And The Lion Roared Again…

This is a paraphrase from memory so might be a bit off…

On the Business News was an interview with Nigel. He was asked something like how they were going to keep London as the Financial Capital of Europe and would Brexit be more painful than expected… His answer?

“London is not the Financial Capital of Europe, London is The Financial Capital of the World!

Thus shall it ever be… Hail Britannia…

At least some still know the value of being audacious and taking the world stage in grand style ;-)

To Nigel, and The United Kingdom!

At the moment, I am hoisting a Pint (a proper English pint made in the U.K., not those dodgy dinky American ones ;-) of Samuel Smith’s Pure Organic Lager. Shortly it will be followed by Samuel Smith’s Ale, and then the India Pale Ale, and then… well, we’ll see if I get that far! ;-) Why Samuel Smith’s? Well, it’s good, and available here, and he is a Smith ;-)

Being served at a nice “cool room temperature” of about 50 F (none of that flavor killing 32.0005 F American temperature…) in a nice 24 oz crystal mug emblazoned with “Pilsner Urquell” (it’s about time the E.U. was used to lift up the U.K… instead of the other way round).

To Nigel!

And once again the Lion wakes and roars…

Irrelevant footnote:

(For the first time in 40 years I’m tempted to dig Mum’s passport out of the files, march down to the embassy, and apply for my British Citizenship… 40 years back I started to do it, and was told “only Dad would do”. Sometime in between they changed to law to allow “Mum Too”, but by then the Satrapy U.K. was in full flow and “why bother”. But now, well, perhaps once the FBE Former British Empire members of Canada, New Zealand, Australia, and USA get some free trade set up, it might be nice to spend some of my time, and money, back in England… half my family is there and I’ve not visited in 30? years. I need to find a way to be part of this. While cheering from the sidelines is fun and all, it is “time to be among them”… and I’m stuck here in California. I know, no sympathy for that, eh? ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Political Current Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to And The Lion Roared Again…

  1. philjourdan says:

    Damn, The Germans are right! English and their lau warm bier! It is not only the crazy colonist that like it at 32.005 degrees. The Germans want it cold as well.

    So I will hoist my cold tankard of Henniger or Binding to the English. But unless it is a thick Guiness stout, I will not hoist any luke warm one! ;-)

  2. philjourdan says:

    Please check spam bucket for my previous post. I have to head to the local tavern for my first cold one of the day.

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    My God Man! Only one minute time stamp difference? That “in a hurry” to hit the pub?!

    I’ve checked spam. nothing there, so I presume you are “faster than a computer”!!

    A tankard of Smith’s Ale hoisted in your direction, sir!

  4. philjourdan says:

    Sorry EM – I posted and it did not show up. So I requested and then it did show up!

    And yes I am in a hurry, I am 20 minutes late already for a tankard! I will have one in your honor as well. Prosit!

  5. Adrian Camp says:

    You’d be lucky to find a warm beer in England today. It really only works for a bitter and most of the English drink Lager/Pilsener now. I’m quite partial to Urquell myself. The US had changed too, craft beer everywhere, no need to drink Busch product at all. I try to stick to Texas beer while I’m here.

  6. Jack says:

    Nigel gave them both barrels at the EU afterwards and they did not like it one bit, although some gave him a standing ovation.

  7. Ralph B says:

    I was surprised to see Londoners drinking (gasp) Budweiser. I was drinking the local brew and these guys were drinking Bud. Not just once either, each visit over the last 12 years I have witnessed it.
    Now that they are out I wonder if they will be able to serve fish and chips in newsprint again?

  8. p.g.sharrow says:

    Any beer that must be drunk COLD to be palatable ain’t good beer!

    Many years ago I was at a party and was handed a warm Budweiser :-( it was HOT and I was DRY! so I drank it………………..Ug!…………….. Made me so sick that it took 2 years before I could get the thought of it out of my Brain and could attempt to enjoy a real beer. No permanent damage, but my mates at the pub thought I was on the wagon. Two years of nearly every night drinking sodawater or coffee only. Then 1 night P.G. said “I feel like a Beer!” a Spatten!’ The guys said are you sure? You have been on the wagon for over 2 years. I says ” Wagon hell, I just couldn’t stand the smell of the stuff!”. Thank god that the thought was finally gone. Few things are as enjoyable as a good beer…pg

  9. p.g.sharrow says:

    Nigel was impressive! 8-) Told them off with real Class. HT to the Gentleman. ;-)…pg

  10. Bill S says:

    I’ll give you that it was a sad day when Watney’s Red Label went down. And the damned Australians won’t export Tooheys old. So its mostly California wine for me.

  11. Larry Ledwick says:

    Well that explains why I never learned to like beer, drinking warm in the tropics – olympia, coors and budwiser when I was in Guam with the Navy put me off it and I simply have no interest in drinking beer.

