Tips & Notices – February 2019

About “Tips”:

While I’m mostly interested in things having to do with:

Computer stuff, especially small single board computers
Making money, usually via trading
Weather and climate (“Global Warming” & “Climate Change”)
Quakes, Volcanoes, and other Earth Sciences
Current economic and political events
(often as those last three have impact on money and climate things…)
And just about any ‘way cool’ interesting science or technology
Oh, and lately, cars &
numerical computing / graphing with languages like Python & Julia ;-)

If something else is interesting to you, put a “tip” here as you like.

If there is a current Hot Topic for active discussion, try one of the Weekly Occasional Open Discussion pages here:

https://chiefio.wordpress.com/category/w-o-o-d/

You can also look at the list of “Categories” on the right hand side and get an idea of any other broad area of interest.

This ought not to be seen as a “limit” on what is “interesting”, more as a “focus list” with other things that are interesting being fair game as well.

The History:

Note that “pages” are the things reached from links on the top bar just under the pretty picture. “Postings” are reached from the listing along the right side of any given article (posting).

Since WordPress has decided that comments on Pages, like the Old Tips Pages, won’t show up in recent comments, it kind of breaks the value of it for me. In response, I shifted from a set of “pages” to a set of “postings”. As any given Tips Posting gets full, I’ll add a new one.

I have kept the same general format, with the T page (top bar) still pointing to both the archive of Tips Pages as well as the series of new Postings via a link to the TIPS category.

This is the next posting from prior Tips postings. Same idea, just a new set of space to put pointers to things of interest. The most immediately preceding Tips posting is: https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2018/12/29/tips-notices-january-2019/.

The generic “T” parent page remains up top, where older copies of the various “Tips” pages can be found archived. The Tips category (see list at right) marks Tips postings for easy location.

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Tips & Notices – February 2019

  1. Larry Ledwick says:

    A little cyber spy stuff to get this one started.

    https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/usa-spying-raven/

  2. jim2 says:

    You guys may already know this, but I’ll log it anyway. My hard drive has been acting up so I have been looking for a replacement. I found my exact drive for $120, but then noticed (on Amazon) that in the comparison display there was one similar for $50. The description stated it was a “bare drive.” Searched on that and found it is just the drive with no manual, cables, etc! Great savings and just what I needed. The bare drive did have a cache twice as big as my current one, but I guess I can live with that ;)

  3. H.R. says:

    @jim2 – Congratulations! 👍

    A few times I have had the good fortune of getting just the replacement component needed instead of having to buy a complete subassembly to replace the one bad part.

    It feels so gooooood, doesn’t it? 😁

  4. ossqss says:

    @Jim2, I just had to replace a drive in my son’s laptop. It was my 1st Windows 10 rebuild scenario. It was a learning experience as I had not had to do such on any machines beyond Windows 7 to date. On the 3rd attempt, everything finally completed successfully including all the drivers. The issue seemed to be caused by a thumb drive (16 gig micro SD card in an adapter) I was using causing an error on the last steps. Once I used the 128 gig Samsung drive, it formatted it (to an odd size) and pulled down a clean package. That worked just fine the first time. Good Luck and allocate adequet time.

  5. ossqss says:

    I aquired one of these dudes for convenience a few months back to help with recovering data on old and varied PC’s/drives people had boot problems with (me included). I have various external cases, but this was an all in one plug and play small fast convenience. I believe I paid just under 20 bucks at the time.

  6. ossqss says:

    @Jim2, lastly, be careful as some cheaper drives on Amazon and Ebay are so called “refurbished”, and not clearly called out as used in some instances. I would also stay away from non-mainstream manufacturer labels.

  7. jim2 says:

    ossqss – this is a brand new Seagate Barracuda. It’s only 750 gig. I was amazed at the difference in price between bare and fully provisioned.

  8. jim2 says:

    ossqss – I use Linux Mint. I’ve installed Mint clean a number of times. It’s a piece of cake. Will use the latest LTS version. Got a backup of user files and may make a backup of programs b4 the new version. There is a tool for that. It just saves a list of programs and does a reinstall.

