Pizzadillas

Just a quick food note:

The other day we had some Quesadilla fixings, but not all of them. We had some salami and pepperoni and marinara sauce left over too… Hmmmm….

The end result was putting those two together. A tortilla on a comal (actually, I gave my comal to a college kid. So I used my paella pan as a comal instead. A 10 inch cast iron skillet would work just as well. Any kind of frying surface, really), then some cheese. I added a bit of marinara sauce, sprinkled in some chopped dry salami and peperoni bits. Presto!: The Pizzadilla was born!

Made like a quesadilla, taste more like a slice of pizza. Fast and easy. This will generalize to pizzadillas made with olives, mushrooms, whatever goes on your pizza.

I had no idea if this had been invented before, or folks had been doing it for years. Just knew I stumbled into it and liked it. A “quackle” of the term (as a friend who now uses DuckDuckGo has termed web searches using it ;-) shows I’m a bit late to the party:

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=pizzadilla

KidsHealth Recipes: Pizzadillas with Red Sauce
Using a thin spatula, gently flip over the pizzadilla and cook for 30-60 seconds more or until cheese is fully melted. Remove pizzadilla and cut into triangles. Repeat with remaining pizzadilla. Serve with marinara sauce for dipping.
secure02.kidshealth.org/kid/recipes/recipes/pizzadillas.html   More from secure02.kidshealth.org

"Pizza-dilla" Recipe - Kraft Recipes
Kids will love this twist on pizza. ... My husband and I loved this and it was so easy. I love that there is no cooking involved except for the microwave so it is perfect for hot days.
kraftrecipes.com/recipes/pizza-dilla-95025.aspx   More from kraftrecipes.com

Pizzadilla | Plain Chicken
We've done wraps, panini and flatbreads for sandwich night. It was time to change it up a bit and break out the quesadillas. Naturally, I started with a Pizzadilla.
plainchicken.com/2011/06/pizzadilla.html   More from plainchicken.com
...

I never feel bad about re-inventing (down to coining the word!) something that was already done before. Just shows that the creativity landed on a result that other folks would like, and in fact DO like, and maybe even found before me. Better than never creating anything at all. Shows that your process works well, even if your “literature search” came out of order ;-)

For anyone not familiar with a quesadilla, I showed how to make one in this posting:

https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/car-yogurt-and-cheap-eats/

One thing this experiment made clear, though, was that I certainly never need to buy “pizza rolls” ever again! That, and I can make a quick gluten free pizza like snack any time with non-wheat tortillas.

With that, I do recommend you get some tortillas and try your hand at both the original quesadilla and the pizzadilla. Heck, maybe even try some other generalizations. How about the “cheesburger-dilla”? Or the Ham & Cheese Omelet-dilla?

I did try one pepperoni and salami pizzadilla with added Mexican hot sauce… and it was seriously interesting, but wanted a bit of sauteed onions and olives added ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Pizzadillas

  1. R. de Haan says:

    Thanks for the article and the links, I will give it a try.

  2. Steve C says:

    Does liking ’em a little too much count as a “pizzadillo”?

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    @Steve C:

    Um…. sure! ;-)

  4. philjourdan says:

    No offense to your ingenuity, but a Pizzadilla seems like a natural that people should have thought up years ago! Grab the trademark! I am hungry already!

  5. Tim Clark says:

    I’ve made many similar concoctions. My wife usually complains about my overuse of leftovers. She wasn’t raised poor. She especially dislikes my once every Saturday leftover goulash/stew/tossed salads. But vegetables are expensive. Every time I go to the store and buy vegetables (we aren’t vegan, but almost) I am reminded of the official gov. inflation index. $5 for one 2# spaghetti squash yesterday. No wonder people eat white bread and sugar.

  6. p.g.sharrow says:

    @Tim Clark; Do you have any good recipes for spaghetti squash? I have a large wheel barrow full of the dang things! The only good way to fix them that we have found so far is to mix in butter and cheese. pg

  7. Tim Clark says:

    p.g.
    My wife is on a low-carb anticancer diet, so we eat the squash with spaghetti sauce and no noodles. So that is all we have done with it.

  8. E.M.Smith says:

    @PG Sharrow:

    Any Italian recipe for fettuccine….

  9. p.g.sharrow says:

    I will have to ask my wife about using a fettuccine sauce. Spaghetti sauce just doesn’t work well. Oh well we have plenty to experiment on. And gallons of tomato sauce, that I canned, to work with. Need to build something special as spaghetti squash is a vegetable, not pasta, so direct substitution doesn’t work in my mouth! ;-) pg

  10. Jason Calley says:

    Spaghetti squash is one of our favorites at my house. We usually just split it in two, place split side down in a bit of water and microwave till tender. Regular spaghetti sauce on it is good, butter and herbs on it is good, pesto sauce is good. One very good variation is to mix in pre-cooked spaghetti squash into Indian pakoras — or southern style hushpuppies. If you pre-cook spaghetti squash you could probably use it in any kind of casserole. Maybe even in a loaf of bread.

  11. PeterB in Indianapolis says:

    I started making Pizzadillas back in the late 1990s on occasion… usually when I didn’t feel like making pizza dough, or when I just wanted something like pizza that wasn’t quite pizza, or when I didn’t feel like putting forth too much effort for cooking!

    My favorite way to make them (generally) is simply start heating 1 tortilla (I prefer the flour ones to the corn ones, but to each his own), top the tortilla with cheese (pick whatever cheese(s) you like), then add the pizza toppings of your choice, then add a 2nd tortilla to the top. Let cook a few minutes, then flip it over and cook the other side.

