Theme Song – Edge Of Glory

I know, I know, never going to have the problem…

But when a guest gets introduced on The Tonight Show or other venues, they often play a “theme song”.

From time to time I’ve pondered: Just what ought my theme song be?

I’m fond of Beethoven’s 9th.

The 1812 Overture is fun, except I keep thinking of cereal shot from guns ;-)

Pinball Wizard has some touchstones for me, but frankly it isn’t one of my favorites.

Well, after a fair amount of pondering (and watching a lot of music videos), I’m leaning toward a particular one.

Not for the whole song (which I do like, but doesn’t really apply to me at all) but for a particular refrain in it. That I think is quite close to me.

Lady Gaga, The Edge Of Glory.

These folks have the lyrics (in reality, several sites have the lyrics and often they don’t agree or sound like what I think I’m hearing, but this one was closest, maybe…):

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/ladygaga/theedgeofglory.html

“The Edge Of Glory”

There ain’t no reason you and me should be alone
Tonight, yeah, baby! (Tonight, yeah, baby!)
And I got a reason that you’re who should take me home tonight (Tonight)
I need a man that thinks it’s right when it’s so wrong
Tonight, yeah, baby! (Tonight, yeah, baby!)
Right on the limits where we know we both belong tonight

[Bridge:]
It’s hard to feel the rush, to brush the dangerous
I’m gonna run right to, to the edge with you
Where we can both fall far in love

[Chorus:]
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth
Out on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge,
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge with you.

Another shot before we kiss the other side
Tonight, yeah, baby! (Tonight, yeah, baby!)
I’m on the edge of something final we call life tonight
(Alright! Alright!)
Put on your shades, ’cause I’ll be dancing in the flames
Tonight, yeah, baby! (Tonight, yeah, baby!)
It isn’t hell if everybody knows my name tonight
(Alright! Alright!)

[Bridge:]
It’s hard to feel the rush, to brush the dangerous
I’m gonna run right to, to the edge with you
Where we can both fall far in love

[Chorus:]
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth
Out on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge,
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge with you.

I’m on the edge with you
I’m on the edge with you
(You, you, you…)

[Solo saxophone]

[Chorus:]
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge, the edge,
I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you
I’m on the edge with you (with you, with you, with you, with you, with you)

Writer(s): Paul Blair, Paul Edward Blair, Stefani Germanotta, Fernando Garibay
Copyright: House Of Gaga Publishing LLC, Garibay Music Publishing, Glostream Music Publishing, House Of Gaga Publishing Inc., Sony/ATV Songs LLC, Warner-tamerlane Publishing Corp., Universal Music Corp.

Now to me, it sounds like she says “that you who should” in the third line.

I also get “It’s time to feel the rush, to push some dangerous” for the first line of the bridge. But the second time it comes around does sound like what they have.

Then, it sounds like “fall far far in” sometimes, but maybe that’s a hickup in the transmission ;-)

And the last time they have the chorus, they have “I’m” for the first word of the second line, when all the others have “Out” and it sounds like “Out” to me. Errata? But it doesn’t detract from the song. Or maybe it is “I’m” in that line and I am getting off frame when I try to fish that one line out of the many refrains and QA check it.

The lines that I “connect with”, though are these:

I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth
Out on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment with you

Why?

Well, first off, having been on TV a couple of times and having had some “names” throw rocks at me (even if only indirectly), I have had a bit of feeling like I’m “on the edge of glory”. Not in it, mind you. Too small and too off in a backwater, but I can see it from here ;-)

Now that I’m “hanging on a moment of truth”. Well, that sort of covers my entire motivation for all of this. I started looking at Global Warming thinking it was a very important and serious issue and I ought to learn about it. The more I learned the more I found it was riddled with errors, personality attacks, and in some cases what sure look like downright lies. (Only later did I see the structured political aspect of it driven directly by the Club Of Rome mantras and the UN Agenda 21 implementation plan). My entire motivation has been looking for the little nuggets of truth and how to put them all together. I’ve literally been “hanging on a moment of truth”… then when making postings about them, it is “hanging on a moment with you” as that truth is shared. (Or as we explore where I might have missed a trick). Finding a fellow traveler who also sees.

