almaden/environs/wildflowers/marip.html

    nice…

    @Steve C.:

    Watching “The Passion of The Christ” I noticed they got their Latin speakers from Italy… had a distinct Italian accent to it. (Or maybe that’s just how it is supposed to sound and I’ve only heard Priests and Professors…) Nice to have somewhere to listen to it on the “radio” ;-)

    @Tom, Phil, and Jeff:

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who sometimes watches other language programs… or puts in replacement dialog ;-) And yes, it can sharpen the language skills. Especially dialects and idioms not given in class… “slang” and street talk. Also the endless run on sentences and fragments and, like, how really folks talk things… ;-)

  10. Steve C says:

    EM – ‘Scuse my chuckling, but that film rather confirmed what friends and myself decided years ago – that the most “realistic” way to speak Latin was to put on a cod Italian accent and wave your arms around. Try it on any Latin quote you like, even “veni, vidi, vici”, and you’ll get the effect.

    There was, years ago, a (radio) programme on the Beeb called “The High Priest of Latin”, a profile of one Father Reginald Foster, an American priest who (back then) had the job of translating the Pope’s messages into good Latin. One of the most fascinating things was hearing him and his staff cheerfully talking Latin among themselves – i.e. as a living language rather than a dead one. He also mentions his forming Latin phrases for modern concepts – such as “occlusorum fulminem” (“lightning fastener”) for “zip fastener”. It’s only on a cassette, but, if you fancy a listen to a most interesting feller, email me and I’ll return you an MP3 (strictly for private study of course … ;-).

  11. E.M.Smith says:

    @Sabertoothed:

    Thanks! New posting up.

    @Steve C:

    Sounds like fun, but I’m already so oversubscribed that the idea of adding another thing to the “do” list is, well, it tickling my “run away” response! ;-)

    (wonder what a Monty Python skit would be like in Latin… )

  12. Jeff Alberts says:

    Reminds me of watching the subtitled version of Seven Samurai, I think it is. There is one scene where two thugs are talking, and the subtitle of of statement was “Sheeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiit!” I lost it.

  13. Steve C says:

    EM – Fair enough … “To-do-list longa, vita brevis”! I have that problem without running a blog … ;-)

    Agree re Monty Python, tho’ … “Psittacus mortuus est!”

Comments are closed.