A Minor Screwage Of The Tech Oligarchs

I just watched Swedish House Mafia Greyhound without a penny going to Alphabet / Google:

How?

Via an intersection of “youtube-dl” and “kodi”.

Mind you I’m not really thrilled with Kodi. So far it is NOT a Roku replacement. Some of that may be my early state of skill with it.

But what it does really really well is play videos you have on a local hard disk really well.

Enter “youtube-dl”, a Linux command installed on Debian / Devuan based distributions by “apt-get install youtube.dl”:

So I took the link to the video, some weeks ago, and did a:

youtube.dl https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3XlIQ5pmdQ

So it was on my disk. Later I installed kodi (all of “apt-get install kodi”). Time passes and I learn to point Kodi at my ~me/thatdisk/videos set of saved for “someday” shit…

And up comes the video… and I enjoy it.. and part way into it I realize “And Alphabet/Youtube/Google is not getting a God Damned Cent out of this view”.. and that was the epiphany moment.

Now realize, I’m NOT happy that Swedish House Mafia didn’t get a royalty off my view, whatever fraction of a cent it might be. I’ll try to find some other way to compensate them.

But frankly, just the fact that I starved Alphabet/Google/Youtube of a bit of money, well, since they want me dead or at a minimum removed for public discourse, “I’m good with that”.

If Anyone Else…

Should anyone need instruction on how to do this at home. Let me know. I’m happy to share ;-))

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Human Interest, Movies & Media, Tech Bits. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Minor Screwage Of The Tech Oligarchs

  1. tom0mason says:

    youtube-dl I’ll have to try it.

  2. michaelh says:

    This is going to be more important as content continues to be demonetized and deplatformed. It’s less about sticking it to Youtube and more about bypassing the scourge of censorship, and making sure the good guys are compensated, in full, and without having to pay service fees to the machine.

  3. philjourdan says:

    Force 10 From Navarone – do not expect a thunderous boom to bring them down. But just small cracks that keep spreading.

    You have done well Jedi.

  4. E.M.Smith says:

    Interesting… I can get to a video at the “Banned.video” website of Infowars.com via the embed in their web page here:
    https://www.infowars.com/posts/democrats-confess-to-staging-jan-6th-capitol-attack/
    BUT when I try to go directly to banned.video I get a Cloudflare interruption:

    Error 1020 Ray ID: 625ede029yadayada • 2021-02-23 06:20:21 UTC
    Access denied
    What happened?
    This website is using a security service to protect itself from online attacks.

    Cloudflare Ray ID: 625ede029yadayada • Your IP: xx.xx.yy.yy • Performance & security by Cloudflare

    So why is Cloudflare between me and them? I don’t point my DNS server at them, so they ought not be intercepting the IP address.

    Just strange. It looks like Banned.Video might be hosted at Cloudflare? That would be a bit odd… and broken…

    Anyway hit the link and watch the video directly…

Comments are closed.