Short note on life events

Life has a way of giving you surprises.

Just when I’d thought I’d gotten things working well enough to pick up the pace of posting (back toward a more normal level) “stuff happens”…

I had 3 cars here in Florida. Now I have one car without working air conditioning, one “project”, and one “in the shop” with a blown top end. That has put certain “challenges” in place, things like getting to work, driving the spouse places, lots of visits to the car repair place…

That “we have 2 senior folks and we are adding two” job, that had turned into “3 folks, one of them senior” that had turned into “2 folks, both of us new to the company” had my workmate coping with a parent and medical emergencies. So it became “one guy and a 1/2 time maybe” for a few weeks. Since I’m on contract, I got a bit more money from the hours; but less sleep…

At the same time, the seasonal work slowdown turned into a “special projects” needed right now for annual audit and similar events.

Through that (and the stuff below), I had about a month+ of what seemed a whole lot like the “walking pneumonia” I had a couple of years back – minus the antibiotic treatments. (Thanks to Obamacare, I have a $2000+ deductable. As that is more than I pay in medical care pretty much ever, health insurance is functionally useless to me. So it’s back to DIY and ‘tough it out’ for a month or two before heading to the doctor…) Eventually the chest tightness eased, the coughing backed off, and the lungs cleared. I think it’s all gone now. But yes, I worked through it. Why? Because I could. But something had to drop… Work pays the bills, so it was “work and sleep and not much else” for a while.

Now, the fun bits…

The spouse had come out to join me. Turns out she expects some attention ;-) Also, she has been working on becoming a Catholic. OK with me. (Dad was a Catholic…) But seems that means I have to be at church some of the time too. Today, for example, was spent from first “out the door” time about 9 A.M. until about 4 P.M. at Church. First was her presentation (or ‘acceptance’ or some such… where you get a Bible and are officially pronounced far enough along that communion comes in a few weeks and maybe folks ought to start getting to know you… or something…) Then there was “class after the sermon”. Followed by the sacred hour, or hour of confessions and singing the same line of verse 50 times… yes, we did that. Then the Polish / Italian Pot Luck to honor the two Popes being canonized. All in all, it’s a lot of work being married to someone who’s becoming a Catholic.

Oh, and I’ve been introduced to Arena Football by my Florida Friend. So that’s about 1/2 a day every few weeks. He likes it a lot. I like it some (and we get to have beer and snacks while shouting a lot for no reason).

There were a few other bits, too. Nothing major. I started fishing some, just to get some “clear the head” time. But there isn’t a lot of WiFi at the lakes. I stopped going to Starbucks on Sunday (as I was sitting in church more giving “support”…) and the spouse sucked my portable WiFi account dry a few times, so it didn’t often have connectivity. And I didn’t have time to keep juggling ways to get connected.

In the end, I just hit a time and energy wall.

After 8 to 12 hours of working at a computer on a keyboard, it was just not tolerable to try putting in another 2 to 4 to make a posting. After a day of “stresses”, the last thing I wanted was to get “jinned up” over climate, or put in a day analyzing climate codes and data. Cooking dinner for two ( I’m the chef in the family…) and “sharing” in front of the TV was a lot more comforting. Forget, too, spending 4 or 5 hours keeping up with climate news, WUWT, etc. et. al. After a while, the lack of “input” means a lack of things to say, too.

Yeah, I had a dozen posting ideas. But an idea only becomes a posting with about 4 hours of work. Then a few days later it fades. Then after a week the idea is gone. Priming that pump and cranking the handle takes time and toil. It was easier to let it lay.

And now?

OK, I’m trying Yet Another Restart.

The workmate is back (hopefully full time). I’ve caught up a couple of the major “surprise” projects. I have a line on a (4th!) car that will be explored in the next day or two. The mechanic is set to fix the 2nd car (over a couple of months). And I can commute to work and return home without AC for a while. I’ve also set up Yet Another WiFi access method at home, so hopefully connectivity will be more consistent. Oh, and the spouse is now presented / accepted / on her way to being “regular”, so I can start skipping church until she gets her first communion in a few weeks ;-)

Tonight I was actually able to read all the listed postings on WUWT. (Not the ones “off page” into the past, just the current crop). Even made a couple of comments. So I’m a bit closer to ‘up to speed’ with current events. Maybe even a bit on the “primed the pump” side. We’ll see.

Tomorrow or Tuesday I’ll likely be sucked up into ‘yet more car stuff’, but hopefully the rest of the week will be less “out of control demands on my time” and more “I can direct my interests”. Doing more of what I want to do, and less of what other people need me to do, or what I have to do to cope with being “over driven”.

