O.T.R.A.- Again…

I’m going to be On The Road Again, again, for the next couple of weeks.

Nothing interesting, really, I have to run off and fetch some of my “stuff” from where I left it 1/2 a year ago (including the Banana Boat – yellow 1979 Mercedes wagon…) so things will be “sporadic”.

I’m taking a laptop and a Pi with me, but likely will not be able to do much tech work (so don’t expect to get “Pi Running FOOnix” postings! ;-0 but supposedly there’s WiFi all along the way). Though when driving WiFi isn’t very helpful as you can’t type ;-)

I’ve got way too much stuff ‘backing up’ to do / post / buy / sell / AARRHHHggg!’ and I’m just taking a dive into the deep end and we’ll see what gets wiped off the list…

In the mean time, enjoy your holiday preparations as I make a mad dash… (The family is quite happy that they get to stay home and tend the tree ;-) I do hope to ‘stay connected’ and get some stuff done, but who knows what the road will bring…

As a minor talking point: I’m going Grey Mutt…

I’d picked out a nice $190 or so flight, and then in a day it was gone and anything where the schedule worked was about $450+ and rising (most over $600). Turns out by spending a couple of days on the dog (supposedly with WiFi on board) at $230 or so, I get to my destination faster than if I push the flight out to get an “only” $300 fare… So both cheaper and faster to ride the dog than fly, for my budget. Sigh. (Why we don’t have maglev trains or even just 60 mph Disney Monorail coast to coast and Canada to Mexico for 1/2 that is an interesting question… they can be placed down the median of existing freeways so right of way isn’t the thing, and they are way more efficient using electricity, so fuel isn’t the issue… so I’m suspecting something about Government Union Labor that’s the issue… BTW, Bay Area Rapid Transit BART runs electric trains down the freeway median from SFO / Oakland all the way out to Livermore, so this isn’t a theoretical…)

Well, it’s been a good 40 years since I last road a Greyhound bus (local route… stopped at every single dustbunny from Sacramento to Oregon… averaged about 28 MPH…) this is supposedly an ‘express’ so faster. Schedule says it’s about 15 hours longer than when I drive it and don’t bother to sleep… or about 15 faster than if I take a hotel a couple of nights… I’m also not sure if sleeping in the bus seats is really going to work out well, but, well, I’m committed now.

Oh, and I have something like 4? transfers to other buses… L.A., Dallas, Houston, Mobile (and maybe something in Louisiana… I need to read the ticket again ;-) so at various times, some in the dead of night, I need to not end up riding the same bus I’m on to Chicago ;-)

Then, after a couple of days R&R in Orlando, I’m back in the Banana Boat bringing it back to the only mechanic who truly understands her… Seems nobody in Orlando works on anything older than about 2000, and a 1979 European Model with Points and Carburetor just makes them glaze and gurgle… She’ll enjoy the time in the dry of California… and I hope to get the A/C working before a return trip to Florida… “We’ll see” when the estimate of repairs comes in…

Ah, the joys of being “bi coastal”…

So, with that, behave yourselves, and talk about what interests you, knowing that if you end up in “moderation” it might take me a day or three to get the laptop or tablet charged, find WiFi, connect and process the backlog… With luck, I’ll be “up” 24 x 3 as the WiFi on board is just great and wonderful… in reality I doubt there is much WiFi available near Van Horn Texas (Next gas 237 miles…) in the middle of the desert…

“Let the adventure begin”, or “This life is NOT a dress rehearsal, take BIG bites!” (Heard from someone long long ago and no idea where it originated…)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to O.T.R.A.- Again…

  1. Larry Ledwick says:

    Safe travels, rode a Grey Hound down to Texas about 15 years ago to help a friend move back up here by driving her rental truck. It was an interesting trip and a good wake up call regarding what the folks on the low end of the income spectrum see daily. Everyone should take a long haul bus every few decades just to stay grounded with the little people.

    I will wait patiently to hear your “stories of the road” when you can.

  2. Larry Ledwick says:

    Oh I made the decision to board the bus with a well stocked sack lunch – it was a good move.

  3. H.R. says:

    I bought a Continental Trailways bus pass back in 1972 for $100. It allowed unlimited travel in the US for 30 (60?) days. Back when, the seats reclined and were roomy and comfortable. Meals and drinks were included, served by an on-board hostess who also gave out pillows at dark or whenever you wanted to snooze. Breakfast was always a hot meal when they stopped in the morning at a terminal to change drivers.

