Leonard Nimoy Passes

Just a quick notice for anyone who has missed it.

Leonard Nimoy, aka Mr. Spock, is dead. He died today from “complications of emphysema”.

I’m sure you can find lots of news coverage. I’m going to be mourning for a while…

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Leonard Nimoy Passes

  1. Verity Jones says:

    Sad indeed, although he did live long and prosper – by human standards.

  2. p.g.sharrow says:

    Leonard Nimoy, died today from “complications of emphysema”.

    He lived a long, fruitful and I am sure “interesting” life. But complications of emphysema, man that is a long and hard way to go. May he rest in peace.
    His screen image will live on forever. pg

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    @P.G.:

    I’m sure he had sufficient drugs to avoid too much discomfort, but ‘gasping’ is never good. I was with my Father until his death from long cancer. Spending several days as someone slowly starves for air is not pretty. But it turns out that my hearing loss gave me the ability to ‘clean up’ his mumbles through the air mask, so I was “translator” for a couple of days that otherwise would have been “he’s just mumbling and incoherent” when he was really asking for the bedpan and to have his teeth brushed.

    Sadly, Nimoy didn’t make it just the few years longer to have a solution ready:
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/06/100624092522.htm

    About ready to grow “pig lungs” as the next step up from rats. Could likely do people in another decade (modulo regulatory crap).

  4. p.g.sharrow says:

    @EMSmith; I have some personal experience with gasping for air. Asthmatic attacks caused by air borne allergies, at times, hours of lying on the floor gasping like a fish out of water. At least after a few hours or days it passes. Emphysema is permanent. Now days there are treatments that help with my problem. When I was young it was considered by some to be psychosomatic and could be “outgrown”. In my opinion it is the worst way to die that there is. :-( pg

  5. Bloke down the pub says:

    Our lives are marked by the passing of people who have influenced us. Outside of family, Leonard Nimoy and the character of Spock were possibly the earliest influence on me that I can think of. I still try to put logic at the heart of my actions, but I don’t think I can blame them for my trouble with relations with women.

  6. In Canada, it seems they are drawing eyebrows and beard on their $5 notes to honour Spock.
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-31717210

  7. p.g.sharrow says:

    I was a “Mr. Spock” long before Leonard Nimoy filled that character.
    Women are not logical, they are interesting. >-l pg

Comments are closed.