  12. Bill S says:

    Warm Budweiser is only useful for beer can chicken. At least that is what I’ve been told it can be used for.

  13. R. de Haan says:

    Increddible, I had the same idea.

  14. Another Ian says:

    Different strokes for different folks

    There is a story I’ve heard about meeting Southwark beer (Oz, South Australian) in the Birdsville pub for the first time after a long trip on a very hot summer day. And giving up after about two stubbies (375 mm).

    To have it later explained that, yes, Southwark was the worst beer in Oz cold but the best when hot was the only option as in an area with limited access to refrigeration.

    I’ve also heard that Victorian Bitter now has that role in similar areas here.

    From comments I’m reminded of that “complete the ad in Mad Magazine fashion” one of Coors

    “Coors Beer. Brewed with Rocky Mountain spring water. Lots of it”.

    And this one on the use of water in industry from I.G. Simmons’s _The ecology of natural resources”

    “Even a gallon (4.5 litres) of beer uses 350 gal (1590 litres) of water, much of which appears to remain in the product”

  15. Another Ian says:

    Back to Brexit

    Don’t forget that Waterloo was also “a near run thing” in the words of the Duke of Wellington IIRC

    and

    http://pickeringpost.com/story/cripes-that-was-close-/6157

  16. p.g.sharrow says:

    @Bill S; Warm old Bud does make a good fly attractant. On the hog ranch we would pour it over the flybait in the bait station. Little buggers would crawl down through 3 inches of dead fly bodies to get at the poison swill below. 8-)…pg

  17. Steve C says:

    Aye, Sam Smith used to make a decent pint. I’d be surprised (haven’t checked) if his heirs and assigns still run the firm, but from the sound of it his name has at worst been bought by one of the conglomerates which have the wit to realise that it’s the making that makes the beer, and the beer that makes the name, and who don’t fork it up.

    If you do take a sojourn over here, try to plan ahead and find a micro-brewery who will show interested visitors around their brewery. It’s great to see those yeasty processes working on a grander scale, and the samples you can expect at the end of the tour will leave you wondering about the prospects of starting your own micro-brewery. And take the bus, don’t drive …;-D

  18. John Silver says:

    Ralph, maybe it wasn’t amurrican bud but original Czech bud.
    It’s a bit confusing:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Budweiser_Budvar_Brewery

  19. E.M.Smith says:

    Well, I made it down the list through IPA to Samuel Smith’s Imperial Ale. Somewhere in there I tried a beer from india. Flying Horse. Beer reviewers find it thin
    http://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/91/1673/

    To me, it’s a little better than American thin beers… and would go very well with Indian food. For me, most good beer doesn’t go well with food, but watery beers do. (Good beer ought to be drunk unadorned with grease and spices… on a clean pallet, not as pallet cleaning fluid 8-)

    I’m now having morning coffee and catching up to the world. Looks like £ & FTSE both rising nicely, right on schedule as the panic sellers run out of stock..

  20. philjourdan says:

    @p.g. – Water tastes fine at room temperature, but it tastes a lot better COLD. It is not a requirement. It is a preference. To get the best enjoyment from the brew.

  21. philjourdan says:

    @John Silver – Had Czech Budweister in Germany. It was a very good brew!

  22. Frank Mosher says:

    Bill S. I did the beer can chicken a couple of times. Well, actually my wife did. I didn’t see the big deal. Maybe should have used a GOOD beer, but we both hate to waste good beer cooking. Cheers

  23. Just on the BBC news is that the FTSE has risen above pre-Brexit levels. A short-lived storm…. Still, the uncertainty will depress business for a while – why the UK should move quickly on a new PM and start the negotiations as soon as possible. With the lower pound, either WTO tariffs or a tariff-free system (like Hong Kong) would settle things reasonably.

    It seems any time there’s political uncertainty there’s a positive feedback tending to make it worse. Rumours of a bank run can cause one. Getting any deal sorted is thus better than sitting back and waiting until the Conservative Party Conference chooses a new leader.

    On another subject, I’ve become rather fond of Leffe Blonde. It’s got a lot of body and somewhat high in alcohol, so not one to quench thirst with (there are cheap beers for that) and is good at room temperature or slightly below. I also have an ex-brother-in-law who works in the Paulaner brewery in Germany, who brings a crate with him when he visits. That’s really nice too, but I can’t get it here.

  24. Adam Gallon says:

    As a freeborn Englishman, I confer upon thee the title of Honorary Englishman.
    I recommend Old Peculiar as a pint of choice.
    With a nice chunk of Cheddar Cheese & a side order of Branston’s Pickles.

  25. Steven Fraser says:

    And, perhaps a Boddingtons?

  26. Adam – Old Peculiar is well-named, and a whole pint of it (they sell it in pints?!) makes the leg-bones turn to a rubbery consistency. A very nice beer, but best drunk at home where you only have to crawl a short distance to bed.

