January 6, Be In D.C.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9071403/President-Trump-plans-wild-protest-January-6th-day-Congress-counts-electoral-votes.html

Trump announces ‘wild’ protest in DC on January 6 – the day Congress will count Electoral College votes – and claims it is ‘impossible’ he lost the election

President Trump on Saturday promised a ‘wild’ protest in Washington, D.C., on January 6th, […]
‘Statistically impossible to have lost the 2020 Election,’ he tweeted. ‘Big protest in D.C. on January 6th. Be there, will be wild!’

Congress will meet to accept the presidential election results on January 6th
President-elect Joe Biden won the election, and presidential electors cast their votes last week in the Electoral College

Trump and his campaign have disputed the results and launched numerous legal challenges

The Timcast report on it:

https://odysee.com/@timcast:c9/trump-calls-on-supporters-for-wild:2

Don’t know if I can make it, or not. Smack in the middle of a bunch of birthdays and I’m 3000 miles away. But I’m going to see if I can make it happen.

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Political Current Events. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to January 6, Be In D.C.

  1. Nancy & John Hultquist says:

    I’ll stay home.
    First, the time and cost can better be applied elsewhere.
    Second, mid-winter is not a good time to be traveling.
    {Short day length, and likely nasty weather.}
    Third, this particular event will not change the election.
    Fourth, I’ve been to the D. of C. (period).

    I suggest using “May Day” as a center for a series of gatherings in nine states. Start on the Friday before, then Saturday, May 1, 2021, then Sunday. DJT, family, and friends could lead AM, afternoon, and evening celebrations. {long twilight}
    “The Celts of the British Isles believed May 1 to be the most important day of the year, when the festival of Beltane was held.
    This May Day festival was thought to divide the year in half, between the light and the dark.”

    These events would generate nation and international interest. They could highlight many things, be fun for all, and likely impact the meaning of the Day away from the “workers’ ” connotation developed in the late 1800s – – now long since useless – and re-establish a welcoming to all event.

    I would help consult on this if Donald will just pick up the phone and call me.

  2. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    I’m not looking forward to a 3000 mile winter trek either, but…

    The Donald likely needs a big showing of support “in the streets” to give some spine to Congress as to which “mob” is going to be harder on them… and just how much do they want to be Primary’ed anyway?

    We’ll find out IF I can make it after taking stock of weather and other “issues” then. (Not the least of which is that in theory we’re under “Curfew” at various cities along the route and Functional House Arrest too.) So can I claim I’m getting groceries as I cross town, then get out of the State before 10 PM?…

  3. p.g.sharrow says:

    Veteran warns city council that patience is wearing thin with honest citizens:
    https://rumble.com/embed/v8wbln/?pub=50amx&fbclid=IwAR0zlO-lJTar2WxCyOYSMdWnmNKZCwR567RgE8UjEW9qqFUWGodAQs3wqv0
    The January 6 DC event is a demonstration not a party,!

  4. p.g.sharrow says:

    This “Lock down – Curfew” is a way to keep honest citizens off the streets and in their homes while the Communists, undeterred by these things, take over….pg

  5. President Elect H.R. says:

    I’m unsure about a trek to D.C., though both the Mrs. and I would like to go to help swell the ranks.

    It’s less than an 8-hour drive from home, here in the Eastern Midwest. However, we’re scheduled to arrive in Florida on January 1st. From Florida, it’s about a 17-hour drive, possibly a bit longer. That’s a 3-days there and 2 days back drive. The Mrs. can’t go straight through. Then there’s the weather, which is unknown at this time.

    And we have the dogs and the cat and would have to board them. We’ve only boarded them twice, and that was overnight only. I suppose they’ll survive boarding, though. When we boarded them, we paid for a ‘big dog’ cage (wolf hound or St. Bernard size) and told them to put the dogs in together. I suppose they’ll be OK, though the Cairn terrier is old and getting cranky and irritable.

    But… we haven’t ruled out a run up to D.C.. We’re going to have to see what things look like when we get to Florida.

  6. cdquarles says:

    I don’t have the means to make such a trip, so I’ll be cheering the folks that can make the trip.

