Eat Your Meat! Heart Disease In Paleo Farmers And Egyptian Mummies

An interesting video that looks at ancient diets and finds meat eaters are healthy and ancient agrarian diets high in carbs and plants, had “modern” diseases of heart disease, diabetes, arthritis, etc. 55 minutes:

Subscribe to feed

About E.M.Smith

A technical managerial sort interested in things from Stonehenge to computer science. My present "hot buttons' are the mythology of Climate Change and ancient metrology; but things change...
This entry was posted in Food, Science Bits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Eat Your Meat! Heart Disease In Paleo Farmers And Egyptian Mummies

  1. philjourdan says:

    Does that include Marrots?

  2. E.M.Smith says:

    @PhilJourdan:

    Is that the “meat carrot”:
    https://triblive.com/news/world/arbys-unveils-carrot-made-of-meat-the-marrot/

    or the Auks:
    https://www.wordnik.com/words/marrot

    Definitions
    from The Century Dictionary.
    noun One of several different sea-birds of the auk family, Alcidæ.
    from the GNU version of the Collaborative International Dictionary of English.
    noun Prov. Eng., Prov. Eng. The razor-billed auk. See auk.
    noun Prov. Eng., Prov. Eng. The common guillemot.
    noun Prov. Eng. The puffin.

    Does one prepare the Puffin as a meat pie in Puff Pastry?
    Is the Guillemot suited for the gullet?
    How ought one the Auk eat? Au juice or Au l’Orange?

    Inquiring minds really regret asking…

    ;-)

  3. Jeff says:

    Nothin’ says lovin’ like a Puffin in the oven…

    Or is Marmite dependent upon (or a cause of) Marmots???

  4. andysaurus says:

    All I can say is that it works for me. Well,not ALL I can say as I tend to ramble on endlessly about how good meat is. I was ill on the standard (American) diet, and I’m fitter, sharper, happier and less sick on a very low carb, high protein and high fat diet. Also less hungry.

  5. andysaurus says:

    Blank comment ‘cos I forgot to check notifications. I wish it was default.

  6. philjourdan says:

    You use Marrots to stuff your Tofurkey. :-)

  7. Bill in Oz says:

    Not just any old ‘fat’ Andy !
    Best to stay away from seed oil fats. (Lots of that in margarine ) And focus on butter, olive oil, lard etc.

  8. andysaurus says:

    @Bill in Oz, Too right, mate. I only cook in animal fat. I go through huge quantities of salted butter, so there! If you’re in Aus, here’s a tip, you can buy grass-fed beef dripping at Coles. Wollies don’t stock it. It is not only tasty, it gets better if you keep frying for a week in the same pan. You don’t need fresh fat because animal fats don’t go rancid like hydrogenated seed oils. IMHO.

  9. Bill in Oz says:

    Andy, not your opinion mate. Pretty well documented !

    I’m not sure about beef lard..So many cattle here are in feed lots now and the crap that is fed to them is not so good. I once had to go through a feed lot for a work inspection job and was provided with a list of the feed ingredients…

    Is there guaranteed free range lard ?

  10. Another Ian says:

    Bill and Andy

    You’re not trying to wean us back to a diet of “bread and scrape” are you?

    Bread and Scrape

  11. andysaurus says:

    @Bill in Oz, It’s made by Wik and guarantees NO other ingredients but beef fat. It doesn’t say grass fed unfortunately, I must have imagined that. It’s still better than so-called vegetable oils. Thanks for your words of encouragement.

    @Another Ian, I used to love what we called bread and dripping, but obeying the doctors has made me fat and diabetic, hence my eschewing all carbs, even bread, even though I love it, especially my own home made.

    I told my endocrinologist when he asked me why I was doing so well that I was guided by Dr. YouTube. He said whatever it has been, it works.

  12. Patrick healy says:

    Have been a disciple of both Dr Eades since my 60 th birthday 17 years ago. High protein low carbs and acquaintances old and new “cannot believe you are 77″ Not bad for an old farrt”
    Btw – what is the difference between a bird watcher and an orintholigist?
    The latter can tell the difference between a cormorant and a shag.

  13. Larry Ledwick says:

  14. Steven Fraser says:

    And…. whole milk.

  15. Annie says:

    Whole milk, preferably unhomogeinised.
    Good comments above and thanks for the hint re. Coles for dripping. Must look there next time we’re passing through Healesville, or visiting Seymour. I keep dripping from various roasts and always use butter to fry eggs or onions or mushrooms…yum!
    I too try to control blood sugar by low carb, high fat and protein, after dr- induced diabetes.

  16. Ed Forbes says:

    Let’s not forget heavy wipping cream for coffee over “creamers”. No going back after using it over regular milk or the fake stuff. Half and half is “ok”, but still not as good.

  17. llanfar says:

    Don’t know if I’ve mentioned it here before, but I use 50% heavy whipping cream, 50% half&half in my Greek yogurt recipe… goes great with blueberries. https://blog.undoctored.com/l-reuteri-yogurt/

  18. Steven Fraser says:

    @Annie: some places, you can buy it direct from the farmer, unpasterized, and unhomogenized.

  19. Power Grab says:

    @ Annie re:

    “…dr- induced diabetes.”

    Do tell!

  20. Annie says:

    @ Power Grab.
    Basically, while still in the UK I was on Atenelol. In 2006 there was something about betablockers having an effect on blood sugar; asked my then dr. who said ‘No, mine didn’t have any effect’. Much later, ten years later, in Australia, I discovered that atenelol was the very one implicated.
    My trust in the medical profession has plummeted in recent years; a pity, as I have had reason to be very grateful for certain surgeries that certainly improved my life considerably. I won’t be detailing those!

  21. Annie says:

    @Steven Fraser. We lack dairy herds in our part of Victoria; beef herds are the go around here! Thanks anyway. :)

  22. yonason says:

    And don’t forget the eggs.

    Cholesterol is an antioxidant, and essential for proper brain function, especially as we age.

  23. Bill Thomson says:

    Interesting that you never mentioned eggs, something I always thought would have been part of the paleo diet. I suspect our Australian natives would have gorged themselves on pied geese eggs in season, at least those living near water. Why, with all that grain didn’t Egyptians cultivate poultry and/or raid waterfowl nests in the delta?

  24. Quail says:

    @Bill T The Egyptians raised coturnix quail. They even had specialized ovens for hatching the eggs. Some of these ovens are still in use.

    https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/egypt-egg-ovens

  25. Pingback: Eat Your Meat! Heart Disease In Paleo Farmers And Egyptian Mummies — Musings from the Chiefio – Empowering Women through Nutrition and Wellness LLC

Comments are closed.