Grandpa In Waiting…

The first grandchild is “on the way” and due in a “day or two”. Consequently, I’m going to be very inattentive to the blog for about a week.

Please feel free to use this as an “open thread” to talk among yourselves ;-)

I’ll mostly be using my tablet to stay in touch, but it doesn’t let me type long articles. When not pacing and waiting I’ll likely be sleeping instead of typing anyway ;-)

So I’m sill “around”, just likely rushing to and fro ;-) and tending to the “Honey Do” list…

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Grandpa In Waiting…

  1. Kevin Lohse says:

    Good luck, and my felicitations to the expectant Mum. The joy of Grandparenthood is that you don’t have to change a nappy unless you want to.

  2. Larry Ledwick says:

    Great news — hope all goes well!

  3. philjourdan says:

    Congratulations! I am up to 4 now. And I tell you, they were very easy on the wife and I. Hardly any labor pains! ;-)

  4. Counter Revolutionary says:

    It’s a great life change. From my own experience Grandma and your lives will change. Trips to babysit,watch sports and school events, and family together time (as long as family is defined as revolving around the grand kid(s)).

  5. Jason Calley says:

    Congratulations to the entire Smith-related clan! What a Christmas gift!

  6. Power Grab says:

    Congratulations! :-D

  7. LG says:

    Congrats to the Smiths !!!

  8. p.g.sharrow says:

    Man, kick back and enjoy a libation. Grandpa is a pleasant chore…pg

  9. cdquarles says:

    Welcome to the greybeard granddad club. Hop right in, the water’s fine :).

  10. Steve C says:

    I just entered Grandpahood two months ago and love it. The baby has three doting grandparents including a gaga grandpa (me:) I wish the best to all and I believe you’ll love it.

  11. omanuel says:

    Congratulations on reaching another milestone in the journey of life.

  12. Bill S says:

    I now have three day care Ninjas. I call them M1 thru M3.
    Right now, M refers to monster. I have high hopes they will remind me of my amateur astronomy habit in the future and turn into my personal Messier objects.
    But for now it’s “M2 – No eye gouging! M1 is going to cover your back when you two grow up! Fight nice!” So far they are still trying to figure out who is M1 and the ploy is working.

    It does make you want to live.

  13. philjourdan says:

    @CD – Indeed! When my kids were young, I was busy supporting them. So I could not do all the things that make a child’s life fun. But with the Grandkids? We have a “Legendary Santa” in this town. He has been around for many years, and has the natural whiskers and belly. As such, he is much sought after for the Santa experience. The parents do not have the time (2 hours of waiting) to take the kids to see him. But old Grandpa does! So each year (for the past 4), I gather them up from the parents and take them, in their finest clothes, to see Santa. It is time well spent! And now I have the time, even though my work apparently cannot get by without me for even an hour (tough, the phone is being turned off that morning).

  14. Steve C says:

    Congratulations all round! – and looks like just in time for Christmas. A year to remember!

    Having said which, a warning. It’s my big sister’s birthday tomorrow (19th), and I blush to admit that some of the “Happy-Birthday-And-Christmas” cards she’s had over the years were from me. At least the existence of the cards on a commercial basis means it’s an acknowledged problem …

  15. Glenn999 says:

    Congrats el Chiefio
    Three and counting here…

  16. Alan Poirier says:

    Congratulations. We are awaiting out second. Our oldest grandchild just turned 16. The new one expected in early March. Children are such a blessing. Merry Christmas.

  17. Bennett In Vermont says:

    Congrats Cheifio! I became a grand dad in January. It’s a strange thing indeed, but rather pleasant…

  18. Crashex says:

    Congratulations. I was lucky enough to take that same step month one ago today. It made the Thanksgiving holiday so very special; the best in memory.

    I hope this holiday season is a happy, healthy, joyful experience for you and your family.

  19. terrence says:

    One of my brothers has four or five grandchildren. Awhile ago, he told me that had he known how much fun they were, he would have had THEM first.