Things to do?

Follow up on the DIY chemical stone samples. Maybe even try the second batch using CaCO / CaCO3 / MgO / MgCO3 adjuncts.

A comment or two on economics and the value of having rich folks – is it still what it was?

Maybe get that Raspberry Pi set up to do some climate data analysis… I’d like to compute the expected temperature profile over a day (and over a year) as the sun rises / sets ( shifts north / south ) if you just used “solar energy in” calculations (i.e. insolation energy sin wave) and compare that to actual historical temperature cycles. How much does simplistic energy in diverge from temperature profiles? The difference shows feedbacks / dampenings. Which dominate? That’s a bit big, but will likely happen over a longer time.

Actually read my email. It must be in the thousands by now… And get out that contact info and call the two folks who I’d promised to contact… Heck, I might even get to read the comments on my own blog and find out what all folks have been saying ;-)

There’s a few more, but I think you get the idea.

For now, it’s after midnight, and I’d like to get this posted. Just so folks know I’m still doing things.

Oh, and my two kids have both informed me that they are engaged… So at some point we’ve got a couple of weddings to get through with people on two coasts and in Chicago. But that’s a few months away for now ;-) Yeah, it’s been that kind of hectic… the kind where a wedding or two is not the big time sink…

In short: Sometimes “life happens” and all you can do is drop some things on the floor while you cope. Then pick them back up later and dust them off and start over.

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Short note on life events

  1. Good to see you back. After my own near-death Wednesday, I appreciate health concerns — and the effect of lack of functional insurance.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  2. Amen to Keith’s comment.

    The “Big Picture” is moving in the right direction. The German strategy of dropping nuclear power in favor of wind and solar is on its last legs. In spite of the overall strength of the German economy they were only able to sustain the foolishness a few more years than Spain did.
    http://wattsupwiththat.com/2014/04/27/germanys-co2-and-energy-policy-about-to-falter/

    The idea that CO2 is a “Magic Gas” that drives CAGW is looking more absurd as every day goes by. Apparently the “the chief mass of the air” is more important than Arrhenius believed:
    http://diggingintheclay.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/robinson-and-catling-model-closely-matches-data-for-titans-atmosphere/

    Amateur bloggers are improving estimates of the GHE (Greenhouse Effect). It is much larger than the 288 – 255 = 33 Kelvin assumed by “Climate Scientists”.
    https://tallbloke.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/a-new-lunar-thermal-model-based-on-finite-element-analysis-of-regolith-physical-properties/

  3. philjourdan says:

    “There’s some good Catholics, and there’s come bad Catholics.” – That was the comment my soon to be grandfather in law told me when I married my first wife. Your comment about your dad reminded me of it! ;-)

    Call me a sucker, but reliable transportation is just worth the price. My alternator died on my Toyota Tacoma a few weeks back. It actually got me home, so I cannot complain. But I got it replaced with a top of the line one. Pricey, yes (it was the first alternator that died on my Tacomas in 27 years of driving them). But that is one less worry.

    Anthony has been busy lately on the postings. I especially liked his Lewandowsky article, although I did not comment on it. Another one that is getting very interesting is Judith Curry’s site. She is attracting a lot of flack for the simple reason she has a brain! But other than the alarmist trying to make monkeys out of themselves, there has not been a lot of climate news.

    On the domestic front, that is a different story.

    Well, I will keep this short as I know your time is precious. Congratulations to Mrs. Chiefio on the Catechuminate program, and to both of you for the impending nuptials of the Children (adults, but they will always be your children).

    Good to see you back.

  4. Ralph B says:

    EM, Glad to hear all is “well”. I have been thinking of you as a mother rabbit decided to have some kits below my front window. Discovered them after the dog did…fortunately right after so no harm except now dog in yard on leash rather than free.
    Take care…

  5. James says:

    I’ve got you on my Feedly so I don’t miss anything you post – but I had noticed your absence. Glad to hear it wasn’t all bad, but you have certainly had some challenges.

    I don’t suppose the local church would spring to wifi so you could sit up the back with lap top and head phones :)

    Good on you for helping to look after your old folks!

    Nice to see you back on air and I look forward to your future scribblings which i always enjoy, whenever that may be.

  6. omanuel says:

    Welcome back, E.M. Smith!

    We must live parallel lives. I finally started antibiotics after suffering acute sinus infection for several weeks that I was afraid might develop into pneumonia.

    (Still wonder if it might be caused by the crap in chemtrails!)

    My wife is now an elder in a church! Lots of meetings, dinners, etc.