    Also worth mentioning that EM has a very English sense of humour. That makes him a cousin if not closer.

  27. Another Ian says:

    Simon

    In action like that bloody scrumpy then?

  28. Bill S says:

    Frank,
    I don’t do beer can chicken. I bought the correct wood chunks from Hawaii so that I could do reasonably authentic Huli Huli chicken. Mesquite works in a pinch. And a Weber kettle of course.

  29. Another Ian – much like scrumpy without the need to run to the toilets the next day (and wondering whether to risk running or just walk fast and carefully)…. When I lived in the Forest of Dean there was a scrumpy named “Old Rosie” which was pretty interesting, but there were tales of one called “Stunnem” where just one pint left seasoned drinkers collapsed. It seems it was fortified with French Marc (brandy brewed from the used skins and pulp of grapes) and it was later banned as being just too strong. From the tales it must have been at least at wine strength.

  30. Another Ian says:

    Simon

    In gliding there id the Macready ring setting

    In the above case founds like the setting was full pucker

    The scrumpy meeting was in that scrumpy only for about 400 years place in Bristol

  31. p.g.sharrow says:

    You guys keep reminding me that the most important consumable liquid is the one that I have not yet made. I guess I will have to attempt that trick this year. How hard can it be? people have been making beer for thousands of years with very crude tools. I make wine, brandies and whiskey, have all the tools needed. And prefer beer as the drink of choice. Emmm……… wonder just how long I can procrastinate. Biggest problem I can see is the swarm of “friends” that show up when they hear that PG is making booze! At least now I have a Fort Knox like warehouse/cellar to store it in. But the walkin cooler is not yet done. Maybe one of the refrigerators will serve for now. Just move it into the warehouse. Maybe while I’m resting, after harvest, this winter, when I have caught up , etc….pg

  32. E.M.Smith says:

    @Adam Gallon:

    I am most appreciative of the appointment!

    At present, I’ve not collected my British papers, but by law I qualify. By temperament too, I think…

    @P.G.:

    It isn’t hard to do. Start with canned malt. Just put it in your fermenter like juice. You can skip the whole boiling and making wort that way (about 3/4 of the work).

    These folks have malt far cheaper than the local store. About $3/ lb in larger batches.
    https://www.morebeer.com/category/liquid-malt-extract.html

    Let ferment for a week until still and bottle with 1 tsp added sugar / 16 to 24 oz bottle. I’m pretty good at catching the bottling time just as the right sugar remains (about 6 days ferment, one day after the rapid phase ends, slightly sweet overtones to beer flavor) and skipping the added sugar. You risk too flat or too gassy that way, but I’ve got 8 gallons in bottles and 6 already consumed from about 5 batches with no failures and no exploded bottles. Best is to use your density measuring “gravety” values, but I’m lazy :-)

    Eventually move up to making mash with grain malt and hops by boiling it all and cooling. Not that hard, really.

    The biggest issue is just what style and flavor. Most folks start with too stong a flavor and think they failed. The other thing is to only make lager when it can be kept at 40 to 50 F, and in warm weather make ale. Ale yeast stops working at 50ish F, while lager yeast works best colder.

    Bottling is easy with a funnel and capper.

    Once I made about 4 gallons of lager in a plastic water jug (with spigot) in the fridge letting it lager on the yeast. It was only lightly cabonated due to the plastic can being limited in pressure capacity, but after a few weeks it was a nice drink. At a couple of months and 3/4 gone it was starting to oxidize and the yeast was adding autolysis flavors, so the last bit got dumped. Still it proved the ability to use a water cooler jug as brewery…

    Really, IMHO, it is easier than yogurt or brandy.

  33. E.M.Smith says:

    @All:

    So many beer ideas, so little time :-)

    IMHO, beer styles often match the local climate. Remember beer was created before refrigeration. Thus nordic and German lagers better cool, England not as frozen, so the cool room temp was about 50 F. While northern central American plains were nearly frozen other than mid summer and even then they had lake ice, so served at near ice temps.

  34. Another Ian says:

    E.M.

    I think the UK was based on cellar temperature.

  35. Gail Combs says:

    Beer — YUCK!
    Now English cider YUMMMmmm. The only time I have ever been tipsy is from a large mug of English cider drunk after a long caving trip and no food for 18 hours.

    If you have not seen the Lion roaring a couple of Utubes are/were up at The Last Refuge. With luck they still work. (I have to use hubby’s computer to see videos.)

    https://theconservativetreehouse.com/2016/06/28/epic-nigel-farage-speaks-to-european-parliament-today-youre-not-laughing-now-are-you/

  36. E.M.Smith says:

    @Gail:

    I find I’m making 2 x the cider per batch of beer. I roughly double the proof with sugar and find it “high risk” (couple of meanings there ;-) as I can rapidly swill beyond my means… beer is bitter enough to slow me down, cider is like honey on a stick… hard to stop and rapidly gone…

Anything to say?