I note in passing that “I need a man that thinks it’s right when it’s so wrong” does ALMOST echo the idea of needing someone who can see what is right when so much is so wrong. But really, for that line, the top note does overwhelm that quiet echo. Yet I do end up thinking about folks who can see what’s right when so much is so wrong.

Then that line about “dancing in the flames”, well, that’s what it feels like when the Warmers get out their flame throwers. Not so much lately as I’ve gotten better at knocking them back; but initially, for sure it was ‘trial by fire’.

And that bit about “hell if everybody knows my name tonight”… I have to say, it takes a certain kind of spunk to look around, see Obama using the IRS to political effect, see Wiki being rewritten when referenced, see folks sued for speaking truth to idiocy, see structured opposition from multi-billion dollar organizations (from The Green Blob on down to NSF grant bias to Troll Wars that look planned and financed) and see a literal ocean of $Billions flowing to “the other side” and, facing all that, think: Heck, I’m one unemployed guy with a keyboard, sure I can take that on.

Sometimes I think that’s a sure sign of great courage. Other times I think it shows insanity. The reality is likely that I’ve never really accepted “peer pressure” or really much of any kind of social pressure. I just look at it and think either “that’s not true” if based on lie or error, or “that’s not right” if based on immoral motivation, or “that’s not relevant” when it’s just an emotional sop. In short, I’m not able to let other people set my emotional tone nor tell me what I must think. “I am a finished person” (don’t know where I first heard that, but it stuck) and I do my own thinking and my own emoting, thank you very much; even when that puts me standing against the crowd, the army, the wall of stupid.

So yeah, the “hell” of everyone knowing my name tonight…
been there, done that, have the scars.

Perhaps that is why the “no reason you and me should be alone tonight” also echos some connection. We who are the loyal opposition are often alone. Sadly, often deliberately ostracized by an immoral attack style from the Global Warming Cabal. At least we can be together from time to time and have “another shot” before we go “kiss the other side”… (Think the Band Kiss ;-)

There’s also an emotional connection in that Lady Gaga has a very “outside the mainstream” style and reputation. Don’t know if it was a deliberate act, or a natural part of her self perception and person; but that “in your face from outside the approved space” is very much emotionally the same space. In many ways Lady Gaga has become the flag bearer for the “outside” folks, and while many of them are undoubtedly directly on the opposite side from me on many issues, in this one way we are the same. (And maybe a few others… I am of a Libertarian bent).

Besides, I really like her stuff. The music I just love, and the videos are always something unexpected and interesting.

I know, I know… a sophistic analytic “moment” by me, is not at all related to a lady in black leather looking for an edgy hookup for the night. The overall context is entirely unrelated to my being and style. (Though I really do like the video ;-) But when listening to the song, it’s that refrain that has a special catch for me. That’s the bit that I’d want as my 20 seconds walk on music…. “For that day” ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Arts, Favorites, Human Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Theme Song – Edge Of Glory

  1. Larry Ledwick says:

    I can empathize with you on this E.M. This whole battle for the truth and return to basic science or contesting formulaic propaganda regardless of its origin is a lonely battle. It conjures up all sorts of thoughts.

    concepts like:
    “For evil to succeed only requires good men to do nothing”
    “what did you do in the war daddy?” (ie how will you defend your honor in some sad sad future if in spite of your best efforts the rats win the rat race)

    Will you be able to stand tall and at least say “I tried”.

    Then you come to considerations like the Serenity Prayer:

    God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    The courage to change the things I can,
    And the wisdom to know the difference.

    At some point each Don Quixote needs to decide what windmills to tilt with and which to walk by without challenge.

    There have been times that I entered the fray and did battle with trolls over things like climate change and alternate energy sources etc. At times I had to make the conscious choice to disengage to lose the battle to win the war. I currently limit my encounters to that small fringe group who like the nearest swimmer to the life boat I feel I have a reasonable chance of reaching and no longer waste my efforts trying to convert the obsesses and unreasonable who will not at least engage in intelligent reasoned debate. Or those who will not acknowledge that there is a chance they are wrong, just as I know for certainty that I am not always right.