    But looking back at life, I am today in great awe of what I have witnessed:

    1. The courage of a 28-year-old nuclear geochemist in saving the world from totalitarian rule by:

    _ a.) Taking possession of Japan’s atomic bomb plans in 1945:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/2170881.stm

    _ b.) Designing a research topic in 1960 that would reveal information world leaders tried to hide from the public in 1945:

    “A Journey to the Core of the Sun – Chapter 2: Acceptance of Reality

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10640850/Chapter_2.pdf

    2. The Divine sense of humor in revealing the Sun’s pulsar core to modern world leaders who thought they could control Earth’s climate !

    All in all, life is a great adventure.

  7. p.g.sharrow says:

    @EMSmith; I kind of figured life had you too entertained for blogging. ;-)
    We survived but it was boring. 4 hours to create a magnificent ChiefIO post! and I thought you just whipped them out! typing at lightning speed. lol I guess my 4 hours to build a small post is not so bad and I have pictures!
    Like all such organizations the church people will want to waste, er occupy, all of your time and efforts if you let them. They are best at sucking in women, who then drag in their men. Wives must be humored but to waste your time is a REAL SIN. Besides, as a preacher you must minister to own your flock!
    Fighting for breath really takes the fun out of life, just makes everything else even more difficult to deal with. Glad to hear that is improved. But the CAR business! As someone that must commute you really need to bite the bullet and get dependable wheels. Your time is worth money and a car that is in the shop is a money pit, specially a Mercedes. Generally, once a Mercedes starts to fail it is done. A low mileage Japanese car is generally very dependable and cheap to drive and repair or throw away when it is done.
    I pray that GOD smiles on you as you travel the path that you have been set on. pg

  8. Steve C says:

    Welcome back, we were getting worried!. Never fails to surprise me the way life seems to throw everything at you at once from time to time. If you’re very good, there’ll be a pause, eventually.

    And good to hear that the Catholic Church (complete with two new saints) welcomes Masters of Druidry into its fold as “support”. ;-)

  9. Larry Geiger says:

    “Through that (and the stuff below), I had about a month+ of what seemed a whole lot like the “walking pneumonia” I had a couple of years back – minus the antibiotic treatments.” This seems to be one of the worst years in a while for stuff in the air and pollen and such here in central Florida. People that I know are not usually allergic have been taking Clariten. I don’t know if it was oak, pine or something else, but it was knocking people down pretty regularly. We usually have a dry spring but it’s been fairly wet this spring (relative to some years). I don’t know what that means. We had an immensity of acorns a year ago and almost none this past fall. The squirrels were out decimating the pine cones because they were running out of food to eat. That’s a bunch of stuff that seems connected in my mind but that may have absolutely no real meaning out in the real world. Hope you feel better.

  10. Jason Calley says:

    Good to hear that you are catching up with life! I sympathize with the “working-it-through-a-severe-illness.” Hope you stay well with no relapses. I need to run a few more geopolymer experiments myself, but have been concentrating on the garden instead.

    My best to you and your family! Post when you can — but family (and yes, even work) come first, right?

  11. omanuel says:

    Amen, p.g.sharrow!

    I bought a stick-shift 2004 Toyota Camry for slightly less that $18,000 new that initially got 30 mpg on the highway! I still gets ~28 mpg after >225,000 miles if I slow down and drive the speed limit.

    Toyota, Mazda, Nissan etc have been great cars for us.

  12. pyromancer76 says:

    Life happens! And it always is more than one every imagines. I am glad the family is both together and enlarging. I am glad you struggled through and are “well enough”. I think your company/contracts are more fortunate than they every imagined. I/we hold you in mind and always will. You generosity in blogging has added more to my knowledge and life than I had every “imagined” possible from the internet. Whenever you have time for more….Whenever….Thanks. And thanks again.

  13. Eric Barnes says:

    Great to see you back!

  14. E.M.Smith says:

    @Keith:

    What happened Wednesday? ( I haven’t caught up on things, even here…)

    But good you are “above ground and vertical”!

    @GallopingCamel:

    The “good thing” is that most of the time somebody in Europe is first off the cliff and everyone else can avoid it. The bad thing is folks seem to always need one lemming to make the leap first… and can’t see the cycle ahead of time.