  7. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    @H.R.:

    I’m planning on the Spouse doing the Dog Sitting. Just me on the road. Not an option?

    @Ossqss:

    Maybe we need to have caravans and ride-alongs coordinated… or maybe not?

    I wonder if there will be a Repub. Soros Analog who will fund / organize buses, hotels, food, payments? Nah, why use your opponents methods against them when they work… /snark;

  8. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    Hmmmm….. Not AS effective, but…

    RIghtSide Broadcasting needs to have a Virtual Attendees program SPECIFICALLY for folks wishing to virtually attend, and advertize their numbers….

  9. President Elect H.R. says:

    @E.M. – Taking a charter bus is one option I’d considered. I am going to look for one trying to fill up in the Tampa/Clearwater/St. Petersburg area.

    Yeah, that’s part of the discussion; only one of us going. If I take the truck, the Mrs. would be left without wheels. I considered a car rental, which would have more range between fill-ups than the truck and would save some road hours. Every stop is 0-mph added into your average speed and total travel time. The truck has sucky range, even when I’m not towing.

    The Mrs. is very keen to go. It could well be that I would be stuck with holding the fort and her making the trip. But two more bodies would be better than one. One is better than none.

    Gail got me thinking: It’s only 9 hours to the Raleigh-Durham area and the lodgings wouldn’t be so packed. From there, it’s under 4 hours to D.C. Hit the road from there by 6:00 am and we’d be in D.C. about the right time for things to start jumping.

    The charter bus option looks to be the best option, though charter buses seem to be prone to plunging off cliffs or turning into flaming wrecks, particularly if they don’t have a change of drivers staged for a long trip.

    I’m trying to figure out a way to get to D.C., but again, I’m not sure what conditions on the ground will be like in Florida. We arrive late on January 1, and then we must be ready to go to D.C. by the 4th or 5th.

  10. Serioso says:

    From the pen of the master, H.L/ Mencken:

    https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox/WhctKJWJHdCggLCrJNQbqGfVQQxGqPnSTrRlmstvHdhVKJxpNhDRrWPZHKxWhsrkKdnSNSl

    [Reply: Um, a link to a gmail inbox just gets me to the “why I ought to sign up for Gmail… ’cause I’m not you, so can’t read your inbox. Care to try again? BTW, what’s with the 2 email accounts and a few IP numbers? Yeah, mostly Boston, but really? Every combo tosses you to moderation until white listed. -E.M.Smith]

  11. llanfar says:

    I won’t make it. I’ve family up there, but can’t risk any squabbles at the demonstration with my shoulder.

  12. President Elect H.R. says:

    Hey, that’s right. The shoulder was Thursday. How’s it going?

  13. llanfar says:

    Actually quite well. I had 2.5 years learning how to not use that shoulder, and I get to use a “polar care cube” to keep the swelling down. Managed to shift off the oxy after 12 tablets (script was for 40)… though I’ll likely change my mind once PT starts. Full motion of the hand the next day. Still somewhat numb last 2 fingers, though it’s possible that’s from the way the cube shoulder wrap is constricting at the armpit rather than the extended nerve block.

    The really cool news is that for the first time since I injured the shoulder, last night I got more than 2 hours of deep sleep – 3:59 (I was averaging around 30m). Helps that I had 900mg gabapentin and 30mg melatonin… but that’s been the usual for a year.

    First PT is tomorrow – probably just a range-of-motion check, then back in the sling. Taking pills just in case.

  14. President Elect H.R. says:

    @llanfar – Yup. First PT is range of motion baseline. Ask them to say their readings. You will be shocked at how pathetic some of the numbers are. I didn’t ask, but my therapist did say a few of the readings. I heard a “15 degrees” and said what?!? Yep. That was it. I forget what direction it was but 90+ degrees is normal.

    I did not remove the sling as much as I should have. That foam cube kind of traps fluids and I had a swollen bicep and a man-boob of fluid under my armpit for about 6 weeks. I finally caught on (I’m slow) that I could remove the sling so long as I sat with my arm in the same position as it would be with the sling. They kept telling me to not remove the sling, but then said, “Oh, it’s OK if you have a chair arm or something that holds your arm in the same position.” Doh! The armpit man-boob was really bothersome. It took forever to move the pocket of fluid out of there.