    I think all you can do is push in the right direction and trust that in time the truth will win the day, how ever painful it might be in the interim.

  2. Pingback: Short Rapid Warm, Long Stable Cold | Musings from the Chiefio

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    @larry:

    Oh do I understand. My “comment rate” at WUWT has dropped by an order of magnitude as I’ve come to realize just that point. That many times the battle is with a paid troll and the best thing to do is just not engage and give them air time. Frankly, one of my main obsessive moments at present is trying to figure out what will work and ONLY do that. Not sure I’ve got a handle yet…

    One interesting technique that did seem to work is “State The Truth”. Simply say to a troll “You seem to be acting like a paid troll to parrot the talking points”. Oddly, they seem to shut up then ;-)

    BTW, one hopes you enjoy both my “inner narrative” about how I hear the echo of the song AND the “top story” of the song itself. I really like the top story, though I’m too timid to actually indulge in that degree of freedom. Still, I really really like the song.

    I’ve heard that Lady Gaga had quit drugs and gained weight and was horridly distressed by it. As a “formerly fat kid” I can strongly relate. I know it will never happen, but could I talk to her directly I’d say: “Lady Gaga: I love you. It makes no difference your age, your weight, your status in any way. I understand, and I love you. You have given me more happiness than I can ever return. It has no bounds. IF you ever need a friend, call on me, I am here for you.” I know as a 60 something that would be a bit “odd” and there is zero hope in hell she would ever realize it is entirely from the heart. Yet there it is. She will always be younger than me (and likely slimmer :-) and frankly, she is a wonderful person I would spend time with any time, any where. I’ve had lots of “crap” in my life, and gotten past it, and I’d be happy to giver her anything I could. But I’m a “nobody” and she is a star… so life is what it is.

    Hopefully she will find her way forward in happiness.

    But back about me ;-)

    Do listen to the song. Both as the “top story” Lady Gaga intended, and with echos of my “view” of it. It works both ways, strongly, for me.

  4. p.g.sharrow says:

    LoL; Spoken by the man that wears sandals rather then shoes. :-) Mr Smith is not one of the crowd. of that I can attest. A wave offering to the Independent thinkers that have the courage to speak up and give encouragement to others.
    As to theme songs I have always leaned toward The Highway Man by “the highway men”
    “I still remain and I’ll come back again, and again. and again, I will come back again”

    The Highway Man

    I was a highwayman, along the coach roads I did ride
    Sword and pistol by my side
    Many a young maid lost her baubles to my trade
    Many a soldier shed his lifeblood on my blade
    The bastards hung me in the spring of twenty five
    But I am still alive

    I was a sailor, I was born upon the tide
    With the sea I did abide
    I sailed a schooner ’round the Horn to Mexico
    I went aloft and furled the mainsail in a blow
    And when the yards broke off, they said that I got killed
    But I am livin’ still

    I was a dam builder across a river deep and wide
    Where steel and water did collide
    A place called Boulder on the wild Colorado
    I slipped and fell on the wet concrete below
    They buried me in that gray tomb that knows no sounds
    But I am still around

    I’ll always be around, and around
    And around, and around, and around

    I’ll fly a starship across the universe divide
    And when I reach the other side
    I’ll find a place to rest my spirit if I can
    Perhaps I may become a highwayman again
    Or I may simply be a single drop of rain
    But I will remain

    And I’ll be back again and again
    And again and again and again

    Read more: The Highwaymen – Highwayman Lyrics
    http://www.metrolyrics.com/highwayman-lyrics-the-highwaymen.html
    Highwayman: Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson,Waylon Jennings:
    I will remain, and will come back again.pg

  5. Larry Ledwick says:

    @E.M.Smith
    Frankly, one of my main obsessive moments at present is trying to figure out what will work and ONLY do that. Not sure I’ve got a handle yet…

    I read a really interesting article the other day, wish I could find it. It was on the topic of gun control but like all issues which are strongly held I think the same concepts apply.