    I crossed the country 3 times, made some side trips, and really enjoyed the ride. The scenery was outstanding and because many others had taken advantage of the promotion, I got to visit with people whom I’d met on other legs that we’d traveled together. That was really cool.

    Good memories. I hope the express rides are still decent, E.M.

  4. Ralph B says:

    Bring some shower shoes and soap on a rope if you intend to use the bus stop showers…

    Maybe you can do another meet and greet? I missed the last one

  5. Gail Combs says:

    Good luck and do bring eatables with you.

    We are lucky to have found a mechanic who can deal with my fleet of old trucks. Of course in redneck country there are a heck of a lot of old trucks around. I keep getting offers for my old 1992 deer-slayer Diesel dodge.

  6. Zeke says:

    I used Greyhound to make a 4,000 mile round trip a few years ago. Absolutely nothing went on the credit card, and I am still smiling about that!

    Interesting people and plenty of time to read and listen to mp3 presentations and sermons. Have a nice trip, EM.

  7. Here’s hoping the weather doesn’t become an issue for either leg of your trip. Safe travels E.M. and thank you for another year of interesting reading!

  8. philjourdan says:

    I don’t know about the “not typing when driving”. I have seen many people do it!

    I prefer, however, to NOT be on the road when they are doing it! ;-)

    It has been a long time since Greyhound for me as well. I do not plan on partaking again!

  9. Nick Perrin. says:

    Hi, from UK, Yes I have something to say. Your efforts with the Pi are way beyond me – but I am learning from you.
    Have a good journey and a good xmas and new year. I look forwrd to reading of more of your hard work in the New Year.
    Thanks from
    OldNick.

  10. E.M.Smith says:

    Well, after a long night, I’m in L.A.

    Having been “hungry on a bus” a couple of years back (when I bought a train ticket and found out that meant 1/3 bus…) I brought a sack with 4 pounds “dry food”. Enough for 3 days then some. One wheel of laughing cow cheese wedges and a chunk of salami slices down… chased by desert of 1/2 handfull peanut M&Ms. 2 water bottles in side pouches on the travel pack. Also along, some turkey jerky and trail mix,

    In the stations, bottled water is $2.25 a candy bar $1.25 to $1.75, and a small bag of chips $1.75 which I think is crazy The L.A. station has a hot meal snackbar. I got a 20 oz coffee for $2.29 and was able to drink half of it before giving up. Bitter and thin from too much water leaching not enough beans.

    London Fog coat and hat were a good move as some stations not heated at night.

    Seats are ok, but the Amtrak bus seats were much more comfy. These are like discount airline seats but stiffer. Not really sleepable, so I’ll be dozing coast to coast.

    Meeting lots of interesting and nice folks, you get to talk more during hours long stints.. about 1/2 Spanish speakers so far. I’m ejoying tossing in occasional Spanish bits and watching the reactions :-)

    No tray table, so using computer is hard, but electric outlets at each seat.

    It’s an interesting mix of folks scaping by on the fringes, and folks with other reasons. One guy traveling with a mid sized dog (not a service animal), a mom with 2 small kids where 3 plane tickets would likely price them out. Spent the evening with a 20 something Chika sometimes using my shoulder for a pillow (glad I didn’t sit next to the big hairy guy:-) who likely makes min wage but has aspirations, with minimal English. Everybody “we’re all in this together” and far more patient / polite than in airports an planes. No push and jostle boarding or getting off.

    Put actually comfortable sleeper seats in it, I’d be happy to do this. With a somewhat numb unhappy bum after 15% of the trip, I’m marking Greyhound as shorthaul only in the future. call it 400 miles.

    Just starting my first daylight segment, so scenery reports will await my escape from LaLaLand…

  11. E.M.Smith says:

    Oh, one funny bit, the Cantina had dual languge menues, even for the “Mexican Dinner Plates”. Enchilada Enchilada, burrito burrito, chile con carne, chile con carne. Welcome to California….

  12. Power Grab says:

    Tell some stories about when you throw in the Spanish bits and watch the reactions.

