Notes On PCC Pistol Caliber Carbines

I’ve been thinking about getting a Pistol Caliber Carbine for a while now. Well, really, getting ANOTHER PCC. Some years back I had a Marlin semi-auto in .45 ACP (and matching Colt 1911 pattern pistol). Both have now gone on to the son. Loved the 1911, but the Marlin, while a very nice gun to handle and shoot, had an issue I just can’t abide. It would have jams regularly. Maybe one in 20 rounds? Might it have settled down with a few hundred rounds through it? Could I have searched through a dozen brands of ammunition to find one it liked? Perhaps. But IMHO a good gun just works. Out of the box it ought to work, and after 20,000 rounds it ought to work.

I have a Marlin “lever gun” in .357 Magnum and just love it. Completely reliable. Takes any ammunition and just works. Using .38 Specials in a DCM shoot with iron sights, qualified at 100 yards. Now has a scope on it. Matched to a Ruger .357 revolver.

But I want a PCC that shoots 9 mm. I have a couple of 9 mm pistols, but all tend to be things where the magazine does not work in any PCC. A “Cheep Norinco Chinese” patterned after an old Browning. Shoots great, but not widely used in the West. An old German WWII Era design (made post war). A CZ 75.

So magazine compatibility is not high on my list of needs as I’d have to buy a new 9mm pistol for that. Glock magazines are widely used, but I just find Glock to be a bullet dispensing appliance with a Tupperware feel. Works 100% of the time (in my test run), easy to shoot, hits the target nicely… but just no soul… It doesn’t speak to me. A Sig runs over $1000. Don’t care for S&W guns. The Ruger just seems like a Me Too gun and I know little about it. Then the Beretta 92 I like, except it is very big and heavy and the grip seems big to me; plus it is no longer the US Military choice.

All just to have magazine compatibility in combat that I’m almost certain is a 100% never going to happen event? My interests are more toward “EOTWAWKI Survival Events”. Maybe, at most, a home invasion event a few weeks into an AwShit. Or hunting some animal or other after a few months. Things unlikely to take a magazine swap. Frankly, things I can already do with my Marlin lever gun. So this is more an itch to scratch than a necessity.

I’m pretty sure the Aero Survival Rifle is the one I will get. We’ll come back to that after looking at what I’m probably not getting.

First up, this unusual rig. It is a conversion “top” that goes on a 1911 Pattern pistol and makes it into a rifle. A very interesting design. But it has 2 issues for me. First off, it isn’t 9mm (though one may be in the works). It is in .460 Rowland. I first saw this round mentioned when looking at the Aero Rifle as one of the choices. Knowing nothing about it, I looked at the cartridge description. Despite the .460 designation, it is the same as the .45 ACP. Basically a heavy duty .45 ACP that’s 1/16 inch longer. The claim is that it can also shoot .45 ACP just fine.

But .45 ACP headspaces on the case mouth per the spec. Essentially, you are headspacing on the extractor if put into a 1/16″ longer chamber, but yes it can work. That does not endear me to the adapter. Then the $2 / round cost for .460 Rowland ammunition makes that a rare thing I’d ever shoot. Finally, I no longer have a 1911 lower… But it IS a way cool idea. Since the butt stock is integrated with the barrel, there is no risk of crossing the ATF on issues like “short barreled rifle” and similar abuses.

IF I still had a 1911, I’d likely get one, but with a proper .45 ACP chamber if they make one. It uses AR-14 style stock, and has lots of rail attachment points in front.

https://www.firearmsnews.com/editorial/mech-tech-carbine-upper-for-1911-pistols/386447

The .460 Rowland story is here:

https://460rowland.com/

An intriguing cartridge that gives you a .45 like round with .44 Magnum punch. I’d definitely get one if I lived in Bear Country anywhere, or had the occasional moose or Wild Siberian Hybrid Boar to deal with. So Alaska, Canada, Rockies or Texas to Arkansas. Not seeing the need in my sleepy suburban cul-du-sac..

