PC Rules in the UK

Completely Over The Top. Picked it up from JoNova at:

http://joannenova.com.au/2010/12/global-warming-—-it’s-just-another-joke/comment-page-1/

Kind of puts it all in perspective, eh?

But seriously, whatever DID happen to Global Warming? It just sort of went away… Where did it go?

Maybe it’s time for the AlGore Road Show to come around and give it a bit of a lift:

The “Al Gore does Grease” parody that comes up next in the YouTube play list after that last one isnt’ bad either…

And an oldie that shows GW Skepticism has been around a whlie:

Then again, it could be worse… Like, you know, the world as a Ball Of Fire!

( I don’t know why, but I really like this one)

maybe we need AlGore to Save US!!!

I don’t know why, but there is something touching about this next clip. Kids who’ve grown up with the AGW Scaremongering their whole life, yet have a clear understanding of which way is up…

Wishing you and yours all the best. And, for those in cold places, may all your holiday wishes come true:

The End

But, becuase I just MUST hear the orginal Ring Of Fire after the parody, I’m putting a copy of it here to save myself from repeatedly needed to look it up ;-)

A color TV early version at The Grand Ole Opry,.that runs a bit fast:

And this one has June singing… and is not my favorite, but I can’t walk away from it. It’s the most compelling. For some reason they have embedding blocked, but you can click on it and get the orginal at Youtube.

Somehow, someone, somewhere saved a copy of the 1963 original. Sound is not so good, but oh, the reality of it.

Not as “gritty” but for all the Youn’uns who didn’t grow up with the Real Deal, hear’s the “pretty damn good” Joaquin Phoenix cover:

Also, just in case someone needs someting serious after all this:

From the not so funny side, how a single activist can blackmail the BBC:

which then leads to things like this example of what hate, like this, can do:

Where warmistas indulge in Hate Speach and advocate supression of Civil Rights (freedom of speech).

Speaking of “freedom”, I think Willy is getting a little outside in this one… One toke over the line? ;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in AGW Climate Perspective, Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PC Rules in the UK

  1. Baa Humbug says:

    Thanx Chiefio, after watching all those clips, I’ve used up my monthly data allowance from my ISP, back to dial up for me for a while lol

    Hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas and a happy healthy new year.

    Thankyou for all the entertainingly informative posts.

    Humbug

  2. Ken McMurtrie says:

    In a quandary! Driven to comment but taken aback with amazement!
    Referring to the Sea Green Singers.
    Pathetic or deserving sympathy?
    Misguided or brainless?
    Almost speechless.
    Sorry this is so cryptic, my brain won’t function normally after watching that video.

  3. BlueIce2HotSea says:

    Nice collection of videos, however, there is a problem: all the links in the post point here:
    http://joannenova.com.au/2010/12/global-warming-%E2%80%94-it%E2%80%99s-just-another-joke/comment-page-1/

    So, even clicking on the pause button opens a new tab @joannenova. I have to click back to chiefio to view.

  4. E.M.Smith says:

    @BlueIce2HotSea:

    Thanks for the notice. At about 4 am I’d added the h/t to JoNova. The “process” got a bit “glitchy” (for reasons I’m not sure of; though it looks like the ‘inline’ spell check is gone and now there is a ‘proofread’ button.) so I decided to call it a night. Seems that something ate the ending </a> from the link on the last save and I didn’t notice (having listened to it all a dozen times doing various QA cycles and not having time for another…)

    That then turned all the rest of the page into the Hot Link for the JoNova h/t page. Sigh. Well, with any luck, JoNova got a nice traffic blip out of it ;-)

    FWIW; WordPress tries to be “helpfull” by putting in HTML where it thinks it’s needed and taking it out where it doesn’t understand it.

    Sometimes they do software updates that are not so good. Sometimes a typo confuses the HTML re-writer droiid. Sometimes I just didn’t get the HTML perfect and so some of it gets swallowed. And sometimes the HTML just seems to change when you hit “update”. It’s an interesting process…

    In one case I found that in ONE particular browser doing a ‘paste’ will swallow an adjacent character, so if you paste a link between two quote marks (as is normal for an href=”link”), you end up with one quote mark… that can then cause downstream ‘collateral damage’ as the HTML Droid tries to ‘pretty things up’ for you…

    There are times I wish it didn’t help me so much ;-)

    I know, I ought to use their handy “tools” rather than type the HTML by hand. And it’s not easy to have a meta markup language stuck inside a free-text editor (and gets worse when you consider that there are ‘escapes’ that let you do things like actually show the HTML insted of executing it… recursion can be a bitch…); so I do appreciate that it works at all.

  5. E.M.Smith says:

    The “All I Want For Christmas Is Fuel” video is not the easiest to understand. (Though some is my poor hearing) but I’ve found a copy of the words. From:

    http://www.downloadvideo.net/video/n9yHWX_YfMI/All_I_want_for_Christmas_is_Fuel.html

    Words:

    I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    There is just one thing I need
    I will go without chai lattes
    And sacrifice a pink tagine

    We can cut back trips to Noosa
    Once Global Warming sets in
    Make my wish come true
    All I want for Christmas is Fuel

    I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    There is just one thing I need
    I don’t care ’bout carbon footprints
    Pay landscapers to plant some trees

    I don’t trust in Labor’s Fuel Watch
    Or those climate change debates
    I could never drive a Hybrid
    Even with Mercedes Plates

    I just want a brand new hummer
    Without such a petrol bummer
    Make my wish come true
    All I want for Christmas is Fuel
    Fuel baby

    I won’t ask for much this Christmas
    I don’t need a brand new phone
    I don’t want a sponsor child
    I’ve got children of my own

    I don’t need to do my nails
    Or get botox in my lips
    Santa Claus won’t make me happy
    with a slimmer set of hips

    I don’t want fuel excise growing
    cos I drive my three sons to rowing
    What else would I do?! Baby
    all I want for Christmas is fuel
    Fuel baby

    Santa you must get it
    You drive a great big sleigh
    That you fill with presents
    Every Christmas day

    Well, when I go shopping
    I need a car thats whopping
    Santa wont you bring me what I really need
    Wont you please supply fuel to me Oh

    I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    This is all I’m asking for
    I just want a new Land Rover
    Leather interior, seven door
    I just want to get my pearls
    To and from lunch with the girls

    Make my wish come true Baby
    all I want for Christmas is… Fuel
    All I want for Christmas is fuel… baby
    (repeat and fade)

    The “cover text” says:

    Description: All I want for Christmas is Fuel… Copyright Erin Pynor and Samantha McHugh 2008 LATEST NEWS: We have made it to the final 5 in the SAFM Glee Competition!! From here on its a voting game so if you like our video please go to: http://www.safm.com.au/win/glee and vote for us – it’s labelled “Samantha”. Thank you!!

    The posh mothers’ christmas wishlist direct from Burnside SA, Toorak VIC, Noosa QLD, Peppermint Grove WA and any other “gold lame handbag capitals of Australia…where ladies in resort wear and pearls line up their Saabs and spend the morning nattering about [which exclusive school] theyre going to enrol their six-year-old son at” — ( http://www.thepunch.com.au )

    It looks like the link to the voting is a dead link (so I suspect the voting ended a year or two ago ;-)

    At any rate, much easier to understand with the lyrics in front of you… (er, me…)

Comments are closed.