    Por favor…

  13. E.M.Smith says:

    La chica, on waking in L.A., in difficult English asked “The city, this, the center? ” I answered “Esto es el centro del ciudad. El centro de Los Angeles” She looked a bit surprise at old blue eyes speaking Spanish, then smiled happy thankful, then a moment of concerern as she thought back over her phone calls during the night :-)

    Ended with a smile…

    In the waiting roon in San Jose, surrounded by Spanish speakers. One, 67 year old half jewish so he said, the rest “indian” and he looked it, liked to talk and went on for an hour or so in English, me chipping in some times. Accross from us, 3 thirty or 40 something males looking a bit uncomfortable, mix of resentment sometimes and maybe embarrassment, the odd grimmace glare hiding under polite passive. At one point, the topic of Spanish came up, I talked about the Mexican kid I grew up with, then slid into “Yo hablo un pequito de Espanol, pero you no hablo como un nativo..” fast and smooth… Looking over, I saw a toothy smile and relaxing postures… I wasn’t an old Patron , I was a fellow traveler….

  14. E.M.Smith says:

    It is darned cold in Van Horn Texas. Something is flowing down from Canada and it isn’t Global Warming. I’m rethinking my return route as this cold here implies worse on I-40. Driver says snow and ice in Dallas.

  15. Larry Ledwick says:

    Yeah don’t go north east of the Rockies right now, it was 4.9 deg here early this morning. A big tongue of cold air slide out over the plains over the last couple days.

  16. H.R. says:

    Well, EM. I’m thinking that we might not hear from you until you hit your destination and then it’ll be quieter yet until you return. Unless you get hung up in Florida, it won’t seem like much time has elapsed any more than when you go down the rabbit hole for a while when chasing some IT shiny thing.

    Ralph B (above) asked about a meet ‘n greet., but I checked the weather and possible routes and it looks like you’ll have to stick to the southern route unless the cold bulge moves more to the east before you leave. Since I retired this year, I was thinking i could make a two-day trip for a meet ‘n greet, if you took one of the northern routes, but I don’t see that happening on this trip of yours.

    Just to make you regret it (in case you were a sandwich short on the bus) I made a cream of cock-a-leeky soup for dinner. Loads of leaks, potatoes, chicken, and bacon in a (real) cream-based soup. Now that’s comfort food. OK, OK, forget I mentioned that: unfair since you were on a bus and can’t counter that soup ;o)

    I do hope you managed to adapt to whatever comfort Greyhound – in their cost cutting haste – has neglected to remove from their seats and have arrived at your destination in only a tired state and not in full travel-zombie mode.

    When you next check in, you’ll see that the usual suspects have been busy (“Here’s your winnings”, Larry, Gail, phil, G.C., Ian and another Ian, Jeff, et. al.)

    Best wishes for safe journeys.

  17. Gail Combs says:

    H.R., Last night was a nice Cream of Old Goat soup. 4 days marinated in wine and lemon juice, slow cook for 8 hrs in a crockpot then add celery, onions, parsnips, mushrooms and for final hour spices and a 1/2 container of sour cream.

  18. E.M.Smith says:

    Well, GreyMutt put me on a bus with nicer seats for the Dallas to Houston run, but could not get me here in time for my connection (about 2 hours late…) so now I’m sitting on a heavy wire bench, waiting on a possible standby slot at 4 AM…

    You will hear from me from time to time, but typing on a tablet in a rocking bus doesn’t cut it, so mostly if there are terminal stops. While woring on a plane is annoying, it is impossible on the bus. Similarly, my dreams of sleeping on the bus (as opposed to when driving) are dashed. Sleeping while your butt is sore and your head has no support doesn’t work. From station to coach, all seems designed to discourage sleep… so I’m getting 1/2 hour naps and “twilight nodding” and not much more.

    Clearly zero advantage over driving, and a partially loaded car beats it by a mile for sleeping on a quiet soft back seat…
    At this point, I’m planning “use bus for 2 hours max” as a future guidline.

    On the plus side, meeting a lot of interesting people. Spent a day seated next to a 20 somethng? Girl from Cameroon on a humanitarian refugee “parole” (that’s what the paper she showed border patrol at the I-10 inspection station said). Going to stay with an aunt in Boston. Got to watch her see her first snow and deciduous trees :-) Also figured out she had no money or food, so gave her 2 pounds of “stuff”. Trail mix, cheese, bananas,… so she won’t be hungry the rest of the trip. The stoic nature of the truly poor is remarable. Wasn’t saying a thing but didn’t get off at food stops either… after some conversation, I figured it out… Rewarded with many delightful smiles ;-) She was intrigued by peanut M&Ms (she had eaten a handfull of trail mix by first selecting all the peanuts, then eating all the raisins, then… I had her just try the mix, and watched the surprise… it would seem “food mixing” as a concept depends on having lots of foods to mix…)

    Then there was the slightly older woman (maybe 30?) with child who entrusted me to watch her infant daughter while she dashed into the stations… dumping used diapers, washing up, getting food, just having a moment to herself. Sat in front of me for about 24 hours (LA or Phoenix to Dallas…) Guess I had the trustable grandfather look ;-) and mugged at the kid while playing peek-a-boo with the seat for a few hours :-)

    Folks finding ways to make the intolerable inevitable, livable. ?.

