GIStemp on CentOS 6.3

I did an unpack and “make” on my port of the older GIStemp. Long time tech followers here will remember that I’d made a “Makefile” for it.

GIStemp does a particularly brain-dead style of computing where the source code is compiled, via a script, each time it is run. This guarantees a “never the same way twice” set of binary code being run, while wasting resources, while providing the minor (near trivial) benefit that anyone changing the code doesn’t need to type “make”… it also avoids all the usual formalities of things like source code archives with version control (like “cvs checkin” or more modern systems like git) and any ability to look at prior version history…

Well, I couldn’t quite bring myself to live with that, so made a traditional Makefile to do the build, and put sources in a source directory and had a distinct binary directory for runs, and, well, basically brought the structure up to about 1990 or so… ( it still uses f77 in some areas, so parts of it are well back in 1977 in terms of the FORTRAN used, while other bits use f95, so are almost in this millennium…)

At any rate, I’ve unpacked, and did a “make”. It failed. I fixed. It failed. I fixed. The normal cycle. Here are the things I had to do to get it to compile on CentOS 6.3 directly quoted from my notes. Also remember that in an earlier posting I’d had to add the FORTRAN compiler and the Python language via a near trivial apt-get development tools. That’s the first line about replacing the compiler names as instead of distinct f77 and g95 (for GNU Fortran 95) compilers it all uses the gfortran compiler now. These changes are with respect to my Makefile, not the dozen or two scripts in the original GIStemp. Part of the advantage of a Makefile is that things like swapping the compiler name can happen in one place only… Lines starting with “#” have been commented out, or removed, and replaced by something else without the leading “#”.

I’d used FC as the environment variable for FORTRAN Compiler where version didn’t matter, and FC77 for those parts that critically depended on the FORTRAN77 compiler specification; with FC95 used for those programs that needed the FORTRAN95 language spec. Now it looks like gfortran handles all of it just fine. No need to divide them.

One program had had a ‘trace’ directive in the compile statement. That was not accepted by gfortran so was removed. In another, I’d had a bogus “:q” line stuck in it. When leaving the vi editor, you type “:q” so that tells me I was in “insert line” mode when I tried to exit and didn’t notice I’d stuck a bogus line in.

Finally, the options to “tail” are slightly different.

Changes need to make GIStemp go:

Replace f77, g95 compiler lines with gfortran.

FC=/usr/bin/gfortran

FC95=/usr/bin/gfortran

FC77=/usr/bin/gfortran

replace:

#FC=/usr/local/bin/g95

#FC95=/usr/local/bin/g95

#FC77=/usr/bin/f77

Remove “trace” directive in Makefile for one program.

In toANNsnom.f remove :q in file in error.

vi ../bin/toANNanom.f

Change:
tail +100 input_files/t_hohenpeissenberg_200306.txt_as_received_July17_2003 > t_hohenpeissenberg

to

tail -n +100 input_files/t_hohenpeissenberg_200306.txt_as_received_July17_2003 > t_hohenpeissenberg

That’s all! Nearly nothing, really. After that, I did a “make” and then ran it. It ran fine.

So it looks like I have the old version of GIStemp running again.

Next up, port the current version. Then do a “compare and contrast” to see what’s changed in a 1/2 decade or so.

All in all, CentOS makes it fairly easy to run GIStemp.

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in AGW GIStemp Specific, GISStemp Technical and Source Code, Tech Bits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GIStemp on CentOS 6.3

  1. cdquarles says:

    Nice.

    I asked you about this back in ’09, got sick, slowly recovered then had a lot happen in real life.

    Back then, I looked at getting it to run on Cygwin and a working makefile would have been wonderful. I also looked at doing a straight port, since there are gcc tools compiled to work with Windows natively. I can, though I don’t really like it, get a VM and put CentOS on it or put it on a USB stick. My machine is a lot beefier than it was back then.

  2. Pingback: The Working Draft Compute Build | Musings from the Chiefio

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    It doesn’t take much at all to run. I’ve been running it on a 400 MHz Pentium II (or maybe III?) most of the time.

    One of my “Todo”s is to put it on a USB stick in OpenBox. I’d have had that done by now but for the Evo going dodgy on me.

    I got CentOS running on a USB stick. It’s slow and sucky. But works. Not sure how it would do with a VM on a stick… so my present direction is instead to put it on a USB disk where the writes don’t kill it so much.

    Had CentOS running on a USB disk just fine. Decent performance. Then the CD drive died on the EVO, and, since it needs a CD to boot to USB, that halted…

    So now I’m back to starting over… I’m going to try it on a Raspberry Pi once my new kit arrives (see posting just made) and that may become my “cheap GIStemp on a stick” thingy…

    We’ll see. ( I’ve also thought of getting another $70 or so box from Weird Stuff that has an easier time running USB disks…)

    The “Makefile” is pretty simple. See here for my write up from then:

    https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/gistemp-a-cleaner-approach/

    Or you can just wait a couple of months and I’m likely to be posting that I’m ready to make VMs on an SD card for use with WIndows with GIStemp preinstalled and data loaded ;-)

    I already made a VM and loaded temp data into it when back in Florida, but was working then so could not complete the process (as my GIStemp archives were back here then…).

    Now I’ve got it all in the same place and making progress again.

    Any help or even just rooting on appreciated ;-)

  4. Pingback: Raspberry Pi GIStemp – It Compiled | Musings from the Chiefio

Comments are closed.