    BTW, I only took a 1/2-dozen pain pills the first week or so. But then I was not getting any sleep sitting up on the couch, so I started taking them before and then at bedtime, not so much for pain, but they did conk me on the noggin to get me to sleep and kept me there for a few hours. It took more than 6 weeks to finally get through my forty pills.

    Good to hear you’re doing OK. It’s gonna suck for a while, but it gets better.

  15. philjourdan says:

    Way to go IIanfar! I am sure you will be pumping iron in no time with your determination and attitude!

    And I am not so sure you will be taking any more Oxy. Pain is just a reminder that things are going in the right direction. Besides, it got me a lot of sympathy from the family (although I did not complain, just winced on occasion :-)

  16. llanfar says:

    @philjourdan no pumping iron. I want fast muscle over strong as I’m an avid disc golfer (on and off since ‘78). ‘Tis how I messed up my shoulder 30 months ago – first time driving left handed and I didn’t warm up/stretch that arm (a no-no for a 58yo). At least the rotator cuff is in good shape – only the dislocated bicep tendon he cut/reattached below the shoulder.

    Given the atrophy that happened to my right hand from the compressed ulnar nerve, I may not be able to drive right handed any longer – the weak last 2 fingers and muscle loss in the thumb webbing don’t bode well 😪

  17. philjourdan says:

    @IIanfar – a Damn Gopher! I pay the neighborhood kids to kill those varmints! Why do you want to be a gopher?

    Oops! SOrry, I see, GOLPHER! Never mind! :-)

    Work it. My left was that bad as well. (a husk) , But I worked it after the fact. Now it is better than my right! Of course I still have nerve damage in my right (not enough to operate). But it came back fully!

    Good luck. I think you will find that modern medicine is a lot better than what our dad’s had!

  18. p.g.sharrow says:

    You, children whining about your operations, aches and pains sound like a bunch of old women!
    LOL …. For Fun I go out into the woods gather 16-24 inch rounds of oak and split them into stove wood with an 8 pound splitting maul. At 74 I can only do that for 3 hours a day instead of 8 hours a day back when I was 60. Getting old is hell when you can’t stand to lay in bed for more then 4 hours, Take naps a lot. Pain fades while active but comes back in spades after inactivity.
    Enjoying a shot of my 140pf brandy in EggNog, Maybe twice to sleep better,
    Happy Holidays to all of my friends here, you are all a blessing to me…pg

  19. tom0mason says:

    President lays it all out about election fraud, Biden’s Chinese connections and the COVID vaccine/inoculations —

  20. Gail Combs says:

    For your info,
    There are caravans forming to make the treck

    INFO here:

    OUR GENERAL HAS CALLED US TO DC JANUARY 6TH – LET’S ALL GO!!!!!!!

  21. p.g.sharrow says:

    A u-tube news/opinion that should de listened to{

    A good over view of the threads being woven while we approach January 20…pg

  22. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    Hey, PG! That one’s a keeper for sure!

    Lays it out pretty cleanly and clearly.

    WELL worth the watch time.

  23. philjourdan says:

    The election is over. What we can hope for is that the new judges will nail the criminals. And I am not hopeful of that

  24. p.g.sharrow says:

    Judges are worthless in these kind of things.
    My experience in crooked politics was that Judges could be counted on to protect the crooks. All modern Judges are part of the political machine. They generally refuse to allow any political connected action to proceed. Only if higher ups demand action will they take action even if their actions are illogical,

  25. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    IMHO that is because the “higher judge positions” are political appointments, so if they want any higher position, they know they must never ever do anything to make a politician worry about them…

  26. M Simon says:

    Monday 28 Dec 0229 CST Giuliani has promised things will get moving quickly this week. The time tables are rather tight for a mostly uncoordinated response. Monday would be best from a saturation point of view. Wednesday at the latest. They will want to influence the Georgia races.

    They must be very sure of their material. Joe is. The DOD asked on about the 18th for a one day stand down in the briefings. Joe had it extended to 2 1/2 weeks.

    Now assume everyone in DC knows that much. That means an awful lot of them are getting paid.