  19. E.M.Smith says:

    Oh about that “border” patrol… In the middle of West Texas a long long way from the border, all vehicles on I-10 get stopped and they ask you questions. “Are you a US Citizen?” “Where are you going” etc. Looking for folks running drugs or illegals.

    Officer in that dark green semi-military nylon jacket uniform look, gun on hip, asks stereotypically slavic looking guy with accent where he is from. Apprehensive looking guy responds “Georgia”..

    Of: ” What country are you from?”
    Guy “Georgia”.
    Of: “What country ?
    Guy:”Georgia”
    Of.:”The country of Georgia?” (With slight puzzlement)
    Guy:”Yes, country of Georgia”

    They went off to fetch his papers from checked baggage and he returned shortly, smiling. I suspect the officer learned some geography ;-)

  20. Larry Ledwick says:

    Hey there E.M. I was figuring you would be somewhere near Baton Rouge by now, forgot about some of those bus food stops. I agree on the sleeping while riding in a bus seat thing, it is possible but not particularly restful. One of those little neck pillows helps a lot if the seat is the kind with a tall head rest but no neck support. My trip from Denver down to Dallas on a bus was almost completely sleep free just some short cat naps.

    The people you meet on a bus as you say are often folks who cannot afford to travel any other way and are cutting the slimmest possible budget margin. I agree with the degree of patience you see is very different from what you find in airports and other more luxurious travel accommodations.

    Story about Georgia is good for a chuckle, I assume both learned something the traveler learned to use the qualifier “country” when he says Georgia – wonder if he was aware we have a state by that name.

    Take care see you next time you pop on line.

  21. Jeff says:

    I wonder if he went to the Georgian Technical University? http://gtu.ge/Eng/

    Then he could have sung

    I’m a Ramblin’ Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer
    A helluva’, helluva helluva helluva helluva engineer
    Like all the jolly good fellows I drink my whiskey clear
    I’m a Ramblin’ Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer

    Oh, if I had a daughter sir, I’d dress her in white and gold
    And put her on the campus, sir, to cheer on the brave and bold
    And if I had a son, sir, I’d tell you what he’d do
    He would yell “To Hell With georgia” like his daddy used to do

    Oh, I wish I had a barrel of rum and sugar three thousand pounds
    A college bell to put it in and a clapper to stir it around
    I’d drink to all the good fellows who come from far and near
    I’m a ramblin’ gamblin’ hell of an engineer! Hey!

    I suspect they drink vodka
    there, rather than Whiskey, but with the cold they’re getting maybe everclear would be best.

    As far as the Russian cold goes :), the Moscow Ballet is stranded right now in Casper Wyoming,
    because their busses won’t start (it’s -31°C there [-23.8°F]). Seems it’s even colder there than in
    their home, where it’s a (relatively) sweltering -18°C [0.4°F]. Ahhh, Diesel. At least the older
    Mercedes’ let you put a little gas in them to help in the cold, and could burn just about anything,
    including used vegetable oil (my nephew’s car here would smell like French Fries when he drove by…). Hope your trip goes well inspite of the dogged “Murphy” weather!

  22. Jeff says:

    Arrrrrgh. Format. Sorry!

  23. Gail Combs says:

    Jeff, when I lived in New Hampshire I got my GERMAN VW diesel started at -40F with no problem.
    #1. Extension cord out the window to battery charger. (Batteries do not like really cold weather.)
    #2. 2nd Extension cord out the window to block heater.
    #3. Five gallons of diesel sitting in warm bathroom over night pour into tank before starting. (Winter Diesel prep in tank.)

    She started right off on the first try. I then spent a 1/2 hour jump starting all my neighbors gas cars.

  24. Zeke says:

    We study the states as a part of homeschooling and usually finish by looking at their constitutions. I told my son to look up Georgia’s constitution and read us the preamble. I listened with mounting concern as he read, panicking inwardly at the mention of creating a social state. When he said “human rights” I stood bolt upright and asked him what the heck he was reading. I had forgotten about Georgia. It can happen to anyone!

    You were meant to be there for the ladies you met cheif. Our lives need interruptions like greyhound sometimes. But I did buy a huge, fuzzy sponge for a pillow on the trip and use a throw blanket. I almost told you they miss arrival times but I was hoping that would not happen.

