Radio Active – Things I Did Not Know (music video / song)

So there’s this song I like. Not as much as some, more than others. I go looking for it, because it is Friday. I’ve had “Sushi & Sake” and then “A certain amount” of Irish Whiskey and I want to hear it.

Little did I know where that would lead.

So, OK, it’s “complicated”…

First off, I didn’t know the name of the band, which, it seems, is “Imagine Dragons”. So, OK, I’m already hooked. ‘Cause I’m like cool with the whole “dragons” thing and “imagine” is sort of my middle name… and all.. But, yo, not liken where this is goin…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radioactive_(Imagine_Dragons_song)

Radioactive (Imagine Dragons song)

“Radioactive” on YouTube
“Radioactive” is a song by American pop rock band Imagine Dragons for their major-label debut EP Continued Silence and later on their debut studio album, Night Visions (2012), as the opening track. It was first sent to modern rock radio on October 29, 2012,[1] and then released to contemporary radio on April 9, 2013. Musically, “Radioactive” is an electronic rock and alternative rock song with elements of dubstep that contains cryptic lyrics of apocalyptic and revolutionist themes.

The song received positive reviews from critics, who praised the production, lyrics, and vocals, calling it a highlight on the album. Due to heavy rotation on various commercials and trailers, the song became a sleeper hit, peaking at number three on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart and becoming the band’s first top 10 single as well as being the third best selling song in that country in 2013. It also broke the record for slowest ascension to the top 5 in chart history and currently holds the record for most weeks spent on the Billboard Hot 100 at 87 weeks. The song has also reached number one in Sweden and in the top 20 in several countries including Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, becoming Imagine Dragons’ most successful single to date. It has since been certified Diamond in the US, making it one of the best selling singles of all time.

“Radioactive” received two Grammy Awards nominations for Record of the Year and Best Rock Performance, winning the latter.

So there’s that…

Then I find the video, and, WT?, it’s full of teddy bears and shit…

OK, I like the joke and all, but I’m just not seeing this as the “vision” the song presents. OTOH, over 1 1/4 BILLION views…

Oh Well. Such is life…

I either need more, or less, sake & whiskey, or some kind of re-orientation….

’cause I’m liking the song, but finding “Killer Teddy Bears” a bit of a stretch…

UPDATE: (And update to the update… seems it was stuck in “drafts” as I didn’t hit “publish”… )

This is closer to my interpretation of the music… yet it is after the original artists made the above.

In any case, this is more “dismal”, and, IMHO, more in keeping with the actual lyrics:

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Radio Active – Things I Did Not Know (music video / song)

  1. E.M.Smith says:

    OMG… 2+ hours of laughs… I had no idea who Bill Burr was…

  2. jim2 says:

    The “Radioactive” lyrics don’t make a heap of sense, either. I don’t see what the ruckus is all about.

  3. E.M.Smith says:

    I don’t think it was intended to make sense… more just an emotive thing.

  4. pouncer says:

    I am not at all among the target demographic but I find self quite fond of the vocal group ‘Pentatonix” — in your second video, uncharacteristically, appearing with accompaniment. (They’re usually a cappella )

Comments are closed.