So back at 9mm. I also would not mind being able to shoot .40 S&W (police compatibility AND I have a pistol in .40 S&W due to California Stupid. Mandating a 10 round magazine limit just told me to “go up caliber” and buy a bigger bullet…) Turns out the Aero Survival Rifle can be bought with multiple barrels in different calibers. I already have that in my Sig that is .40 S&W / .357 Sig and the Norinco that is 9mm / 7.62 Tokarev, and I like it.

I looked at the S&W gun.

https://www.guns.com/news/2023/02/28/new-smith-wesson-9mm-m-and-p-fpc-folding-carbine

Something about it just seems inelegant. Folds sideways. Lots of Picatinny Rail on top of what is a kind of uncomfortable forward grip area. Just feels kind of clunky to me. Then compatible with pistol magazines for a pistol I don’t want. And about $660, so not too expensive but not cheep either… Then I moved on.

I looked at the Keltech offering, the Sub 2000
https://www.keltecweapons.com/firearm/rifles/sub2000/

The knock on them was that the folding up meant no optics could stay on the top, so now the revised model lets the barrel rotate to the side a bit when folding, fixing that. I’m not real fond of the minimal butt stock and the no-sights included. I could likely live with that as I intend a red dot or Laser on it. It is VERY light weight and reports are it works well. Charging handle under the tube to the rear seems a big clunky and potential for things to catch on it, but folks say it isn’t an issue. Relatively low cost. It was in the running for my primary choice. Hard to argue with small light and compact. As I’m almost certainly going to just buy some Glock Magazines for whatever I get, it takes them.

I really like the classic look of the basic Ruger 9mm PCC.

https://ruger.com/products/pcCarbine/models.html

It is a take down model, so packs I small spaces. One model even has a stock where you can stow the front part in the stock. But at almost $800 and weighing in at 6.8 lbs, it’s a bit expensive and heavy. I like the included sights, and that the rear site is a bit far away on the rear of the barrel. Older eyes are having trouble focusing on close up rear sights these days. They do make a Tacti-cool model or two but I don’t need all that stuff and don’t intend to hang a half dozen things off my gun.

So it is in the running, but back in the pack somewhere…

At present, I’m lusting after the Aero Survival Rifle. It has the cool and useful feature (for me anyway) of interchangeable calibers. So I can do ONE ATF clearance for one gun, and then buy a new “kit” if I start lusting after some other caliber. Like that .460 Rowland at about 1000 ft-lbs. I’d likely start out with a 9mm / .40 S&W set, or with a .357 Sig bbl. That would match most of what I have. There is a .22 lr kit for it too.
https://www.tnwfirearms.com/

Very light weight. Can get a “3 way kit” of different calibers, and add more later if you want. No metal sights (bit of a bummer) but a rail for an optical sight. One can attach different shrouds on the front, or a front pistol grip. Basic rifle is $600 at present, so about the same as others. The ability to swap parts around and make it the gun you want has an appeal to the guy who can’t decide before buying ;-)

They also make a pistol version that I’m not so interested in.
They used to include a 4 power scope that is no longer included.

Then is just looks more clean and cool without all the Tacti-cool M-Lock guards on it..

Note that the .460 Rowland is a relatively new addition and they have not put it on the SPEC page yet.

Barrel length: US 16.25” Canada 18.75”

Barrel Twist: 9mm 1:10, .40 S&W 1:16, .45ACP 1:16, 10mm 1:16, .357SIG 1:10, .22LR 1:16 (6 Land Barrels)
Overall length: US 33.0″ Canada 35.5″

Overall length (Collapsed Stock): US 29.5” Canada 32.0”
Breakdown dimensions with barrel removed: US 17.25”
Available calibers: 9mm, .40S&W, .45ACP, 10mm, .357SIG, or .22LR
Magazine configuration: Glock pistol style
Left or right handed ejection
Weight: 5.5 lbs
Coating: Hard Anodized
Action: Semi-automatic, direct blow back
Safety: Sliding safety and integrated child trigger lock
Optional three-day pack sold separately
Performance: 9mm Wolf ammo, 1,270 FPS
Includes:
One Glock Style magazine
Upper and lower rails

Also relevant: made of aircraft aluminum
*Accessories on the ASR and ASP may vary in style and specs. This includes stocks, pistol grips and buffer tubes. Scope no longer included.

