Rabbits, E.Cuniculi, and A Rewarding Moment From Cure

Running a blog is an interesting experience in blind hope. You hope people read. You hope the product is good and useful. You hope someone finds something of interest in it.

Every so often there’s something that says that “hope” was justified in some small way.

I just had one of those moments.

I’d posted about 4 years ago about my experience with a sick bunny, a particularly horrid little parasite, and the lack of clear effective treatment guidelines (even from my Vet who just wanted to ‘do the usual’ that was known to not work all that well); then what had worked really well for me:

https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2011/06/16/encephalitozoon-cuniculi-rabbits-cure/

Well, time passes, and I’d had one person ask about using it (in comments on that thread, I think) but never heard much positive or negative since. Then I got this rather wonderful email. I’ve redacted the poster information as I’ve not asked permission to post this. I also replied, and had a followup response from them. It is all posted as one chunk.

From: Scott
Subject: Ivermectin/fenbendazole cure for cuniculi infection in wabbits
To: Me

Just wanted to say that we’re pursuing this treatment after reading your writeup on it from more than a decade ago. We have Flemish Giants, and our most senior buck just recently showed a few signs of cuniculi attack. We tend to have lots of vet-grade medication around here, so we started him with albendazole (ValbazenĀ®) and ivermectin, as well as injected Baytril just on the very off chance pasturella was involved (it isn’t), and last night treated him also with fenbendazole (PanacurĀ® horse dewormer paste from the tractor store). Well, he slept a lot, then, this afternoon, blew a truly monumental plug of goo out of his ass, and now has much better coordination and muscle strength in the one leg that was most affected, to where he can now sit up and get around better than he was doing this time yesterday.

Just wanted to let you know this seems to have some real merit. The vet tends to stick with Baytril and Valbazen, but that stuff gets expensive for a 20lb wabbit.


Scott

From: Me
Date: Sat, 27 Jun 2015
To: Scott
Subject: Re: Ivermectin/fenbendazole cure for cuniculi infection in wabbits

Thank you for letting me know that it has been of some benefit.

Hopefully your long eared furry friend is still doing well!

E.M.Smith

From: Scott
Subject: Re: Ivermectin/fenbendazole cure for cuniculi infection in wabbits
To: Me

The recovery has been quite spectacular. I’d lost a few big wabbits and a couple small ones to cuniculi over the years, and I always suspected there should be a better way to handle it.

Scott

I think Scott saw the 2011 as 2001 but it really was only 4 years not ‘over a decade’; and he used a wider ‘cocktail’ than I’d used; though, IMHO, the Baytril is only useful as a ‘maybe there is a bacteria too’ shot in the dark; and fenbendazole and albendazole are from the same family and really kind of redundant.

But to the point: It worked, and a large fuzzy bunny is back to having a good day. Nice to know, and if one person wrote, there likely were many others who didn’t. (Though, in fairness, I had about a 1 year mail outage / loss about 2 to 1 years back – damned AOL… so many folks might have written and I’d note know. But mail is working now…)

With that, have a pleasant day and think of happy bunnies ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Biology Biochem, Human Interest, Science Bits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rabbits, E.Cuniculi, and A Rewarding Moment From Cure

  1. Gail Combs says:

    For my critters when I worm them I quarantine for 72 hours to catch the worm eggs. It has done a great job of cleaning up my pastures.

    Don’t have bunnies any more so E. cuniculi is not on my scope however Coccidiosis seems to be a similar protozoan pain the the rump.

    Sulmet or Albon (Sulfadimethoxine) or CORIDĀ® (amprolium) are the suggested treatment. The key is to give the animals a vit. B shot or you have possible paralysis since the medications are thiamine (Vitamin B 1) inhibitors.

  2. JP Miller says:

    Although I don’t keep rabbits, I really appreciate your various articles: nutrition, climate, science, stock market, etc. I don’t comment often, but always read your lucid, interesting stuff. Thanks Mike!

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    @JP Miller:

    Thanks for the feedback! I’m one of those folks who finds anything new interesting, so “scattered” but with deep dives on specifics.

    @Gail:

    Hmmm… good idea on the quarantine and eggs.

    I’m down to one bunny as I’ve let the herd “run off”. When this one reaches her end of life, that will be the last. I’d started out to make a Dutch / MiniRex cross with the Dutch pattern, MiniRex soft fur (no bristy guard hairs) and small in size. I succeeded as that was what the last few rounds have been; but along the way realized I was not going to spend my life being servant to bunnies and that it was unlikely anyone else would want my odd-mix selection.

    Also had a predator problem from local cats and got tired of dealing with dead / maimed bunnies. Not been an issue for the last couple of years, but occasionally still find a cat hanging around.

    Oh Well…

Comments are closed.