  25. philjourdan says:

    @Larry – Re: tongue of cold.

    Yes, but the midwest knows how to handle it. Texas does not.

  26. E.M.Smith says:

    The old 240 D Mercedes says mix up to 25% regular in winter, but last I tried that, the California high alcohol gas didn’t want to start. The turbo 300D says to mix up to 50% kerosene and loves it (if pricy). One skiingtrip inthe 300TD, fueled in the vally, parked on the mountain. 5 AM and near below, would not start. LOTS of repeated glow plug cycles to warm the chamber, some small shot of ether up the snout, it started to chuff about every 5th cylindar (likely the same one). Repeat, 2 chuffing and the warm starts to build. Repeat… just as it is getting slower, they all start catching one after the other over what seems like a minute of cranking while chuffing, then it starts to purrr… stopped at the hardware store, dumped in a gallon of lamp oil, and went skiing about 10 miles later at the resort.. Apres skii it started right up… filled on local #1Diesel on the way back to the hotel…

    Knew a guy who traveled with a blow dryer. Cold no start? A kW of hot air down the throat and he claimed it always started…

  27. Ralph B says:

    That’s kind of like the old heavy oil hot bulb engine. Buda diesels have a way to start by heating the intake with a torch. My Cummins 4bt takes a couple extra turns to start but will still fire. Best engine I have ever owned. No problems of course here in SW Florida. It was bitterly cold here today…only 62

  28. Gail, you’re my kind of person. I’m all in with the neck support suggestions, but having spent two years driving graveyard in a day cab, I was forced to learn to sleep sitting up. Now that I no longer drive, it’s a problem late at night while reading. We’re remarkable creatures.

    Happy holidays and Merry Christmas to E.M and all the readers of our Chief.

  29. John F. Hultquist says:

    Then there is the story of a traveler trying to book a flight via telephone — wanted to go to “Maconga.”
    The airline rep did finally book the person to Macon, GA.
    ————-
    The part of WA State next to Idaho seems to be witnessing dueling weather systems. Cold from the middle of North America (Northeast wind) pushes westward and meets warmer moister air from the Pacific Ocean pushing east. Every once in awhile the meeting place shifts and we either get much colder or much snowier. For the next few days the West Wind (Mudjekeewis) wins (so the NWS thinks) and then on Monday evening things change. Looking for 2°F next Tuesday morning.

  30. G. Combs says:

    Ralph B,
    After I sold my VW I bought two Cummins engines surrounded by Dodges. A 1992 – 3/4 ton and a 1993 -dually. We lived in NH/MA and never had a problem with either starting. Those engines are real sweethearts.

    Right now we are in NC and it is 20 °F. BRRRrrrrr

  31. E.M.Smith says:

    it is now near midnight. I made it in about 5 am, bed about 7, awake again 2:30 pm or so…

    I’m showered, laundry done, and almost human again.

    I can now setup the laptop and try posting…

    FWIW, while the bus was a facinating life experience, it is grueling coast to coast… details later.

  32. Terry Jackson says:

    “I can now setup the laptop and try pisting…”
    Nice new word, rather sums up your experience on this trip. But you made it to the destination, so there is that.

  33. Larry Ledwick says:

    Nice to see you are at your east coast base and catching up on the rest. Looking forward to hearing the details of the adventure.

  34. E.M.Smith says:

    @Terry:

    Typo fixed… but I’ve left your observation as original…

    I did set it up, and had a rather large comment typed, that got lost when it couldn’t find the network (while status showed it live) and the battery started squawking running empty. Seems the wall power to battery has a sporadic open circuit at some point… so debug power brick is on the list.. why my next laptop will be a pi in case thing of some kind… need to find a nice thin hdmi TV that runs on battery, a bluetooth kb and trackpad and trivial integrating…

    I’m just fed up with proprietary crap that can’t be fixed in the field. I wouldn’t have this one but for the spouse being done with it (she is now all Mac).

    Oh Well.

    On the bus, they tried to force an advert for Greyhound hotel reservations into everything, that tended to break SSL secure links to embedded videos and such as they were seen as a MITM Man In The Middle attack. I was really missing my Pi filter and DNS device. That was where the idea hatched. 2 x Pi boards in one skin. One is your private router / fw / services, the other the human interface and workstation. Xterm to configure or login to your router.