ASR is Aero Survival Rifle and ASP is Aero Survival Pistol.

The 3 caliber package is a big pricey at $1400. OTOH, that runs out to $466 per “gun” – you just can’t shoot them all at the same time ;-)

So I’m thinking that for my use case, the Aero Survival Rifle is likely the best fit. It meets my need for “looks clean”. GLOCK Magazines are all over the place and is almost a standard in several guns now, so OK. Add a scope or other optic and I’ve got very usable sighting system. 9mm meets my immediate need (aka desires ;-) and I can add any of .40 S&W, .357 Sig, .22 lr, and maybe even that .460 Rowland if some day I have the urge to spread bacon grease on my pants and walk in the woods in bear country ;-)

So that’s were I’m at at the moment. Lusting after the Aero Survival Rifle, thinking the Ruger is a pretty good looking gun (and has sights built in), and the reminding myself that the Keltech is likely all I need in a smaller, less complicated, and cheaper package.

Decisions decisions…

End Note:

I left of the Beretta PCC because I don’t own a Beretta 9mm, and it would just be sooo expensive to buy their rifle and a model 92… The folks who have the Storm want about $800 but you can get that down to about $700 at the places that don’t have any… Then add the cost of a Beretta 92…

https://www.pewpewtactical.com/products/beretta-cx4-storm/

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Emergency Preparation and Risks. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Notes On PCC Pistol Caliber Carbines

  1. Ed Forbes says:

    I compete in pistol competitions and use both 45ACP and 9mm in both pistol and carbine formats.
    .

    my favorites are 45ACP in 1911 and 9mm Ruger in carbine. The Rugger can be configured to use either Ruger or Glock magazines. I configured for Glock magazines. I absolutely love the Ruger carbine. Their are a number of upgrades one can get for the Rugger.

    https://taccom3g.com/product-category/ruger-pccarbine/

    I upgraded the Ruger similar to this

    https://taccom3g.com/product/ruger-pc-carbine-complete-competition-package-long-comp/

    My 45ACP carbine is a Just Right

    https://justrightcarbines.com/?v=7516fd43adaa

    I chose this unit at the time specifically as it was available with Glock mags. It is also compatible with mostly AR parts.

  2. E.M.Smith says:

    @Ed:

    I had not heard of the “Just Right” brand. I like the look of the take down model. Price is a bit high, but that’s list price… and I’ll pay up for quality. Again, not real fond of the “no sights included” (IMHO a big advantage for an AwShit gun… what do you do when the batteries run out on your laser sight after the EOTWAWKI, or your scope gets busted… On my Marlin I have scope rings with a see-through zone in alignment with the metal sights.

    It is also convenient to look through the opening to get a general area, then shift to the scope for the close up. That the Ruger would allow for that too is a bit of a win.

    Since it will live in my gun box 99.99% of the time, packing it weight is a bit of a hypothetical too. 

    Anyway, the Ruger is clearly “in the running”.