    @PhilJourdan:

    I’ve generally had a good ROI with old Mercedes. In this case, one was a deer in the road at midnight so the heavy Mercedes was a MUCH better choice. It limped home instead of being crumpled with me in it. The second one was, to some extent, my bad. Bought an older gas engine car for $1600, then didn’t have the mechanic check / replace the timing chain rails / guides. If you have the maintenance history and know it was done inside 140, 000 miles or so, that’s ok. Getting a 250k ish car and NOT checking it is dumb. (In my defense, I did take it to a mechanic and say “do what you think it needs”… ) As I got about 8 or 9 months out of it, that’s not a bad “car payment”. Under $200 / month. ( about $170). Usually I’ve gotten decades…

    Complicating the whole thing, it’s not MY car that doesn’t go… The spouse does not drive a stick, and my wagon is a stick. Also her spine wants one of a very few seats. Mercedes, Subaru, and one or two others. Turns out the Mercedes is cheaper than the Subaru for older used ones. Of the old Mercedes I’ve bought, 2 have over 20 years and a couple of hundred thousand miles AFTER I bought them. The “Banana Boat” wagon is at about 260,000 and I think it had about 180K? on it when bought about a decade? back for $2400. I usually expect at least 100,000 miles and 10 years out of a $2k Mercedes. Just my error to not have checked “the usual problem” with timing chains.

    We also had a couple of Hondas over the years. 340,000 miles on one. A couple of decades and about 150,000 miles on the other.

    I’m getting very fond of Judith Curry. I know how she feels. Simply speak the truth and you get attacked. Yet all you can do is speak the truth…

    @Ralph B:

    Nice thing is rabbits grow quick! Keep some water near, and maybe put out some rabbit food and they ought to be gone is a few of weeks.

    We have a wild rabbit living near our place too. At first it bolted to as far as it could go. It started to notice that we didn’t chase it. Then I “spoke up” in bunnish and it froze mid run, stopped and looked at me, then started nibbling the grass. A couple of more times and it doesn’t even start to run now. Seems my “speech” is clear enough and the Florida dialect is close enough to California to be clear ;-)

    @James:

    I actually like to observe the services and the folks. You learn a lot that way… Also get to practice my singing in a place that tolerates a bit of fumble ;-)

    @OManuel:

    Saw on another thread someone asserting that Japan didn’t have a nuke program and asking for proof. The Japanese guy who ran it is on film with some documentation he preserved stating that it existed and what happened. I think it was on the History Channel, but it ought not to be hard to find. There isn’t any doubt at all that they were on track to a bomb. One assertion is that they had a test detonation, but the location is in what is now North Korea, so no way to sample the soil… But that is asserted to explain why they were a bit “slow” to surrender after the first nuke. They knew about them, and that it was unlikely we had a load of Special Nuclear Material for many more.

    @P.G.:

    It depends a lot on the posting. Some are “whipped out” if all the pre-work was thought out in the past and not a lot needs to be found for pasting in. Others are a couple of hours of reading / finding, then an hour or two of typing. Some are even longer (like the ones with computer programs written, data processed, etc. etc. where it may take a week of work to get the goods to make one posting).

    My experience with Old Mercedes is that they take about $2k of maintenance / year and otherwise can run for decades (or longer). The 1990’s and newer ones are not that robust, though. (After they were redesigned for more money and gadgets and less as German Army Staff Cars ;-) I generally try to avoid things newer than about 1990 (other than the SEL that was made from the late ’70s on to as late as ’94).

    I did notice that about 80% of the folks walking back for “confession” were women… don’t know what that means, though ;-)

    Oddly, the most dependable car of the batch here has been my ’79 Mercedes wagon. It’s my daily driver. Stick shift. Manual window cranks. Carb. Points. No electronics. What failed was two bolts at the bottom of the York A/C compressor. (The compressor still works, but throws belts as it is loose). It’s a bit of an “issue” to get it remounted as the holes get damaged and / or the bolts are hard to get. As I said, I’m OK without A/C. It’s the spouse that “has issues”… Other than the need to adjust the points often, there isn’t really much on this thing to fail. It’s the newer ones that are the problem. Lots of “do-dads”, not as “built for bullets”, and a big ticket if it breaks.

    So basically I DO have a dependable commuter car. What I don’t have is a “plush mobile” for the spouse… and a back up car for mine to go into the shop to get the A/C fixed (as it takes a day or two to get it apart, and then machine the new holes if needed.)

    Oh, and it has been an interesting education in “Guilt Tripping” to attend Mass. So much guilt, so little time ;-) Fun to observe, but not aligned with my world view. I don’t really have “guilt” about my “sins”. I just see it as an engineering problem. What can I do to make the machine that is “me” work better next time…

    Back in a bit…

  15. My wife — my Lady and love and lifemate — died suddenly early this month of a heart attack. No warning. Since then, I had not been able to eat.