  27. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    Tim Pool intends to run Timcast IRL (In Real Life) broadcast from D.C. Jan 6th.

    https://odysee.com/@TimcastNews:0/trump-says-be-in-dc-on-the-6th-this-is:9

    POTUS once again asked for folks to be there the 6th. I’m pretty sure “something” is going to happen, I just don’t know what it will be.

    Also, looks like Trump signed the Ominous Funding Bill… bloat, garbage, restrictions on insurrection act, and all

  28. M Simon says:

    p.g.sharrow

    Excellent video. The Jefferson Option. I love it. And a Democrat Party founder too.

  29. p.g.sharrow says:

    @M Simon, turn about is fair play even if it takes over 200 years. 8-)

  30. M Simon says:

    I have heard Q type rumors that the evidence (of what exactly?) is so compelling that a civil war will be avoided. That Democrat electors will vote for Trump. Seems hard to believe. The keyword to look for was rose. Rosen now leads the DOJ.

  31. Jon K says:

    Well, it’s official. My family and I will be going to DC on the 6th. We’re not type of people who relish in vocal protesting, but we feel this is too important to sit out and cheer from the sidelines.

  32. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    @M. Simon:

    I won’t be shocked at anything that comes out (as we likely already know it). I’ll be shocked if Congress seats Usurper Beijing Biden as POTUS.

  33. Ossqss says:

    Is there a way to participate in this digitally and help? I mean, the bad guys, libtards, and pro-regressives do in every election and protest, with visible results. How can we make a statement, be part of this, and not be physically present? Just because I can’t be there, doesn’t mean I don’t want to be. Albeit, being physically absent may save me a court date :-)

  34. President Elect H.R. says:

    @ossqss – The Mrs. and I want to go. Can you keep a Cairn terrier and a Scottish terrier from being eaten by alligators?
    😜 JK

    Anyhow, if we don’t get to D.C. physically, and there’s a glimmer of hope we will, your question is a good one.

    Calling and e-mailing our elected skunks – wait, skunks smell a lot better than the corrupt stench of the swamp critters – is one thing that shows someone is paying attention. A few million calls and emails lets ’em know there are a lot of us paying attention. They will ignore a few hundred or a few thousand.

    Might just go with the classic, “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore.”

  35. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    I heard a suggestion (some radio talk thing?) that folks who can’t make it to D.C. ought to go to their State Capital and protest their Congress Critter there… I suppose their district office might work too…

  36. Ossqss says:

    I could accommodate HR. They might end up eating gator in short order however :-)

    Are there no national Petitions to sign anywhere to show support?

  37. President Elect H.R. says:

    @E.M. – That’ll help; Statehouse or swamp critter’s local office.
    .
    .
    .
    Hey, Ossqss! – If D.C. craps out for us, let’s go make noise in front of your Congress-critter’s office on the 6th.

    I’m sure no-one will be home on the 6th, but word will get out how many showed up. I’ll wear my official Florida Redneck hat you gave me. They’ll never know I’m a ringer.

  38. ossqss says:

    “I’ll wear my official Florida Redneck hat you gave me. They’ll never know I’m a ringer.”

    @HR, now that right there made me laugh out loud! :-)

  39. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    I’m planning to hit the road some time tomorrow, so given that StarBucks and other WiFi hot spots may be slim due to closures along the way (or not ‘parking lot friendly’ signal strength), my presence on the blog may be “sporadic”…

  40. Ossqss says:

    @EM, where is your hotspot? I pay $40 a month for internet access via my phone and have unlimited 4G hotspot data as part of it. Actually, my total bill for 4 phones with everything unlimited is $178 on Verizon wireless , so I exaggerated a bit (since I just paid it) and could probably supplant my Spectrum home net by virtue of such, hummmm :-)

    Sure there is a throttle at +/-25 gig per line, but I have not done the comparative math in detail yet.

  41. President Elect H.R. says:

    Hittin’ the road in about 2 hours. I do all my catching up here at each RV park.

    I won’t be posting much of anything until probably January 2nd or the 3rd.