    The only issue I’ve seen raised about the Aero Rifle is that it is straight blowback, AND with a strong enough spring for the .460 Rowland – so the spring is very stiff. One write up said it might be too hard to pull back the charging handle for youth or some women shooters. That make me just a bit worried about the potential for future arthritis increases to make it hard for me, too. I know the spouse would not be able to do it. (Another advantage to the old lever gun… anyone can work the lever). I think the article that mentioned issues was this one:

    https://www.athlonoutdoors.com/article/tnw-aero-survival-rifle-review/

    Yeah: BEGIN QUOTE:

    The ASR has a 5-pound, two-stage trigger pull. The second stage has considerable creep. However, it’s not overly long, and I was able to do some good shooting with it. Cocking the bolt requires some muscle to overcome the heavy spring. Many young shooters and possibly also female shooters will have difficulty with it. TNW designed it that way to minimize felt recoil. Remember that this is a blowback that handles .460 Rowland, a caliber with near .44 Magnum power. The rearward motion of the bolt can’t damage the receiver because of a urethane bumper inside the buffer tube.

    END QUOTE.

    Since I already have the lever gun, why another one? Because .357 Magnum is more expensive and harder to find (especially during an AwShit event) than the cheap 9mm that is universal, especially among police and military. Besides, I want one ;-)

    I’d like to find an Aero Rifle in a gun shop somewhere so I can look it over, see what they do for sights, and check out the charging handle pull. My local shop has the Ruger (and I liked it when I handled it. A much more robust feel than the folding hinge guns) I got to handle the Keltec and the S&W. The Ruger take down construction seems a lot more sturdy and stable, but the folders are faster and lighter. The Aero uses pins that can get lost…

    Decisions decisions… (And no, I can’t just “buy them all” ;-)

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    Just an FYI: Stumbled on Yet Another One: https://pof-usa.com/

    They also make a lever action 9mm. Who knew…

    Update: Looks like Henry came out with a semi-auto 9mm in 2023 too.
    https://www.guns.com/news/reviews/henry-new-semi-auto-9mm-homesteader-review
    I like the “old guy aesthetic” of real wood and with built in sights…

    and another edit. I may just keep tagging on here as / if I find more…
    Hi point has an under $300 option (just over if you get the front pistol grip)
    https://www.guns.com/firearms/rifles/semi-auto/hi-point-995ts-9mm-luger-(9×19-para)-10-rounds-16-5-barrel-new?p=861861

    Looks a bit like everyone and their cousin is getting into the PCC game…

    This is an interesting article on lever action 9mm. Seems that in Britain one can not have a semi-auto AR type rifle, so Southern Gun Company made an “under lever” AR sort of rifle in 9mm. OK…
    https://americangunfacts.com/9mm-lever-action/
    it also covers the American equivalent 9mm lever gun.

    Here’s another one. KRISS: https://kriss-usa.com/firearms/rifles-pistols/vector-crb-g2/
    Runs about $1500 to $2000.

    And an AR-15 pattern 9mm at about $2100:
    https://wilsoncombat.com/long-guns/ar-9-rifles/glock-receiver-ar9-carbine.html

    Springfield Armory AR-15 pattern using Colt pattern magazines. $1220
    https://www.sportsmans.com/shooting-gear-gun-supplies/modern-sporting-rifles/springfield-armory-saint-victor-carbine-9mm-luger-16in-black-semi-automatic-modern-sporting-rifle-321-rounds/p/1798349
    https://www.springfield-armory.com/ar-series/saint-victor-ar-15-rifles/saint-victor-9mm-carbine/

    FWIW, without a link: I found directions (several) for converting an AR-15 into an AR-9 9mm carbine. So that opens a very large door. If only I had an AR-15, which I don’t.

    OK, I’m not going to go down that rabbit hole. DIY is normally my thing, but I’m not interested in building my own Franken-Carbine. Just a few too many “rules” to keep track of, and I’d need to come up to speed on the whole process, tools, parts suppliers, etc. Were I already an AR-15 “guy”, I’d likely take it on as I’d already have familiarity with the platform and parts suppliers.

    At this point, I think I’m going to stop searching for more options, and just “pick on” over the next few days (weeks?).