  20. Bill S says:

    OK terrence.
    What your brother discovered is that you can buy a grandchild cotton candy, have a great time, and leave the fiddly bits to the parents – – – cackling the whole drive home😀

  21. E.M.Smith says:

    Well, we’re officially “past due” now (by a tiny bit).

    The good news is that I’ve got a laptop set up now ( using Knoppix on an old HP (re)Pentium machine ). So, with luck, I’ll either have news here, or I can spend time typing in a posting or two.

    Last night we had a ‘Grand Grandparents Dinner’ with both sets in attendance along with a couple of family friends. I learned how to make Alfredo sauce from scratch from Her Mom. It is remarkably easy. Pint of half and half in the large cast iron skillet, reduce to about gravy thickness, add cheeses(about 2 cups it looked like fluffy, probably 1 cup before grating), grind pepper, touch of salt is needed (depends on how salty your cheeses might be) about 2 TBS of butter per cup of cream. Slowly stir it all to combine, couple of sprinkles of fresh ground nutmeg on top and you are ready for ‘additions’.

    We added a cup of frozen peas and about 2 cups of cubed cooked chicken and then warmed through. add in cooked noodles and combine in large bowl.

    There was also a ‘spaghetti Lasagna’ – essentially an al forno dish in the way of lasagna, but using spaghetti noodles (with beef and sausage bits in marinara sauce). It has more sauce / meat to noodle ratio as it sticks to more surface area. Quite nice.

    Everyone is hopeful for ‘soon’ and not wanting a birthday on top of Christmas day, but “it will be what it will be” and that’s OK too.

    Next up, I think I’ll work on one of those postings while I wait ;-)

  22. Larry Ledwick says:

    Good to hear the update, I am sure all your regulars are patiently waiting to hear the announcement when things finally get interesting.

  23. Gail Combs says:

    Congratulations E.M.
    A suggestion for the parents.

    Consider a 1/2 birthday celebration to put the child’s birthday celebration into the summer well away from Christmas.

    Also you might like to try an eggplant Lasagna. (I can not eat wheat anymore)
    I make it with hamburg and sausage, lots of different shredded cheese, tomato sauce and the usual Italian spices. (You can leave out the meat if you wish)
    Instead of Lasagna noodles I use sliced eggplant (with or without skin) 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick.
    Place sliced eggplant (I do up three) in bowl, sprinkle with 2 parts KCl to one part NaCl cover with water and soak for a minimum of 2 hours. (I find the combination of salts keeps the blood pressure down- I hate getting old.)

    While waiting I sauté the hamburg, sausage, onions, bell peppers, maybe mushrooms, place in a large sauce pan and combine with a commercial spaghetti sauce. I use one can of no salt tomato paste to thicken the sauce, 1/4 cup wine, oregano, garlic, basil, pepper,also celery seed and Turmeric for their health bennies. (Sauce can be frozen)

    Drain the eggplant slices. Coat both sides of the eggplant with olive oil and bake at 350 for about 15 min. At this point if you wish the eggplant can be frozen for later use or you can freeze any excess.

    I place a layer of eggplant at the bottom of a baking dish, then meat sauce, sprinkle with shredded cheese add dollops of ricotta or sour cream and do the next layer.
    Finish with shredded cheese. Bake until the cheese topping has melted @ 350 ~15 minutes to 1/2 hour depending on thickness.

    I have 1/2 a baking dish of this sitting in the frig. Cut a slice, place in a dish, zot 2 1/2 minutes in the microwave and it makes an instant meal.

  24. Larry Ledwick says:

    Under the open thread notion, what are people’s thoughts on SpaceX successfully landing their primary lift stage back at the launch site?

    First they achieved a first for a full up orbital launch platform which actually put a payload in orbit during the flight.

    Second they for the first time will be able to physically examine a post launch vehicle and see how their predictions matched up with reality.

    Although the economics look good (ie $60 million cost for the vehicle vs $200,000 for the fuel expended for one flight) that ignores the costs to inspect and refurbish the stage.