  42. p.g.sharrow says:

    Safe Trip Guys, I hope you have interesting adventures to report on…pg

  43. V.P. Elect Smith says:

    @OssQss:

    My hotspot is in a drawer in the office. I let the contract lapse about 2 years ago due to lack of use and being home almost 100%. Yes, I could stop by T-Mobile and re-up it, but then I’d not get out on this last minute run on time. It also would likely need to be replaced (just as when I went to restart my 3G one they said I ought to get the new 4G one and had good reasons – same cost more go juice…)

    Then, on prior trips I’ve had plenty of free wi-fi along the way. So why bother? We’ll see if that’s the case this time or not. I may end up with a new hot-spot in Florida… BTW, my main phone is a flip-phone from circa 20 years ago… no hot spot from it.

    Then the final thing is that I usually cross the continent in about 4 days. Somehow I have trouble with the idea that being ‘out of touch’ for 2 to 4 days (depending on StarBucks locations ;-) is worth $100 (new device, start up service, etc…)

    So after 2 rounds of “start the hot-spot… then a few days later; oh, don’t use it anymore really…” I’m just not going to bother this time.

  44. Compu Gator says:

    Alas & alack!
    • I don’t have the means to make even a bounce-trip to D.C. [⚖]
    • My only vehicle is not reliable enough to allow me to pretend that if I could exercise sufficient frugality, I’d have the means to make the trip.
    • My continuing medical conditions, most relevantly their manifestation as a dramatically reduced running ability, could put me in serious physical danger, were the demonstration/rally to somehow be turned violent.

    Having thus bowed out, I’m anxious about the apparently weak effort put into its Web site, especially for the sake of people who’ve decided to go:
    • Why are the thumbnail photos of “Invited Speakers & Featured Guests” not linked to individual bios somewhere, so visitors to the Web site can figure out why we should care at all that any of them have been invited?  “State Rep.” or “State Sen.”,  huh?  Wellllll, representing what state, exactly?
    • isn’t it waaay past time to identify those who’ve replied & accepted their invitations?  It would greatly help the site’s credibility. The demonstration/rally is now only 3 days in the future.
    • Why can’t the organizers have identified the nearest Metrorail stations and other modes of access via public transit?  Even just named in text in a subsection of the page? I’m developing a smouldering resentment toward the laziness exemplified by a Web site that left it up to former inside the Beltway locals from decades ago to figure it out. Hey-ell, parking meters have been installed along the Mall, uprooting the on-street free parking (unlimited hours, i.I.r.c.) that was familiar from decades ago until recent years.

    ——–
    Note ⚖ : “WILDPROTEST.COM #DoNotCertify #JAN6!”:  https://wildprotest.com/#about.

  45. M Simon says:

    A grand conspiracy of pedophilia and murder for extortion and control. Sound like Q? It is not. It is L. Linn Wood, who claims to have evidence. Could it be the 6 Jan bombshell?

    Re Q

  46. M Simon says:

    There was no 6 Jan bombshell

  47. billinoz says:

    Was Ashlee Babitt a covert Antifa supporter ? No she was a Trumpist and proud of it. And she was one of the mob that invaded the USA capitol building. And now she is dead – show by Capital police trying to prevent her entering a still secured part of the building. Here is a lengthy report published about this woman.
    https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/us-politics/the-troubled-past-of-protrump-fan-ashli-babbitt-who-was-killed-at-capitol-riots/news-story/20c00566fc4e0cbe8f380772e7963829

  48. billinoz says:

    And one of the Capitol Police’s own died in the attack on the building : Brian Sicknick, 42 : According to statement from the US Capitol police, the New Jersey native joined the force in 2008. Sicknick was reportedly struck in the head with a fire extinguisher while “physically engaging” with the rioters. He collapsed soon after returning to his division before being rushed to a nearby hospital. Sicknick died on Thursday night after being removed from life support.

    A reported 60 Capitol police officers were injured. Many were also hit in the head with metal pipes. More than a dozen remain hospitalized. Sicknick’s death is being investigated as a homicide by federal and local authorities.

    Could these incidents have been Antifa at work ? Well so far I’ve not seen a single published bit of evidence of their presence. Looking on from afar in peaceful Australia, it seems far more likely that Trump invited this attack.