    Now I can have all my custom services, a clean desktop, a safe firewalled environment, and block all the crap. key is to find a nice keyboard in case with hdmi screen, then package it (likely crafted wood after initial bent metal… ) 100% FRUs Field Replaceable Units, with ability to plug into largescreen TVs if desired.

    Plus can do neat things like have my own access point server and Pirate Bay server (like a local P2P cloud for file sharing in an area…) I’d originally conceived of it as a server in a lunchpail, but now I’m thinking build it into a laptop kit.

    It would be a bit big, like a slightly older laptop, but not by much.

    Well, despite only being awake for 11 hours, I’m feeling very sleepy, so time to see if that is the “sleep hump” asking for a fill or top up…

  35. Terry Jackson says:

    Appreciate your fixing the typo, but as a new word, it does sort of encapsulate your aggregate experience., you think?
    The old Fairbanks Engineering U prof advocated draining all fluids and removing the battery, leaving them by the wood stove, and replacing them in the morning. But that was minus 45 cold in the ’60’s. Enjoy Florida, and check Joe Batardi’s comments on Weatherbell.com for the return trip.

  36. H.R. says:

    @Terry,

    Good point to E.M. about checking Weatherbell for the return trip, but it just occurred to me that if there is snow on both a Northern and Southern route, they have snowplows and salt trucks on the Northern routes :o) In the South? Not so much, which is why Atlanta always gets shut down by 2 inches of snow. :o) :o)

  37. Gail Combs says:

    H.R. Heck North Carolina gets shut down if it snows and we get snow rather regularly!

    I bought chains for my pickup so I could inch my way to work when it snowed. My Standardbred and sleigh would probably have been faster but I had no where to leave him for the day.

  38. philjourdan says:

    @E.M. – LOL @ the Georgian!

    Greyhound was my only option growing up and even in college (I went to college 1000 miles away). It is a trip, but one I can say I did, and not do again.

  39. philjourdan says:

    You know Ralph B, when you tell us living north of you that (where temps are going down to the teens in the WARMER spots), it really ruins the Ralph B doll with all those pin holes! :-)

  40. E.M.Smith says:

    Well, seems I had ambition exceeding capacity… I’ve been asleep more than awake… woke up a 5 AM today, so maybe caught up… then again, it’s all of 12 hours later and I feel a nap calling my name :-)

    The Banana Boat is now running nicely (with a new battery) and next year reg paid. One tire was a bit low on air. So looks like it is generally “good to go”. It really likes the ethanol free boat gas… I wish it was available the whole way.

    @PhilJourdan:

    I won’t tell you the temp in Orlando today… don’t want to ruin the Chiefio Doll ;-)

    @All:

    Remember that we stole bought the Gadsen Purchase from Mexico so we would have an all season rail corridor coast to coast. That means I-10, which follows those rails is generally snow free. As it is also the fastest route, it is a given unless flooding or hurricanes show up. While I’d love to visit friends in N.Carolina, I’m not willing to try it in ice season with no chains and a 2 ton rear drive barge… especially when I have a hard return time for Christmas…

    So my plan is the “2 turn route”. I-75 North to I-10, turn left. In California, turn right on 101. Exit when done…

  41. H.R. says:

    You might want to use the chains anyway, E.M., just to keep you awake ;o)

  42. Gail Combs says:

    Chains??? Recommended maximum speeds in the owners’ manual of the chains – generally 30 to 50 km/h (20-30 mph.) As I said my Standardbred trotter was faster@ 30 mph and didn’t clank.
    {:>D

  43. Jeff says:

    @E.M. Whatever you do, be sure that you don’t turn left at Albuquerque :)

    (I know, it’s I-25 or the old Route 66, but Bugs just wouldn’t go away :) )…

  44. E.M.Smith says:

    @Jeff:

    Love it! But I wonder what happened to whom in Albuquerque to justify the running joke :-) And what direction they were coming from for the left… looks like from the north, to me.

    @Per Chains:

    ANY time I’m going near snow or sand I like to carry “traction enhancing devices” I.e. chains. Just for getting unstuck, even if not used on the freeway…

    Given the Arctic Plunge coming, and that I-20 had snow on the way in, I’m wondering if I-10 might see snow… This is complicating my departure plans, as I prefer I-40, but don’t like “below” or even frozen… so I-10 is it… I hope…

    @Terry:

    Ought to be interesting…

    @All:

    I set up to post a couple of days ago, and found that the craptop only sometimes charges the battery. Some debugging later, I suspect an intermittent in the powerbrick cable. Managed to get it to charge this morning, and posted, but a trip to the computer store is calling my name ;-)

Anything to say?

