Truckers Chapel

Even Truckers need a little God from time to time…

Just a picture I took at a truck stop on the way into Florida. It is right near the Georgia / Florida border on I-95 IIRC, and it might have been a Valero station. It was about 3 A.M. when I stopped for gas, so the data recorder was a bit dodgy ;-) I think it was on the Georgia side by a couple of miles, and on the East side. It’s a regular stop for me when headed south on I-95. As opposed to my more frequent east on I-10 that enters Florida a bit lower and crosses the panhandle. Going that way the trip is lots of California, Texas and Florida, and a few odds and ends… Sometimes I’ll take I-40 in good weather just to cut down how much of the trip is those three states… There’s a giant cross in Texas on I-40. I have pictures of it somewhere too. For later.

So feed, fuel, shower & shave, mini grocery and drug store with some auto parts, WiFi in the cab, and a Chapel. All you need is at the truck stop.

Trucker's Chapel at a truck stop at the Georgia Florida border

Trucker’s Chapel at a truck stop at the Georgia Florida border

Note the refrigeration unit on the right end. They used a refer unit so as to have nice A/C as you really need that in The South in The Summer ;-)

While living in the R.V. (Recreational Vehicle) park / resort in Florida: one winter a large coach arrived. Out came the sign. Catholic Chapel. Yup, a mobile Priest. Just so those snow birds who needed communion would not need to go looking too far… Didn’t get a photo of that one, though. Maybe next time.

It’s called The Bible Belt for a reason…

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Arts, Human Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Truckers Chapel

  1. John F. Hultquist says:

    Here you go:
    Neil Diamond – Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show

  2. E.M.Smith says:

    Ooooh! Perfect!

  3. Larry Ledwick says:

    One of my favorite songs.
    I have also seen one of those up in Wyoming on I80, if I recall correctly it was in Rollins.

  4. Sera says:

    Nice one, John- you beat me to it.

Anything to say?