    Later, looking at my blood chemistry, I was expected to die between 3am and 5am Thursday. But Wednesday afternoon, an alert doc at the blood lab saw the incipient crash, and had me drive myself to the ER just in time. By then, I was bleeding from every possible place, including some surprises. Some fast IVs of blood parts and vitamin K headed off disaster. I’m doing much better now. I still miss her, but I am resolved to have a future.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  16. E.M.Smith says:

    @Steve C:

    Weelllll…. I didn’t exactly say anything about being a Druid ;-) Mostly just that I was there to support the spouse (and maybe I did say something about Dad being a Good Irish Catholic ;-)

    I think things come ‘in waves’ the same way “rogue waves” happen. A statistical artifact of things colliding…

    @Larry Geiger:

    For a while I did wonder if it was just an intense allergy, but I didn’t have much nose / throat involvement, so doubt that was it. Just clog in one spot in the lungs.

    Per the “wet when it usually is dry”: Remember the posting about how when a cold cycle hits, Florida is prone to more ‘summer pattern’ as the heat backs up? So as the rest / North gets cold, Florida gets warm and wet.

    @Jason Calley:

    I’m going to be making it ‘health first’ for a while more. But it ought to be OK. Usually just warmth and rest is enough for me to get over most bugs. Frankly, though, I never thought this particularly severe. Just a bit of an energy drain and annoyance.

    @Pyromancer76:

    Well, I get something out of it too! I like the way it makes a record of things I’ve stumbled over. Every so often I’ve done a ‘web search’ on something, then found one of my own old postings that covered it nicely ;-)

    I’m glad someone else finds it useful too.

    The “company” has me doing some rather uninspiring stuff. They appreciate having it done, but it isn’t going to get a large notice. Just Project Management of some Disaster Recovery stuff. Any creative outlet for me is here.

    @Eric Barnes:

    Glad to be back. Hopefully things will be more stable from here on out…

  17. E.M.Smith says:

    @Keith:

    Ouch! Vitamin K is rarely thought of, as we get plenty in ordinary foods we eat. But if you stop eating, your blood clotting can get all screwed up.

    All my best. The best thing you can do for the departed is to celebrate their life. To carry on.

    FWIW, my philosophy is that time is just a dimension we move through. We have all died already, we just have not personally reached that point in the vector. Similarly, once gone, we still exist in our slice of time. So you, and yours, are still together in that part of the time vector that you shared. Celebrate that time in this part of your time. That’s the purpose of a wake. To celebrate the life shared, and still being shared. For all eternity that slice of time is now fixed and perpetual.

  18. Jason Calley says:

    @ Keith DeHavelle “I’m doing much better now. I still miss her, but I am resolved to have a future.”

    Sorry to hear about your rush visit to the hospital. Grief causes us to do unwanted things, and not eating is certainly not unusual. I am glad to see you write, “I am resolved to have a future.”

    Please forgive me if I blather a bit; I do not pretend to know you personally, only that I have read your ideas and opinions for some years, and feel that you are an honest and decent person. That being the case, I just thought I would say a short bit here.

    Anyway, about 15 years ago I suffered a loss that was devastating to me. There is a point at which grief becomes, literally, a physical pain as well as an emotional one. There is a sort of black hole left inside us that is simply unbearable. I realize that each of us is different and that we respond differently to our lives and our situations — but for me, the only thing that seemed to help at all was a sort of psuedo-Buddhism, the knowledge that “all compounded things, all objects made of two or more things joined together, those things will fall apart.” People – most people, at least – take that concept to be a very pessimistic view on things; we tend to desire permanence more than transience. On the other hand, when we experience something unbearable, sometimes the best support we have is the knowledge that the unbearable thing will not and cannot last forever. When I would be hit with “the black pit of despair” I would tell myself that even despair will not be forever, that it would not last, and that was enough to help me hold on a bit longer. Over time, the bearable periods got longer and the unbearable periods became fewer and fewer until one day (about a year later) they were gone. The loss never goes away (at least not until I go away) but I would not want it to, and here is why.

    There is a flip side to “all compounded things fall apart.” The corollary is “all non-compounded things do not fall apart.” Perhaps I have more of a mystic streak than most, but to me there is something very different, and special, about our human ability to love, to have compassion, to join with another person. We have friends with whom we share certain experiences, certain beliefs – but I am talking about something different. If we are lucky, and if we are willing to put in the time and effort, I think that we have the chance to join with another person more deeply than a mere compounding. I think that two people may grow something that truly is atomic, non-divisible, unitary. My guess is that you and your wife shared something like that. That same reason is why (speaking of my case) I am glad that the loss does not go away, that it lasts as long as I do. Whenever I remember that loss, I am reminded of that bigger thing, that unitary and more eternal thing that I was so privileged to experience. The despair goes away, but the loss that remains is a reminder of, and the ticket price that must be paid to ride, that most wonderful roller coaster that life can give us. I would do it again in a heart beat.