    The gist of the article is that much of the debate between such groups reaches the point of being a scripted kabuki dance. where side A levels charge A1 and side B responds with canned response B1. It is almost like a dance. You know the moment you say it that the other side is going to dismiss the comment as irrelevant or some other expected response. The author talks about accidentally discovering a different way of dealing with the dance of ideas.

    Basically instead of responding with the preconditioned counter fact, he would ask a question the other side did not expect which forced them to think of an original response and in the process they discover that they really don’t have an answer or even know why they believe what they believe. First he tried to find a question that had some thread of common ground that they could not just dismiss out of hand. This begins a process of self examination that forces them to view their argument from the outside objectively and plants a seed of doubt that just maybe this question is not so simple after all and not a black and white issue, and perhaps the other side has a worth while point of view and are not just unthinking monsters.

    I wish I could find the original but will have to settle for my recollection.

    In the 1970’s there was a popular series of books based on the concept of “transactional analysis”. Researchers studied how people interacted in groups and discovered a series of “social games” people play that like my comment above were almost scripted. The first game they identified was “Yes But” Everyone plays it at some level most play a simple game something like:

    “I really ought to buy a new car the old one is killing me with repairs.”
    “Yes But, you have put so much money into it!”
    “Yes But I need a reliable car!”
    “Yes But you have already replaced all the stuff that usually fails at this mileage”
    The winner to this game is the person who comes up with the last “Yes But” statement.

    See the book “games people play” by Eric Berne
    There are other games some are much more sinister like “kick me” where a habitual victim sets themselves up for a kick from a willing dominant person.

    As I said above, almost everyone plays one or several of these games and with different levels of seriousness, some play a polite social dance to interact on a superficial level and some are 3rd degree destructive game players to manipulate others or feel power by breaking down others.

    The latter “I’m Ok you are a piece of crap” version of games is common among the serious zealous climate change, global warming advocates.

    The observation they had in those books, is that you can “break the game” by giving an unscripted outside the game response to one of the trigger opening invitation questions.

    Like in the above if your response does not conform to the game, like giving them a suitable Yes But response, but agreeing with the person that they really should buy a new car. They will either get flustered and break off the game to find a partner who plays by the rules or be at a complete loss for words because you broke the game script.

    I think that is the solution, the normal scripted game in the climate debate is Troll makes some ridiculous charge or statement and you feel compelled to respond in kind with the appropriate dance step response. That puts you on the defensive and gives them control of the agenda, the story line and the “facts” which they wish to beat you over the head with.

    Instead an alternative would be to totally ignore their outrageous statement and have a comeback that puts the shoe on the other foot while giving them a face saving way to exit the conversation, and hopefully that forces them to think about their assumptions.

    In serious game players, the harder you push back “inside the game” the harder they will dig in to defend their flag, and they will instinctively tune out your logic and reason and only seek to win the flag. That leads to no actual useful communication. You have to find a way to break their game.

    Charge from troll: Do you believe climate change exists?
    If you answer no they instantly label you a denier and from then on all your comments are meaningless — therefore they win they are a good person and you suck.
    If you answer yes then the pre-scripted response is that you must be a heartless bastard capitalist who is willing to destroy the world to pad your bank account (or something similar)
    Again they win they are thoughtful caring individuals and you are a psychopathic capitalist set on destroying the world.

    You need to come back with an unexpected response,

    The climate has always been changing it has never been stable, Name a period in history where the climate had been uniform over century time scales?

    They will try to come up with a mythical time period which had a stable climate but there is not a historically recent period which matches that requirement. No matter what period they claim as “normal” there is historical documentation that those periods seldom lasted more than a couple decades (ie dust bowl, or year with out a summer etc.) and each of those was far different from the current climate.

    I don’t have a solid scripted response but I have finally formed a concept to work from. That is to see this as a huge Yes But game from the “I’m Okay and you are pathetic” school and mentally figure out what they expect you to say and go someplace else.

    Hopefully by asking them a question they have no scripted answer to and which includes some concept that they themselves agree strongly with so their is a common bond which makes it difficult to play the .”I’m Okay and you are pathetic” card.

