Drinking Around The World – Starting Now

On W.O.O.D. a notice was put up about drinks in Australia:

https://chiefio.wordpress.com/2019/11/25/w-o-o-d-25-november-2019/#comment-120737

jim2 says:
6 December 2019 at 2:10 am (Edit)
Holiday drinks around the world …

For other skeptics in other cities (even in other countries) — why not organise something? I’ll mention it here… let’s get skeptics together.

http://joannenova.com.au/2019/11/anyone-for-christmas-drinks-friday-6th-december/

Checking my UTC time:

ems@OdroidN2:~$ date
Fri Dec 6 02:38:34 UTC 2019

I see that it’s Already Friday 6 December… So time for getting things started, I’d say.

Here’s what’s at Jo’s place:

Anyone for Christmas Drinks? Perth, Melbourne, Rocky, Friday 6th December — plus Adelaide, sunshine coast… others
Drinks, photo, beer, wine, Photo: Jonathan Rautenbach

NEW posts will appear below this one!

UPDATE #2: There are Christmas drinks events in Perth, Rockhampton and Melbourne on this Friday. Adelaide on Saturday. Sydney Dec 12th. Plus Buddina (Sunshine coast) Dec 13. Sydney Dec 12th. There may be others too, apologies if I’m not keeping up with comments below. EMAIL: joanne AT joannenova.com.au. and I’ll forward on your email to the key people.

UPDATE: Other events being discussed in many locations. Do a “find” search in comments….

Australia: Melbourne, Adelaide, Sunshine Coast, Hunter Valley NSW, Rockhampton Qld, and Marysville, Geelong, Ballarat, Glenrowan, Vic. Gold Coast. There is already a fabulous group in Sydney running that started ten years ago on this blog by the great Jim Simpson. Ask and ye shall be connected.

New Zealand: Nelson and Wellington.

USA: How about central Washington State USA, and CT USA?

Perth, Australia: Party time, Christmas drinks and dinner is on from 6pm Friday 6th December.

We are lucky enough to have spectacular views, a central location, free parking, and just $20/head for steak and salad. Beer and wine for sale. Families welcome. No speeches. If you’d like to come, I’d love to see you there Friday week from 6pm — email me to find out where this quiet, brilliant, private venue is.

EMAIL: joanne AT joannenova.com.au.

For other skeptics in other cities (even in other countries) — why not organise something? I’ll mention it here… let’s get skeptics together.

Unfortunately, I’m driver for the spouse for the next month. She has “foot in boot” device and can’t drive with it until done, in a month. So I’m stuck at home. But I can still participate “virtually” ;-)

If anyone wants to coordinate a place, feel free to put up ideas here, or at Jo’s.

Since it’s already Friday “somewhere”, I think I’ll get things started now… I just need to find that bottle… I think I have enough for 24 hours… IF I can manage it…

;-)

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Favorites, Food, Human Interest, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Drinking Around The World – Starting Now

  1. E.M.Smith says:

    Had to look that one up! Firewater eh? Mikey Likey ;-)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aguardiente

  2. philjourdan says:

    Very good friend of mine is Venezuelan who married a Colombian. So I learned about it from him.

  3. Another Ian says:

    More here (yes, I know but shouldn’t need tampering)

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cacha%C3%A7a

    The First Fleet to Australia called at Rio to re-provision. Apparently Captain Phillip’s log has unflattering mention of aguadente

  4. jonova1 says:

    Will drink a toast to distant skeptics tonight! Group meeting in KL Malaysia too.
    Must do this more often,
    Cheers to Cheifio!

  5. E.M.Smith says:

    And a big cheer right back at ya!

    Sadly, it looks like I’m going to poop out at about 3 A.M. Not the same party animal I once was, I guess… then again, it is a respectable effort!

    Besides, it is still Friday here for another 21 hours! Plenty of time for a snooze and picking it up again later ;-)

  6. jim2 says:

    Has anyone else noticed that climate skeptics are smarter and better looking than warmistas?

  7. Tim. says:

    Well Naomi Seibt is a definite improvement over Theta Grunberg. Did the latter use the proffered donkey, and if so was it taken home afterwards in a large Diesel horse-box?

  8. E.M.Smith says:

    @Jim2: Yes!

    Especially as I’m exploiting vodka ATM :-)

    HEY it is still 6 December here!

  9. Another Ian says:

    On the “it’s 6 pm somewhere” principle it is now 1:38 pm in Hawaii so there is a bit of party time left

    A friend some years ago observed that “I can still party like we used to but I can’t recover like we used to”

Comments are closed.