    You have my sincere condolences for what you are going through. I hope that I have not intruded.

  19. Thanks for your thoughts, Jason. Here is a bit more of that story:
    http://level-head.livejournal.com/625504.html

    I am more optimistic now than I have been in the weeks since I lost her — dead in one second, evidently, as I sat with her, and all the CPR in the world proved useless.

    But now I visualize her riding with me in the car, commenting from her computer across the room, or offering some humor from the kitchen — I have sort-of turned my Lady into an imaginary friend. She never corrected my behavior directly; she would tell people how good I was at something, and I would resolve to be better at it, shoring up any gaps, trying to be the worthy person that she thought I was. Her gentle encouragement, in my mind, is helping now. Perhaps it is a not-entirely-healthy adjustment, but it is one I can live with.

    My own near-death helped to crystallize things in my mind. My body was failing … and I was ready for it to fail. I’d just bought groceries, and I mused, untroubled, at the notion of wondering if anyone would ever eat them as I left the house for what I expected to be the last time.

    Now I am determined to succeed. We … she and I, in this new odd sense … are not done yet. That unitary aspect you describe is definitely a factor, and the ride is not over.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  20. Zeke says:

    Thank you both, so much, for what you are saying.

    Thank you for coming back Mike.

  21. philjourdan says:

    I am sorry for your loss Keith. My prayers and best wishes go with you.

  22. Verity Jones says:

    @Keith DeHavelle

    Sorry for your loss. I am very happy to know that you have found a way to go on and the thought of you sharing your life now with your imagined lady melts my heart. You have friends here, although we may be may not meet you physically.

    @EM

    Glad to know all is well.

  23. John Robertson says:

    Glad to hear all is good and life is keeping you busy.

  24. David A says:

    @ Keith & E.M. I just wish to send my support to both of you. Honest straightforward sincerity, with a large mixture of truly educated intelligence, permeates all of your posts.

    I dearly hope our host finds the stabilizing conditions of his current situation allow us the privilege of more commentary.

    And I dearly hope Keith finds the love of his wife inspiring his service to others in his own unique way of communicating on the internet, and in every facet of his life.

    My thanks to you both.

  25. Jason Calley says:

    Hey Keith, you say, “Now I am determined to succeed. We … she and I, in this new odd sense … are not done yet. That unitary aspect you describe is definitely a factor, and the ride is not over.”

    That is the best news I have heard today. :)

    Even for those of us who have already ridden more than a few annual loops around the Sun, the world can be a scarey place. Quite simply, the world is a better place to have you (and thereby the continuing influence of your dear wife, as well) still in it. Glad you are still with us and determined to remain in the crew.

    You say, “Her gentle encouragement, in my mind, is helping now. Perhaps it is a not-entirely-healthy adjustment, but it is one I can live with.”

    Unhealthy? I think it is perfectly normal and expected. No… thinking a bit more, I would say that it is better than expected, that it is a blessing. I do not see how you could possibly share a life for so many years with someone you love and not get your “meme-plexes” blended together. We all have more than one voice in our head. Personally, I have certain teachers, poets, people whom I never met but read about (from Jesus to Thomas Jefferson). Best of all are the voices of the ones I love; my wife, my son, my siblings. They have all placed bricks and beams in that structure that I consider “me!”. I would be someone else if not for them — and I am grateful for those voices and what they have given me. If that is unhealthy, I’ll take it regardless.

    One more thing — thanks for the link you provided. (“Here is a bit more of that story:
    http://level-head.livejournal.com/625504.html “) I took the liberty of reading not just about your wife’s passing, but some more about your own recent encounter with the hospital. I did not realize just how dangerous your condition was. Gee whiz… close call!

  26. My heart goes out to you in your time of sorrow.

  27. omanuel says:

    You have been richly blessed, Keith, with a good life, a good wife, and an analytical mind that has purpose.

    I urge you to use those talents to help society solve its current dilemma:

    http://www.breitbart.com/Breitbart-London/2014/04/26/Former-NASA-Scientist-Global-Warming-is-Nonsense#comment-1360948073

  28. omanuel says:

    Try starting your day by listening to a song of praise for another day of life!

  29. adolfogiurfa says:

    “Follow up on the DIY chemical stone samples. Maybe even try the second batch using CaCO / CaCO3 / MgO / MgCO3 adjuncts”….THAT´S DOLOMITE!