    Despite the original position going into the posting, at this point I’m leaning more to the Ruger Pc Cabine or the Keltek 2000. Aero having the hard charger pull and ranging back into multi-caliber instead of simplifying, and that being $1300+ losing steam. Henry “hammer it to clean it” making me squirm on that point. I’m slowly drifting back to “cheap and does what I want” vs “More expensive and heavier but strong and with a good name Ruger”.

  4. H.R. says:

    Wait what?!? A lever action 9mm?

    I want one, too to complement my .357 revolver/lever action pair.

    And I still want a 12ga fully-auto Saiga with the 30-round drum… for hallway defense in case of a home invasion. (Note to self: Increase homeowner insurance coverage)

  5. E.M.Smith says:

    @H.R.: It’s a bit under $2000 for the POF. Start saving up those nickels…

    If you are a stamp collector with a “can”, the locked breech at firing will be quieter (bbl comes threaded).

    Were it closer to half that, I’d probably get one just for the novelty of it… but $2k for a lark? Ummm…

    At a LOT less money, that Henry is moving my MoJo. I like the looks of it. The price is nice. uses Henry Magazines, and with a well adapter, Glock or Sig/S&W (both with the same adapter). It is NOT a take down or folder, but is only about a yard long. Has sling swivels on it, and can take Weaver Rings. So could have an optical sight over a “see through” to the included metal sights.

    I do still like the idea of the Aero Rifle, but having trouble justifying WHY I would want to make it shoot .40 S&W or .357 Sig or “whatever” when those cost a lot more than 9mm and are harder to find. My original goal, after all, was just a 9mm PCC. I can get that with the Ruger, the Henry, the Keltec… 

    I know the Ruger take down with some of the tacti-cool stuff on it would be more usable in a “backpack get out of Dodge EOTWAWKI” moment… but for anything actually likely to happen, I like the looks of the Henry and the build of it more…

  6. E.M.Smith says:

    BTW, if you want to use that shotgun AND defend the hallway, I suggest lining the hallway with steel plate… otherwise not much hallway will survive…

  7. Ossqss says:

    Check out High-Point and also the brand-new Ruger LC Carbine (which I have on my list as that puppy is compatible with my .45 ACP Glock mags).

    Having a G19 and a Sub 2000 (Gen 1) makes it easy to toss both into a backpack with a bunch of mags and not worry about compatibility. The same would be true with any compatible pistol and PCC. Don’t underestimate the value of compatible mags.

    Then you start looking at weight and size of ammo. 45 is a lot heavier and larger but has some benefits over 9.

    There are lots of choices out there now days.

    You could also pair up a Judge and circuit judge in the revolver world and accomplish kinda the same thing.

  8. hmca7e923ee20e1 says:

    A few years ago I purchased a Mec-Tec in 45 ACP to fit my Colt Combat Commander receiver. Installed a fixed M4 stock and a green dot holographic sight, with no iron sights. Setup is heavy for its size thus no recoil. Accurate as I need it. And I can convert back to the Combat Commander as I need it.

  9. E.M.Smith says:

    @Ossqss:

    I think I saw some kind of .410 carbine with magazines kicking around. Moved on as I’m not in possession of any .410 guns and prefer 20 Ga for shotguns (despite 12 Ga being what I own…). Buy yeah, you CAN make a .410 revolver / carbine combo of sorts.

    Though in fact, as the eyes age and aiming in the dark becomes very hard, I may well get some kind of “scattergun pistol” someday. For now, I’m thinking that just a laser dot will do it ;-) preferably on a 9mm PCC…

    While I have a big box of .45 bullets and brass (from my 1911 / Marlin carbine days), I don’t have any .45 ACP ammo in stock; and I’m unlikely to pick it up again. For anything short of brown bear and hybrid mutant pigs, I think 9mm +P or +P+ ought to be fine. It isn’t like I’m in Montana and need to deal with Grizzly Bear, Moose, and Bison…

    As I’m more in the “limit inventory of calibers” mood these days (having given a lot of my odd sizes to the son), my major “lacking” is a 9mm carbine. At one time I decided to standardize on 9mm/.357/.38 and .32 / 7.62mm calibers for handguns & rifles. I have bullet molds for it, and reloading dies, etc. I do have one bbl in .40 S&W for the Sig, but rarely shoot it (and it has a .357 Sig bbl too). So the major draw of the Aero Rifle is that it has bbls for the different case shapes of 9mm, .357 Sig, .40 S&W. (But am I really ever going to pair it in .40 S&W with the Sig? Or even .357 Sig for that matter… Last time I shot it was about a decade+ ago. Very pricey ammo.)