    I like to add the “sauce” to the top once the whole thing has already been cooked. Use traditional “pizza sauce” if you like, or if you want to be more adventurous, use taco sauce or salsa of your choice.

    You can make very interesting hybrids ranging between “traditional pizza” and “Mexican pizza” depending on what you put in/on the pizzadilla.

    I haven’t made these for a few months, but the discussion has made me hungry, so perhaps later this evening….

  12. PeterB in Indianapolis says:

    Oh, by the way, NEVER buy “pizza rolls”. Make your own pizza rolls! Buy some large eggroll wrappers, top an eggroll wrap with some mozzarella cheese, some pepperoni, some cooked sausage, (or whatever the heck you like on pizza), wrap it up just like an eggroll, and throw into a deep fryer at 425 degrees (F degrees of course, 425C would be a bit much), and let them cook on each side until a nice golden brown. Heat up some pizza sauce of your choice and dip your home-made pizza rolls.

    If you did it right, they taste about 500,000 times better than frozen “pizza rolls” from your grocery store. A bit of a PITA to make and clean up after, but the whole family will be exceptionally full and satisfied after consuming them, and will thank you for the effort. I personally prefer them to actual pizza, but I don’t make them too often because deep frying things isn’t the healthiest way to cook. I still make them 3 or 4 times per year, my wife and kids love them almost as much as I do (I could eat them several times a week if I didn’t think it would kill me).

  13. PeterB in Indianapolis says:

    A correction to the above, I am pretty sure I deep fry my home-made pizza rolls at 375, not 425 as stated above. I am reasonably certain that 425 would be too hot and would “sublimate” the cheese rather than melting it into a nice gooey pizza-like mess inside of the pizza roll.

  14. philjourdan says:

    @Jason Calley – the pesto sounds the best.

  15. Jason Calley says:

    @ philjourdan Yes, the pesto is quite good. What a darned shame that p.g.sharrow doesn’t live closer; I’d certainly help him empty that wheelbarrow full of spaghetti squash! I wonder could I add some mashed potatoes and egg as binder and fry them up like potato pancakes? I must ask my better half, She-Who-Knows-All-Things-Culinary.

  16. philjourdan says:

    I agree about the living closer. We could really do him a favor. ;-)

  17. p.g.sharrow says:

    The Butternut squash is a much tastier treat and I have 3 wheel barrows of them. Though the neighbors will “help” me with them.
    Emm…. Mashed potatoes ‘blue ones” and egg. That sounds like an interesting addition. ;-) pg

  18. E.M.Smith says:

    At a local bar ( “Kitty O’Shea’s Irish Pub”) they had about every other item on the menu with a Mexican theme ( see: https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/im-hispanic-who-knew/ for the interesting connection of Ireland and Hispania…).

    One was an “Irish Quesadilla”. Used corned beef and cabbage w/ cheese and a tortilla (plus hot sauce and a bit more…)

    As a random pondering: I wonder if you could make a tortilla like thing by taking spaghetti squash threads, coating with a bit of egg wash, and pressing flat while frying…

    I’d also try them in Asian noodle soups, like Pho, usually made with rice threads or yam threads. I’d expect them to work a treat as Yet Another Neutral Vegetable Thread…

    Think of a Thai soup with sea food, vegetables, and “threads”: Think you could taste any squashness under Thai Hot spice?

  19. E.M.Smith says:

    Mixing the squash threads with waffle batter and cooking them in a waffle iron might also be interesting… I’d try a 50:50 mix at first, then go to either 75:25 or 25:75 depending on what I thought needed emphasis…

    I’d also try adding them to stir fried rice for one ethnicity and sauteed vegetables for another. I make a vegetarian saute that starts with onions in olive oil then gets added carrots, celery, garlic, and typically Italian Squash. Then it either goes Italian with Italian seasoning and olives,tomatoes, mushrooms and such; or goes Asian with Chinese 5 spice, soy sauce, some Napa Cabbage or Choy, etc. I’d figure some squash threads would work in either one.

    I wonder if you could deep fry them like Chinese fried noodles… maybe then sprinkle with pepper spices or…

    Perhaps also make a “Churro” out of them. A deep fried mass covered with cinnamon and sugar stuff…

  20. Jason Calley says:

    E.M. — I just like the way you think! Those are some really good ideas for the spaghetti squash, especially the Thai soup. Tom Yum would be my choice!

  21. E.M.Smith says:

    @Jason Calley:

    I have limited control over it. Once the question is asked, all the neurons related just fire and all the “connections” just light up. It’s like an explosion of sparks. Unstoppable once ignited. Happens with most sentences to some degree or another, though novel questions fire off the most interesting novel sparks…

    So spaghetti threads connects to pasta and that connects to Italian and Asian cooking that connects to pho and vegetable saute and … Also a connection to “vegetable stuff” so things like making a “squash bread” fire off.. but it wasn’t that interesting on a sensory simulation… rather like the connection to noodles bringing up “Chicken ‘spaghetti squash almost but not quite’ noodle soup” was not interesting enough…

    I may put into print 1/5 of what “fires off” in the brain.

    I think it is a particular kind of hyper-sensitivity over-firing tendency. But I could be wrong.

    It takes some effort to suppress it most of the time so that I’m in the “Here and Now” enough for other folks to be accepting… But every so often someone asks a “blue skying” question and I can let the suppression down and just run the rapids ;-)

  22. p.g.sharrow says:

    I tried the spaghetti squash, waffle batter and egg fritters. Not bad, even the Pekinese like them. Cooked with coconut oil, lard or bacon grease would be better. ;-) pg

  23. E.M.Smith says:

    @P.G.: Nice to know!

Comments are closed.