  49. E.M.Smith says:

    BillInOz:

    I was there at the Trump speech. He did NOT call for any attack. He did ask folks to WALK down Pennsylvania Ave. The trouble was already instigated by a DIFFERENT GROUP. Some of them clearly a bit daft seeking trouble. I MET what I think were Antifa aligned instigators at the event, one just down from the steps and gas.

    Unknown: What % were each of “useful idiots”, vs “right extreme instigators”, vs “left extreme false flag instigators”. I’m pretty sure it was a mix of all 3, and I’d estimate about 200, at most. Compare 6 figure numbers of Family Friendly Trump Supporters walking toward the Capitol BUT NOT THERE YET.

    The invasion of the capitol building was NOT AT ALL what Trump wanted. To say otherwise is stupidity.

  50. philjourdan says:

    To say otherwise is stupidity.

    That does seem to be the order of the day for fake news and its followers.

  51. H.R. says:

    E.M. addresses BillInOz: “The invasion of the capitol building was NOT AT ALL what Trump wanted. To say otherwise is stupidity.”

    @E.M. – I have not reached a conclusion, but I am wrestling with the evidence that Bill is either hopelessly naïve or he is not, which has some implications. Bill is definitely not stupid, and I’m not completely sure that last sentence was directed at Bill; unclear. It was a general statement. He is quite bright to my eye.

  52. philjourdan says:

    @HR – the absence of knowledge is ignorance. The rejection of knowledge is stupidity.

    A very simple test. Bill has been educated. Yet he has rejected that knowledge.

  53. H.R. says:

    @philjourdan – Au contraire, mon frer. There is cupidity in lieu of stupidity.

    So ignoring knowledge may be purposeful.

    BUT, I am willing to give a regular commenter here, who otherwise provides detailed knowledge of subjects outside of the U.S. political arena, plenty of opportunity to finally realize that, GASP!! the YSM has been lying to us for 70 to 80 years.

    It is possible that we are merely seeing a case of terminal naivete. Some people are unwilling to abandon beliefs they have held for a lifetime, such as “The media and our government would never lie to us.”

    Wake up! Yes they would, willingly, cheerfully, and with not an ounce of guilt for leading, persuading, and selling false narratives to subscribers, viewers, and listeners that (hahahahahahahahaha!!!) believed they were being told the truth.

  54. philjourdan says:

    @HR – we are mot in disagreement. But we need to settle the issue of the rejection of knowledge. Has he rejected it? Simple question. Many have told him the facts. Yet he still doubles down on the lie that the evidence was presented.

    So what is it? He has been informed. He has rejected the facts.

    The Prosecution rests.

  55. Terry Jackson says:

    HELP: What is the timeline here on the end of the speech compared to entry to the Capitol? Was it likely someone who stayed for the entire speech could make it to the Capitol at a brisk walk, say 4mph or about 30 minutes, in time to be there for the Capitol event? Also, I am seeing where the guards on one side just moved the barricades and let everyone in, and arguably led them, but guards at another entrance forcibly resisted allowing entry. Is there any better expository on what happened? At this point it has the look and feel of infiltrators inciting a few fringe players.

  56. H.R. says:

    @Terry Jackson – E.M., who was there, indicates that there’s no way the group addressed by the President on the Ellipse had time to get to the Capitol Building to start and carry out the mayhem that ensued there.

    It was not the usual Trump supporters wot dunnit at the Capitol.

    p.g. has tossed in some interesting info that it was a group favorable to Trump, but the motive was totally out of kilter with just keeping Trump in office. They were raiding Pelosi’s office.

    It is still unclear to me, but it seems that a couple of interests got what they wanted out of the “riot” at the Capitol; riot footage for the ‘Trump incited rioting” narrative, and Pelosi’s laptop.

    But as to your question about the timeline of rally goers getting to the Capitol, I’m pretty sure that the Capitol Op started well before anyone from the rally on the Ellipse had time to get there.

  57. Terry Jackson says:

    @HR
    Thanks for the reply. It is sort of what I have seen. Along with “there was a distinct odor of marijuana which I never noticed at any other Trump rally” and “I saw younger people with some tool hanging off their belts” and “the Capitol Police moved the barriers aside and invited people in”. Net of all, it does not look like Trump supporters were responsible. More may be revealed.

Comments are closed.