  9. Another Ian says:

    More Gillette

    “Gillette’s Toxic Masculinity meets some deadly statistics”

    http://joannenova.com.au/2019/02/gillettes-toxic-masculinity-meets-some-deadly-statistics/

  10. Another Ian says:

    Yet another mouse trap design

    A son has brought one home. The catch element is an animal castration rubber ring

    Don’t know as yet if it is better

  11. sabretoothed says:

    This is very interesting. You know whenever they say climate change causes migration, show them this ;)

  12. sabretoothed says:

    Timber Sycamore = Obama was Head of Isis while Soros funded the migrants via charities,

    I still think Saudi/UAE will invade Qatar at some stage to the get world’s biggest gas deposit in the sea :P That was the prize for the Syria war which Obama lost :P

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timber_Sycamore

  13. jim2 says:

    Income inequality vs what we should really be looking at:

    https://bookofjoe.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341c5dea53ef016764d93bad970b-pi

  14. sabretoothed says:

    Columbia University – where the School of Cultural Marxism comes from, followed by other communist University, and Crapple computers – Alexandria funders

    https://votesmart.org/candidate/campaign-finance/180416/alexandria-ocasio-cortez

  15. llanfar says:

    @sabertoothed, your first iPhone link is a re-hash of a 2017 0-day. Re: your 2nd link, good. “Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.”

  16. ossqss says:

    A couple interesting items read over lunch if ya are bored. ;-)

    Courtesy of a JC tweet.
    https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2095927319300210

    Comments from Happer on a very relavent subject.
    https://co2islife.wordpress.com/2019/02/12/filling-in-the-missing-pieces/

  17. H.R. says:

    @ossqss – Did you miss a whole bunch of these (regular speed) posted on a W.O.O.D. 4-5 months ago?

    I forget what the youtube series is called (Primitive Technology?), but I watched hours of this guy and another dude make a house,well, water filtration system, Roman cement, and, and, and…

    Your post just reminded me to watch it all again… just in case.

    P.S. Mrs. H.R. and I are planning to be on the South Pier next Wednesday. After a day of fishing, we’re going to hit the Linger Lodge. I’m all out of Buckeyes, so maybe it’s not worth your time and effort to drop by the Linger Lodge in the late afternoon…. you know… that long drive from your house to the lodge just for a brief howdy and a Linger Lager… and no Buckeyes? 😜😆😆

  18. ossqss says:

    @HR, let me know when and I will try my best to be there. I may even drive the tractor this time! :-)

    Something that makes you go “Hummm, go figure”…

    https://stochastictrend.blogspot.com/2019/02/energy-efficiency-improvements-do-not.html

  19. H.R. says:

    @ossqss – I’ve had to postpone the trip to the South pier. I’m recovering from bad head cold and it’s unclear when I will have kicked out enough to sit out in the sun for several hours. So I’ll keep you posted.

    I’ll give you a shout, though when we go. Hopefully you won’t be OTR meeting a client.
    .
    .
    .
    BTW, that post re fishing just showed up today and I posted it on the 16th, an hour or so after you posted the link to the guy building the dugout shelter.

    E.M. isn’t fishing them out of spam or moderation, so I think WordPress is sending some comments to a parallel universe for a few days vacation. It has happened to several of my comments here, at WUWT, and CTH. They go Poof! and then show up anywhere from hours to days later.

    Could it be…… aliens? 😜

  20. Chris in Calgary says:

    I just reread your “Half the World Hispanic” post (one of my favourites) and while searching on the topic came across a bit of history that was missed by the Spanish Empire world map. It seems that Charles V of Spain also ruled Austria and the parts of Eastern Europe not controlled by Poland and the Ottoman Empire, from 1519-1521. Then he gave these lands to his brother Ferdinand, which permanently split them off from Spanish rule (though they remained allies for centuries afterward).

    Sources:
    * http://www.holyromanempireassociation.com/holy-roman-emperor-charles-v.html
    * https://etc.usf.edu/maps/pages/3600/3665/3665.htm

    This includes: Austria, Styria, parts of Hungary, Transylvania, and Croatia, Silesia, and Slovenia. Yet more peoples who were once part of the Spanish empire. Getting closer to the whole world all the time…

  21. sabretoothed says:

    Video of the year, facts v feelings

  22. sabretoothed says:

    They could have come from Azores (Atlantis) as the sea was 120m lower exposing a larger island

    https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-very-first-americans-may-have-had-european-roots-5517714/

  23. Pingback: Tips & Notices – March 2019 | Musings from the Chiefio

Comments are closed.