    So as much as I liked shooting my 1911, I’ve “moved on” to a simpler retired life… (or that’s the theory anyway).

    Frankly, I’ve not even reloaded in about a decade… depending more on running down inventory and commercial stuff. (moving and all…)

    BTW, while I really like the Henry, it has “an issue” with cleaning and changing magazines. Hammer out 3 pins. Hammer? Gun? Really?

    https://gunmagwarehouse.com/blog/henry-homesteader-converting-to-glock-magwells-cleaning-and-dissembling/

    They use a punch to get the pins out. For cleaning… That folding Keltec with the “flip it open and run the patch through” just became a feature. The take down Ruger too. While I like everything else about the Henry, I’m not a fan of hammers and punches for normal procedures. I’ll have to think about that…

    The article seems to imply that the Henry Magazines are in fact Ruger pattern.

  10. H.R. says:

    E.M.: “[…] otherwise not much hallway will survive”

    Thus, my note to self to up the insurance on the house ;o)

  11. T Town says:

    The Gen2 SUB2000 comes with sights built in. I get around the folding problem with my red dot sight by mounting it on the side with a 45 degree MLok to picatanny mount. It really isn’t that awkward for me to tilt the gun slightly in order to use the red dot. The downside is that you will probably want to install a shell deflector or something to keep the exhaust from the ejection port out of your face.

  12. Ed Forbes says:

    I think this may be one of the best tactical shotguns out there.

    KEL-TEC KSG

  13. Ed Forbes says:

    the Ruger comes with models with threaded and unthreaded barrels.

    I highly recommend the threaded barrel model to install a mussel break. It takes low recoil to almost no recoil even when firing reloads at the very hottest tables.

  14. Ossqss says:

    @Ed Forbes

    I got the KS7, KSG’s little brother, a few months back and it is great. Add the extension tube option and it bumps up capacity even though it looks a little funny.

    Take a peek at the KSG 25 too. Monstrous.

  15. Ossqss says:

    KelTec makes a 410 version of the KSG also.

  16. E.M.Smith says:

    @T Town:

    The newer ones (gen 3?) have just Picatinny Rail, no sights. But the barrel twists so optics can be mounted on top without issues in folding.

    Just got back from a visit to the gun store. There’s some kind of smooth covers you can put over the M-Lock stuff to make it smoother to hold. It looks like there are Picatinny Rail iron sights available. Scope mounts with a “see through” for them were not on offer, but I was “referred to the Internet”…. So I could probably put some kind of laser or optical sight on, along with some kind of iron sights. But now we’re adding a lot of cost and FW Factor to the basic gun buy. Maybe $200-300? Which blows up the price a fair amount compared to the Ruger PCC…

    They did not have an Aero Survival Rifle, so still no answer about how hard it is to pull the cocking lever back..

    Still trying to decide what I want…

    Per “Tactical Shotguns”… looks like the kind of thing that folks with a bazooka would envy… Suddenly my 8 round “Defender” type pump seems wimpy…

    I never ever would have thought that 8 rounds of 12 gauge (about 72 pellets of .36 caliber IIRC) headed downrange would seem “cute”…

    Maybe I need to find someone selling used tanks ;-)

  17. E.M.Smith says:

    fwiw:

    I/m leaning toward the Ruger PC Carbine STM.

    Why? It just works.

Anything to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.