Lost Angeles and Me

I have a post card somewhere (do people still do postcards?) that was from an odd place that did “neon” colored cards with quirky sayings on them… so I bought it..

“It really is a simple choice: Life, Death, or L.A.”

That spoke to me. A Lot.

My Dad had a Best Friend who lived in Anaheim. They were “War Buddys” from W.W.II. (“When we finally had the sense to start numbering them”… stolen from someone who’s name I’ve lost..)

I first went to L.A. at about 3? years old. It was before I learned that you are supposed to attribute everything with a time, a date, a person, etc. etc. I slept in the recliner chair (hey, what do you expect a 3 year old to remember?) in their living room. Boyd was the last name… I’ll try to pull up the first names… oh, Winnie was the wife…. later… Jim? Jimmy? Hey it’s been about 60 years now ….

So I clearly remember topping the Grapevine when it was a two lanes one each way road, and we were in a new ’56 Chevy sedan (blue and white), and looking out over the L.A. Basin as a sea of smog… then we descended into it…

In Anaheim we stayed with The Boyd’s. (Spelled right?? You expect the memory of a 3 year old to do spelling?) For a few days, and went to the (then) brand new Disney Land. I liked it a lot. Still remember learning that “E Ticket” meant something… and also we went to Knott’s Berry Farm, that was not as exciting but was still good, then. (Not into the roller coaster thing as now, then). Very Good Fried Chicken! that we waited a long time to get, but the best fried chicken I’ve ever had, including my own…

So at about 3 years old, I started to have ideas about L.A.

My Son went there for University (well, really U.C. Riverside… but…) and I think it changed him, too.

So now I am “bi coastal”. Split between two shores. 1/2 California. 1/2 Florida. Half Anglo, and half Hispanic in culture (for a long historical list of reasons…)

And this song speaks to me, too:

So what’s your choice?

Life, Death, or Los Angeles?

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Arts, Human Interest. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lost Angeles and Me

  1. Jack says:

    Loved my previous life. Feel like the current one is just marking time. You can’t go back because you have already changed, but changed to what.

  2. Bill S says:

    Crazy $hit dude.
    I’ve lived in LA (Redondo Beach) since 1980. Don’t want to stay. Can’t make myself leave. Not sure if that ties in with this theme or not. I’m thinking “Hotel California” instead of Neil Diamond. That counts for the “or LA” part.
    Meanwhile, I caught cancer last year and the idea of moving somewhere remote where I can set up an observatory is fading fast. Should take years to kill me but I’ll still say that covers the “Death” part. – – – So let’s buy a Pi 3 and try the computer stuff again as a means to have a life before I retire.
    Then you and the Arch Linux ARM website both imply I’m in over my head with arch Linux. But Raspbian took all of 10 minutes to get up and running. I need a better challenge than that. So I’ll say I’m working on the “Live” part.
    Thanks for the jolt.

  3. omanuel says:

    Don’t forget to get tickets for the Climate Hustle movie on MONDAY, May 2, 2016:

    http://www.climatehustlemovie.com

  4. E.M.Smith says:

    @Jack:

    To what? The new you… Embrace it and move on…

    @O.Manuel:

    I have a desire to see the movie, but need to find the local venue..

    @Bill S:

    Beat of luck with the Big C thing. But it really is a 3 way choice…. Live while you can, die when you must, endure when it is the only choice…

  5. John F. Hultquist says:

    From the hills of western Pennsylvania, I made it to the Bay Area in 1963 via the Erie Lackawanna RR in PA and Santa Fe Chief out of Chicago. Then my first ever flight was from San Jose to LA. My sister and I did Disney Land and Knott’s Berry Farm.
    I do remember walking in Hollywood and going into a restaurant to get out of the smog. We also took in a night game at Chaves Ravine (Dodger Stadium) – just over a year old. The Pirates were playing.
    I don’t remember much (age 15) but the experience has kept me away from LA.

Anything to say?

