Belated Friends Of Australia Friday 24 December 2021

It’s once again an Australia Time Friday! It’s FRIDAY!!!!

This is going up on California Friday because last night was just too busy and I got tired, then forgot after the wine ran out ;-)

The Tucker

We had Australian shoulder Chops, fried in Cast Iron about 6 or 7 minutes to the side. A bit of salt, pepper, and garlic granules as desired.

Side Vegetables were canned Corn and steamed Swiss Chard Leaves for the spouse, just the Chard for me. (I’ll have the stems later. Spouse doesn’t like the stems for reasons that escape me.)

I also had buttered Italian bread that I use to sop up the “juices” on the plate. Can you say “Yum!”…

The Wine

Had a “19 Crimes” The Uprising Red Wine “Aged 30 days in rum barrels”. Claims 15% alcohol and I believe it. In no time at all I was asleep and not posting about it…

A very nice smooth and flavorful wine. I really like it.

The News

It is Christmas Eve. That’s all the news that I care about right now. Enjoy tonight and tomorrow morning. Live a little. Ignore the world for a couple of days.

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in cooking, Food, News Related. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Belated Friends Of Australia Friday 24 December 2021

  1. E.M.Smith says:

    Bonus Review: Blue Arvo Sauvignon Blanc. Pyreneese, Victoria:

    When I first saw the bottle, I thought it was from the France / Spain border, but nope. Australian.

    This is a vintage 2019. Nice clear flavor. Light golden color in the glass. Light floral nose. Easy drinking solo, or add a bit of white cheese & mild crackers for added effect. It’s a very nice drop.

    I’ll be getting more of this one.

  2. John Hultquist says:

    Prior to the coming cold I took a walk in the snow today. I fed quail and both deer and turkeys came by to sample the seeds. I brought some firewood closer to the house.
    On S/M/T the central WA temperatures will be 100-to-110 degrees lower than those of last June.
    Watch the news out of Seattle. It is going to be too cold for the street folks, so authorities are scrambling to get sheltering programs in place ASAP.

    Happy Holidays to all.
    John

  3. andysaurus says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours and to all your wonderful contributors. Thanks for your continued support of our lonely island continent. For some reason I have stopped receiving notifications, I better chase up my many layers of mail management to see if they think you are spam.

  4. E.M.Smith says:

    @Andysaurus:

    The best vacation I ever had was in Australia. As a Student Ambassador, the Son spent a few weeks there too, and also loved it. (Including a visit to the Great Barrier Reef and swimming ;-)

    It’s a special place.

Comments are closed.