    Last is since we are plowing new ground here, we have no idea how many launches a refurbished stage can handle before it becomes non-salvageable.
    Never the less interesting shift in economics if they can get even just 2 or 3 lifts out of each primary stage.

  25. E.M.Smith says:

    Yesterday we went to the Star Wars movie. At about 8 PM the final credits ended. “Mom-to-be” stood up and announced that her water was breaking and headed for the restroom…

    Roughly 24 hours later….

    Enter onto the world stage Miles Smith, boy, 8 lbs 12 oz and 21 inches in length.

    (Those who are encumbered by a decimal system that makes it hard for them to compute fractions, my condolences. But since I’ve been awake for about 38 hours now, modulo a couple of cat naps, you will need to cope with unit conversion on your own…)

    So an 8 3/4 lb boy, with long legs and a 21 inch overall length.

    Oh, and blue eyes with what looks to be dark brown hair.

    Now I’m going to change out of my ‘yesterday’ clothes, take a nice hot shower, have a couple of ‘whiskey on the rocks’ and sleep for a day or three…

    Mom and Child doing well, Dad spending the night at her side in the hospital room. “Grandad” taking their dogs for a walk and then sleeping a couple of days ;-)

    FWIW, Miles made eye contact from moment one, seemed quite interested in the world, even as it was an alien place, and likes to have Dad slowly rub his tummy ;-) when unsure about things.

    As of now, I’m an official “Grandpa” ;-)

    We’ll see how I handle it. “Grandma” is floating… I’ll see if I can pull her back to earth sometime late tomorrow.

    If I wake up by then ;-)

  26. Graeme No.3 says:

    Congratulations Grandpa!
    Just under 4 Kg. and 53.3 cm. Don’t try to send by mail as attracts extra charges.
    Just what you wanted for Christmas.
    All I got was a bottle of Hal&Als 72 Virgins Red 13.8% alcohol (the one with the warning that drinking it bars you from the Islamic Paradise. Other Paradises remain open as usual.

  27. p.g.sharrow says:

    @EMSmith; 8 3/4lbs, 21 inches, boy. Sounds like a keeper. Of course it will be 20 years before you will know for sure. Plenty of time to spoil em. Remind Grandma that she is supposed to be helper, not director. First time mothers often need quite a bit of help as they figure things out.
    Long distance grand parenting may prove to be a real problem for everyone…pg

    @Larry Ledwick; Yes! sticking a landing, and where you want it is a BIG deal. It remains to be seen if the machinery might be reusable but this is a start. The people at SpaceX deserve a big Hurrah!..pg

  28. Larry Ledwick says:

    Great News! Glad to hear the Grandpa thing is going well, and good to hear Miles and his Mom are doing well!

  29. larrygeiger says:

    The best phase of family life is just beginning for you and the spouse! I have two boys and six grandchildren, the last one arrived just two weeks ago. Never would have imagined. Have fun. Lots and lots of fun.

  30. Steve C says:

    Welcome to the world, young Miles, and a happy Christmas season to you all.

    Gail Combs’ half-birthday celebration sounds like an excellent idea (vide my comment above on my sister getting “Happy-Birthday-And-Christmas” cards and presents). Good for the Feb 29th crowd, too. Alas, it’s decades too late for my big sis …

  31. beththeserf says:

    Congratulations to the grandfather, oh and parents likewise.
    Now here’s a child with a rich future, grand dad guidance,
    even to use of a slide rule. bts.

  32. philjourdan says:

    Congratulations EM! One of my grandsons is also named Miles. While I had heard the name prior to my grandson being born, I can honestly say I did not know any personally.

  33. E.M.Smith says:

    Take a look at the weathermap. Blizzard as far south as Texas!

    My, but the lad came in with a flourish!

    http://www.nws.noaa.gov/largemap.php

  34. Paul Hanlon says:

    Sorry I’m late to the party. Congratulations. Miles sounds like he’s going to break a lot of young girls’ hearts.

Comments are closed.