    When you start breaking peoples social games they frequently walk off in a huff ( or sometimes get very very angry ) because you are not playing by the rules. Like all things “psychological” TA (transactional analysis) has its own dogma and ends up going down a rabbit hole or two but I found the concepts useful when I was younger to resolve some issues with people I knew who were 3rd degree destructive game players (manipulation etc). Once I figured out what game they liked to play I just refused to give them the proper pay back and they went away on their own accord because I was no longer giving them the expected response to their game.

  6. M Simon says:

    p.g.sharrow says:
    30 April 2015 at 3:57 am

    Nice song. Funny enough I was a highwayman (OLAW MC gang), and a sailor (Naval Nuke), never a dam builder (but I did my part to build the ‘net). And these days I’m working on a starship engine (Polywell). An interesting life. So far.

    Lady Gaga? Nice Jewish girl.

    My song? Hijack by the Starship. “We are home Chewy.” And don’t forget those special modifications. Point seven past light speed….

  7. E.M.Smith says:

    @P.G.:

    Ohhh, that’s a good song too…

    Well… sandals ARE more comfortable ;-)

    I grew up being mostly barefoot during the summer ( about 3 months ) and often barefoot when not at school. I have broad feet with a squarish profile of the toes ( “duck feet” or the Birkenstocks profile) and finding shoes that don’t bind the toes or just behind them has always been an issue. Regular hard shoes often hurt. Though I’ve found that Birkenstocks makes enclosed dress shoes now too, so I wear them at work now… when I have work…

    At one point I stepped on a snail barefoot and the shell nicked the underside of one toe. I thought “Yucky snail goop in my toes” and wiped it on the grass. Washed it off once back inside and didn’t think more about it. That started a, roughly, 5 year battle with “toe fungus”. Some unknown kind of fungus proceeded to try eating the skin on my feet. Cutting a very long story short, I was down to the last OTC antifungal of the time ( IIRC it was Micatin) as all the others had “worked for a little while” and then failed, or seemed to cure then when stopped, a few months later “It’s Baack!”… and resistant. Off to the doctor…

    He proceeded to inform me that he had no other goop, and just keep using Micatin as that was all that was left. Also to keep feet dry and wear sandals, but not to worry, most fungus was slow spreading and if it got too bad, repeated amputations would likely keep me alive until something else killed me…

    That’s when I started wearing sandals to work… And for the next year had the foot gooped in Micatin to about 6 inches above any known “spot”. Once it was all “resolved”, I kept the foot gooped for another whole year. All the time in sandals (or barefoot with the toes in a nice solar UV drench…) I also proceeded to eradicate the snails in the yard…

    After that, when anyone looked askance at the sandals, or made a comment, they would get “The Snail Goop and Micatin” story and leave me alone. After a few years, folks quit asking. Then, when I was pretty sure it was OK to go back to hard shoes: I didn’t own any and everyone already knew not to ask about the sandals or they would get the Snail Goop story again ;-) So I just stuck with them. Only about 2 decades later did I wear hard shoes for longer than an hour or so at a time. (Job interviews, or weddings / funerals, etc.). Even then, I tend to slip them off under the desk…

    One odd thing about that particular fungus was that it would ‘tunnel’ under the epidermal top layer. An athletes foot like red spot (sometimes with small wet blister near it) could be surrounded for an inch or two with meds, and the stuff might pop up 3 inches away in the foot arch or another toe. Once I figure that out, I just covered everything up to the ankle with goop…

    So yeah, after all that, I wear sandals… (Would you like to hear the story about Snail Fungus and Toe Goop again?…;-)

    The most interesting time I had to tell the story was when the V.P. Software Engineering at Amdahl made a comment about my sandals when I was invited to make a presentation… he never commented again… As a “grunt”, facing a V.P. and not backing down takes some motivation. Keeping my foot was enough ;-) After a few of those, you develop the understanding that you don’t need that level of motivation any more… it’s just another skill.

    @Larry:

    Yes, but… ;-)

    The psychology of Trolls is interesting in that they are looking for an emotional “hit” out of the transaction. They have a bit of a sadistic bent and want a fight. So I try to always avoid giving that emotional reward. Not get into the “tit for tat” and certainly not let it be deflected into a DIFFERENT issue where they have a more rehearsed answer set and have chosen the field.