  30. adolfogiurfa says:

    Dear E.M.: For you: THE UNIFIED FIELD

  31. pyromancer76 says:

    Keith DeHavelle, to lose a dearest loved one must be one of life’s most tragic events, but to lose her suddenly, well, there are no words….This is the most profound loss and the deepest sadness. Your reaching out, even to a doctor, must have meant that you had something to live for and that your beloved lifemate wanted you to continue living.

    So glad that you now know that you want to be here and can care for yourself for that purpose — as you and your lifemate used to do for each other. And, to Jason Calley, too. Blogs like E.M.’s, which enables not only the “owner” but commenters to reach for the truths of life and to discuss and debate back and forth, are precious. All your comments are read and appreciated and add to knowledge and love of life. I am very grateful and I thank E.M. Smith for his generosity.

  32. Thank you, friends. I had a rough night last night — twelve hours of stomach distress, during which I had to complete a major project. Two sorts of constant upheaval, you could say. lost six pounds yesterday, But it was temporary, evidently food-related, and I’m shut of it now. It was almost annoying to have the client say “Fantastic work!” — though we’ll see if the project gets funded by the government, which is the goal. (Yes, I’m a sort of professional rent-seeker in my “day job,” mostly on medical and scientific research grants. During the “day” I have had to write the equivalent of “global warming is real!” which just goes to show how much such utterances are worth, since they are required by law.)

    I appreciate, E.M., your toleration here; your own situation has been many kinds of a handful, but some focus has been distracted. Best wishes for the good health and happiness of you and yours, and I look forward to your enjoyable posts.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  33. omanuel says:

    If [During the “day” I have had to write the equivalent of “global warming is real!”] and I personally knew this writing to be deceptive, then my physical ailments might well reflect this internal conflict. – Oliver

  34. @omanuel:
    Heinlein once wrote, commenting wryly on Hugo de Grotius:

    There is an old, old story about a theologian who was asked to reconcile the doctrine of Divine mercy with the doctrine of infant damnation. “The Almighty,” he explained, “finds it necessary to do things in His official and public capacity which in His private and personal capacity He deplores.”

    Some of my “official” work, what I must write to comply with regulations, feels a bit like that dichotomy. For example, I recently helped write an application for a concession in our National Park Service. Now, by regulation, you are not even allowed to submit such an application unless you pay appropriate homage to the gods of global warming and promise to make the appropriate sacrifices at their altar. For example, you must demonstrate how much carbon you are going to save, how many plastic bottles you are going to eliminate, et cetera.

    Amusingly, the NPS goes on at some length about how important it is not to allow guests to feed the animals, because when you provide handouts to a population you harm them by turning them into dependents. Amusingly, the rest of the government has no qualms about doing exactly this to their human constituents. Of course, the bears do not vote, so … no handouts for them.

    ===|==============/ Keith DeHavelle

  35. omanuel says:

    Yes, Keith, humans are the most interesting animal species. If I weren’t one I would study them.

  36. Pouncer says:

    Glad to hear from E.M. and all.

  37. Eric Barnes says:

    Keith DeHavelle says:
    2 May 2014 at 2:15 pm

    Excellent Keith. Thanks!

  38. omanuel says:

    E.M. Smith, Steven Goddard, Jeff Id and and OJ Orach are all great!

    http://orach24463.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/its-the-sun-stupid/

  39. David A says:

    E.M. Smith, excellent comment on Dr Spencers WUWT post. It is lost in the 500 plus comments, but it is a good example of why we misss your input. If Dr Spencer really wanted to convince someone on the fence, he would answer that post in some detail.

  40. David A says:

    BTW by “on the fence” I mean someone wavering between the net affect of CO2 is moderate warming, and the view that we do not even know if that is true.

  41. David A says:

    correction…I
    mean someone wavering between the net affect of CO2, isolated from feedbacks, is moderate warming, and the view that we do not even know if that is true.

  42. Wayne Job says:

    E.M. glad you are back, I have missed your input into my education. The world at the moment has a dirth of original thinkers and your postings are usually special. That you find tangents in almost everything is delightful, it is the road less travelled that oft finds answers. Do not stress that your blogging is intermittent , when you do, the surprises are worth waiting for. Wayne

  43. omanuel says:

    One of the most unpleasant surprises would be a “false flag” event (like a war between the US, UK, EU and Russia) to try to divert attention away from the fact that the national academies of science in all these countries have cooperated to prevent public knowledge of the Sun’s pulsar core since 1977, when the Hungarian astronomer Peter Toth first reported that possibility in Nature:

    http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v270/n5633/abs/270159a0.html

  44. E.M.Smith says:

    @Jason Calley:

    That “not compounded so not falling apart” portion is what I would call the intertwined period of the time line / axis.