    For the ones that seem to be ‘on staff’ somewhere (or more likely, students given an “engage the deniers” assignment to practice their ‘received wisdom’), their style is more “talking points”. I’ve had media training (as part of a Board Of Directors corporate training when on the board of a medical facility). It is in some ways very “EST” like. You are trained to NOT answer the question asked, and to keep in mind your talking points, always steering to one of your chosen topics and answers. Watch for that behaviour in others (it is almost always seen in politicians being interviewed… at least those who have held office a while and taken the class…)

    So when I see something (like is now very common at WUWT) where “the usual suspects” come out with a trivial and inflammatory “comment” inside a minute of the article going up; it pretty much flags it to me as “Troll”. (With the swap to nested, instead of time ordered, comments; the first comment up captures the bulk of the topic for comments. Subsequent comments drift further down the thread as folks “respond” to the first inflammatory remark, and then after a very short time you must wade through pages of dreck to get to what had been the second up comment.)

    Now the good thing out of that is you can easily mine that for information about “Who’s your Troll?”… The one who has “pole position” frequently with a sniditude can of fuel… Why do I think many of them are paid or assigned? Because they are “always there” (though often it seems to be in shifts… I’ve not bothered to actually check time stamps, but it looks like the key players are in rotating shifts to me). For some, I’m pretty sure it’s an assignment. Seems like just about quarter or semester change, the names change. (Either that, or they are just rotating the cover persona on a regular basis). Again I’ve not mined the date stamps, but think about it for a while. The “Known Agitator” big names of 4 years ago are nowhere to be seen now. A couple of name rotations have happened.

    BTW, I have “Games People Play” and read it when it first came out. One of my favorites to not engage is “Poor Little Me”. Met a wonderful girl my first year of college, but she was “accident prone”. Always a bruised this or a cut that. Once had a badly sprained or broken big toe. Always fishing for sympathy. Caught onto it “right quick” and chose not to play. I’m sure she found someone to “play nurse” or provide sympathy. Heck, may even have found an S&M guy to provide both the injuries and the sympathy later. Would have driven me nuts and I’d have wanted to “fix it”; which she absolutely did not want to do. It’s very hard to break folks off of their favorite games…

    My “just state the truth” came out of the thought process after that book. It “breaks the third wall” and lets them know you are seeing their game. Usually stops it right there. So “You seem to want sympathy for having hurt your toe.” delivered flat. No emotional hit, and a suspicion that you are onto their (often subconscious) game and potential self-injury. Like you pointed out, they tend to leave then.

  8. Larry Ledwick says:

    Then there are the puppet master trolls who like to play “Lets you and him fight!” and get their kicks by stirring the pot or poking the right person to trigger a knock down drag out fight between two others that they can just sit on the side lines and poke occasionally to keep the entertainment on track. (this game seems to pop up every time the discussion focuses on solar or sun physics as a key element of the conversation)

    Yes I have noticed that cast of characters who, like a used car salesman, always comes into the conversation with the same sales pitch and canned answers. I have gotten to the point that once I see that behavior I also disengage with that player and refuse to give them the emotional payback. There are those which I have decided do not engage in good faith discussion and even though they sometimes make very good observations and point out interesting relationships, they cloak themselves with the cloak of righteousness and feed their fan boys. They really refuse to engage in good faith discussion. For the longest time I could not figure out why they were being so obtuse about obvious elements of the discussion until I decided it was part of their game to be willfully obtuse on issues that did not fit their script. For those, I almost never even read their posts/comments, unless I am curious enough to see which dead horse they are beating today.

    On the other hand from my high school debate days I try to never blame an idea for its source and sometimes even idiots do accidentally come up with an interesting observation or “fact”. It is sometimes difficult to strain out those gems from the rest of the dog and pony show, but the only way to get to the truth is to give all possibilities a chance and recognize that no matter how certain you are of the “facts” you are probably wrong at least in some detail.

    The people I am most leery of are those that refuse to even suggest they might be on the wrong track and never say something like “Hmm you made an interesting point there I am going to have to think about that.” or those who never give others credit for their contribution.

Comments are closed.