    Forever and eternity the part of infinite time that you spent with someone persists. It can not be undone. That you have moved past it, and they did not, does NOT change the shared time. As time is an axis, a dimension in reality, that segment of it is immutable and persists. Simply cherish that you had it (and STILL have it as YOU still exist in that segment of time as well…) and if there is anything to morn, it is that you are left in the here and now, while they are not. So go make the here and now another entwined moment in time with others so that it, too, becomes ‘a good time’ for eternity…

    @Keith:

    That “remembering the person” in the present is our way of visiting that other segment of our time vector. They still live in it, and we can sort of view it from a distance… still sharing from the shadows of the present…

    @Zeke, David A., John Roberson, Pouncer, & Verity:

    Thanks. And: You are most welcome. I miss it, too, when I am not here. It is the only place I can let the horses of the mind run fully and free…

    @Pyromancer76:

    Is it really ‘generosity’ to cherish the thoughts of others?… but “you are welcome” even if the question can not be answered…

    @Keith:

    Yes, I’d noticed that the ‘deep wandering’ type of posting had become more rare, and the “gee whiz looky!” more common. Totally an artifact of time costs. Sigh. Hopefully the newest Arctic depth posting starts to get back into the swing of things.

    Six pounds in one day? Almost certainly ‘water weight’ and any digestive contents dumped, but not replaced. You just can’t burn that much tissue & fat in a day. Watch out for dehydration, it can sneak up on you and can play games with blood clotting.

    That Heinlein quote is a gem!

    @David A:

    Thanks! I’ve thought of doing a more ‘in depth’ posting here on ‘issues’ with the Dr. Spencer Forbidden Thoughts list… We’ll see.

    Oh, and also lost in the flood is a great link to the ‘et. al.’ posting on ‘Is there a global temperatures’. It, too, will likely get a link / posting. “in the fullness of time”. A statistically deep though approachable paper on just exactly why an average hides more than it reveals and why a global average temperature is just bogus.

    @Wayne Job:

    The part I regret most is that for 8 hours a day my mind is constrained to a very narrow and not very interesting formal channel. Hard to have a load of original “muse” when you are busy mining salt… Oh Well. Pays the bills, keeps me fed. (Setting up Disaster Recovery computer systems and programs for companies at least has some merit, even if it is surprisingly simple to do and pays OK. But “running meetings” and shoving documentation around for D.R. Audits is not advancing humanity nor understanding a whole lot. Oh Well… )

    I think I’ve now got things worked out to where at least once / week is reliable and maybe a couple of ‘lite ones’ in the middle. I have persistent reliable wi-fi at home now, and a weekly Starbucks couple of hours has returned (since I’m not being pulled into the ‘regular church’ ceremonies as the ‘special events’ days have passed – only one more to go… in a few weeks).

    I’ve also got a backlog of ideas noted in my notepad, so it’s largely just a matter of working through them to something worth posting.

    @OManuel:

    I’d like to hold speculation about a WWIII for another thread. I’m planning on putting up a quick Ukraine comment ‘real soon now’. FWIW, I think you will find that The Great Game is still in play, and that pits the UK vs Russia (with the EU as ‘wannabe’ player with some on each side, and the US as ‘pawn’ presently being “flexible” for Putin… ) So I don’t see them all cooperating so much as being in turmoil and unaware…

    @Adolfo:

    I’ll take a look at the link later, but looks interesting.

    @All:

    Well, time to go. My Starbucks Mocha is drained, and church lets out soon. With luck, I’ll do a bit more later today.

  45. About time, EM as you ask, that I do say something.
    My recent contact with your blog has been spasmodic, mainly because of priorities, which you so clearly understand yourself.
    This visit is full of surprises and the good parts are nice. However, the dramas are not.
    In particular Keith, I am very sorry to hear of your sudden loss and your own challenges. It is heartening to hear that you are successfully coming to grips with them.
    There was a time when I spent considerable time and energy, reading and commenting on your blog. It was a significant education for me, cutting my teeth here basically on the internet blogging sphere. My appreciation goes to all your regular followers, EM.
    To say that I have moved on would be an insult, but I have moved across, perhaps.
    Some more time contributing to the TIP blog where I continued to learn a great deal more and gained the confidence to start my own blog, where occasionally I reblog from here.
    The times I do return to ‘Chiefio musings’ are always a pleasure and always educational.
    Although we are all connected only by written words, it is a real life connection nevertheless.
    My very best regards to all you guys. Once again many thanks and best wishes for your future endeavours, relationships and good health.

Comments are closed.